We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Alvor Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Not sure why some people complain about the non existance entertainment ect. This hotel is fab! Perfect for any chill out holiday, we had such a fab time, it is such a quiet hotel. Beautiful self catering! We had an apartment and it was so spacious, beds comfy, everything clean. The staff will always go out their way to help you, the barman was lovely! The poop was amazing. Very well layed out! Tried re-booking for june this year but it's sold out! Pestana are a fab chain of hotels! Keep it up:)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    77
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
134
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Alvor Park is a great hotel if all you need is accommodation. That's what we wanted and it was great. The studio apartments are comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The kitchen facilities are good but a bit lacking in workspace if your intention is to cook full meals. You get the usual two cooking rings, a microwave and a full size fridge.

The maid service is daily and towels are changed every day. Robes are supplied.

We did not use the restaurant as it offers only a limited service. You can have breakfast but apart from that they only do snacks. There is no entertainment but there is a bar, which is always very quiet. It is significantly more expensive than those in the town but they have a happy hour from 18.00 to 21.00 when drink prices are reasonable. Normally there is no one in the bar so it does not make sense to have a drink there by yourselves when you can do the same in your apartment or your balcony.

The garden and pool areas are very nice and there are always plenty of loungers available. There is also a "rock garden" area away from the pool where you can sunbathe. The hotel provides beach towels, which can be taken to the beach.

Alvor is a great little town. It is about ten minutes easy walk downhill from the hotel. The beach is roughly the same distance.

In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay at the Alvor Park, a really good hotel that we would have no hesitation in revisiting.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top two floors if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a short break during the mid week in April 14. I am an ex hotelier and have opened 2 4* hotels in the UK and 1 in Greece. Unfortunately this ex trade gave me a keen eye for detail especially when I stay in a hotel which my partner hates as things that wouldn't bother most people I focus on. so here goes.

Bad points:
The breakfast overall was fantastic and you were spoilt for choice but little things like using tinned mushrooms and a pre mix egg composite weren't what I would expect of a 4* Hotel. The outdoor pool and gardens were fantastic but the indoor pool area could do with a little TLC in the toilets the fixtures and fittings were rusty and needed replacing. But it was however clean and well kept. Some of the walls in the corridors could do with a face lift as it had a lot of scuff marks along them from the maids trolleys but this is not a reflection of the whole hotel as it was well presented and maintained. I felt the games/fitness rooms was underutilised and sparse and could do with some more things for kids in the games room and maybe a lil more variety in the fitness room.

Good points:
Overall the staff were friendly, the Hotel, pool, and surrounding gardens was well presented and is in a great location, within a 10 min walk of the beaches, 15 mins to the main town of Alvor. The area had some great restaurants and although I said about the breakfast mushrooms etc the hotel restaurant was very good. get your hands on an Alvor guide this lists all the restaurants bars and shopping in the area. the hotel room was brilliant, we had only booked a standard studio but were given a large apartment style with 2 bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, living room, huge balcony, and a bed that could have easily fitted 4 my partner and I were very impressed. The room was very clean and well maintained and the maids did an awesome job cleaning up each day.

All in all we highly recommend a visit to Alvor and to this hotel. During the summer season it may be a little expensive but in Easter breaks etc you could have a fantastic deal as we did, either way you should have a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: don't worry about a pool view the rooms facing the gardens are just as good and have a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are apartment owners at Alvor Park and always look forward to our holidays there, now that the pool is fixed, it is so peaceful and situated in an ideal spot to walk into Alvor. The apartments are huge and well fitted out and the staff are all friendly and helpful. We have always said it would be nice to have some sort of evening entertainment , especially now the English tv is missing, but we tend to go out at night so it is not such a big problem. We would recommend this hotel to anybody as long as they like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in this hotel but the ones on a higher floor have a better distant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Park is the newest in the Pestana group in Alvor. Located closer to town than the beach hotels, it provides an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The higher floors afford a view of the ocean. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent room - comfortable with loads of storage space. Great on balcony - well sheltered from breeze (& there was a fair breeze on several days). good facilities (gym/pool/sauna/steam room/jacuzzi). Great location - 10 minute walk to beach, golf driving range & town centre. Brilliant restaurants in Alvor - good quality & excellent value for money (2 fillet steaks & bottle of wine for about £35). We made our own breakfast - fresh cooked breakfast was available if required. Friendly helpful staff - made you feel really welcome. We will certainly be returning here. Good range of golf courses in close proximity. Just the place for a relaxing winter break.

Room Tip: Get a room close to reception that way you get wi-fi in room as well as in lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We got an upgrade to a seaside room for the same price, which was a lovely surprise. Good beds, nice room with a pretty view. Scrumptious breaklfast. But too many elderly people staying there in winter, which gives it a special atmosphere. We're elderly as well, but still...
Nice bar, but unfortunately when we sat there for a drink and a bite in the evening, there was live muzak. We like a good jazz combo, but in this case there was a singer with an electronic piano, also pretty elderly. Well, we only went once.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.