We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quiet break - just a bit bland.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Alvor Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good for a quiet break - just a bit bland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just what you would expect from a four star modern aparthotel.

We had a studio apartment, which was large and airy and perfect for the two of us. There was a 'partial kitchen' ideal for having breakfast on the terrace (overlooking the pool and garden) or for preparing a light lunch - but not suitable for more serious cooking.

The hotel itself is on an elevated sight about 15 minutes walk from Alvor Village and ten minutes from Alvor's white sand beaches. If you didn't fancy a 15 minute walk up the hill to get back, taxis were plentiful and charged four euros.

The hotel has a poolside restaurant which serves a buffet breakfast for 7 euros and also light lunches but is not open in the evenings. This is not really a problem as Alvor has dozens of restaurants of generally good standard and the hotel also offer free transport to several other Pestana hotels in the area if you wish to eat at any of those. They give a discount card usually worth 10% at the other hotels in the group and also at about 20 selected local restaurants.

There were plenty of sun beds etc. and, although they claimed to be virtually full, the hotel never felt crowded, which is the one slight problem - it lacked any real atmosphere, people simply using the hotel as somewhere to sleep. The poolside bar was usually empty.

There is a small spa area with indoor pool, sauna & steam room plus a games room and gymnasium in the basement.

Staff were invariable polite and helpful although, given the lack of trade, service in the bar/restaurant was fairly slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, good location.. Room clean well laid out.. Lovely spa, very nice indoor pool. Lots of loungers, very strange policy regarding giving out towels, reception staff quite rude regarding this. Sometimes u needed a card to get them sometimes u did not.. Reception staff not very friendly or helpful on many occasions.. Our air conditioning did not work, it took six complaints to get moved and no apology or help offered in moving our things even though we had a small baby.. Not pushchair friendly or wheelchair friendly. Breakfast lovely but recommend u go down early and bring ur own coffee.. It's terrible there.. Wifi should be free. They should work on their bar prices and entertainment. They need to work on their snack bar menu and poolside bar menu. There is a bus that brings u to portimao but personally I think it should stop outside aqua shopping centre and portimao centre. There should be two stops. All in all we enjoyed our holiday.. Nice clientele in the hotel.. Alvor is a lovely place.. And this hotel is lovely but just a few issues for them to work on!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Alvor Park hotel for three nights, the room was of a good size and the facilities were fine and clean but our major issue was with the lack of competence at reception, we were told inaccurately of train timetables and airport transfer services.
We were incorrectly charged over 45 euros for services we didnt have and even after clearing it up, they tried to charge us again for the same thing, a distinct lack of organisation and often politeness left us feeling less than looked after.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We used to have a unit in the holiday club, but did not re-new our option after first 15 years as felt not really a bargain with annual fees, flights etc etc. Right decision, as after a couple of year gap, got package to hotel for B and B at good price. OK, a wee bit further from the beach than holiday apartments, but still only few minute away. Love this hotel, food and drink a bit pricey but our idea of holiday is eating out in local resturants and apart from breakfast (which is good) and the odd snack did not eat in hotel (past experience meals in evening not worth the money). Quiet, great pool and beach, staff always a delight.
Room spacious, great sea view from 5th floor, bathroom looking a bit tired and needing a bit of upgrade, but spotless. Will be back next year.
PS Town of Alvor lovely.

Room Tip: Sea view from upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

2nd time at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay. The hotel is situated in a quiet spot just a short stroll away from Alvor town centre. The staff are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Last year we had a studio apartment which was fantastic and very spacious this year a slightly smaller 1 bedroomed apartment but still very good value for the price you pay.

The hotel is immaculate throughout and although we were on the reception floor it was still very quiet.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are large and very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I recently stayed in the Pestana Alvor Park Aparments with my mom and 12 year old son it was fantastic. Beautiful hotel with a indoor and outdoor pool. We had a ground floor studio apartment and we would be very light sleepers and there was no noise throughout the week. There was plenty of sun loungers available everyday. It was in a perfect location only 5 min walk from the beach and 5 min walk from the start of Alvor. There are 2 supermarket 5 min away. The staff were extreamely helpful and nice throughout the hotel. The towels were changed everyday and the aparments were cleaned everyday without fail. The only negative i would say about the place was the breakfast was not good but we only ate there once. I would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here three times before and have loved it every time. Everything is fantastic from the staff to the accommodation.
Although the weather wasn't very good during our stay this time, this did not spoil our stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the accommodation is very clean. If you should choose to self cater then the kitchen area has everything you would require.
We ate out and the walk to the restaurants isn't very far and is very pleasant. If you have difficulty with mobility then there is a taxi rank down the hill for the return journey, 3.90 euro.
We hope to return again later this year and are already looking forward to our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face out to view the sea and we have stayed in both sides of the hotel. The side without t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.