We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos to your Saves list
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Have stayed here numerous years and like me the appartments have weathered well it's the best location in alvor shops and resturants almost on your doorstep 5 minute walk to beautiful beaches it's a family friendly place nice pool ample sun beds in all a ice place to stay in alvor

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are ok if u want to sun bathe other rooms have all got balconys with table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alvormar which is located centrally in the beautiful and picturesque village of Alvor. I stayed for the month of March and not only is the location ideal; so is the cleanliness, friendliness, and cost of the apartments.
The hotel is like a second home to some visitors who stay for several months during the winter over a period of years.The staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests, and Margarida who has been here long term is a treasure of information and assistance.
While the apartments are not luxurious, they do provide the necessities for a vacation in a fantastic village with the best beach, boardwalks and restaurants in the area.
I am delighted with my visit and hope to return to the soothing weather and friendly atmosphere of Alvor and the Alvomar.

Room Tip: The views are great from the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

can anyone tell me if these apartments are secure i.e. good locks on patio doors - as was thinking of asking for ground floor with children but want to feel secure!?please any advice appreciated! we want to ask for a room that will most suiot our needs with small kids. ta.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have travelled to the AlvorMar for the last 10 years. The biggest plus point of these great apartments is the location. The fact it is located in the middle of Alvor itself means you can walk into town every night and no need for a hire car. The location is unbeatable. The apartments are spacious and extremely clean. Everyone working here is friendly and helpful. For me this place is home and I cannot wait for my next stay here in a couple of months. I love the AlvorMar and would not consider staying anywhere else in Alvor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Alvomar is a no frills simple apartment facility .
It has a small pool with sun beds .
good sized apartments , we eat 50/50 in an out and the cooker was fine as it is a full one not just a few rings and a microwave ,
Restaurants in town are varied and reasonable .
The town is on the doorstep .
Lovely beach and some nice bars .
Get a transfer to the hotel it's simple to book it on line and cheaper than an airport taxi , we used yellowfishtransfers they were spot on for time , good driving and we had wifi in the car 

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Check-in date:30 March 2013

“Good location in village near shops & restaurants. opposite new Wetherspoons [Ben] Apartment complex is quiet with small pool/garden/games area. Well furnished. You can borrow hairdryer/iron from front desk. Recycle bins on site. TV with BBC World/Sky News/CNN/Eurosport plus many non-English channels.
Overall a nice,clean and friendly complex.
“Top Tip: Eating out is reasonable but you can use the local supermarket and save ££££££ on self catering. Wetherspoons offer cheap drink and food.

Room Tip: Some really nice restaurants & bars. Very relaxing place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Reasons to stay here are the proximity to the whole of the village,
As you are right in the heart of the village itself,
It's basic but does the job providing your not looking for luxury then this does the job just fine,
There is a small pool with sunbeds and bar to have a drink,
Alvor village is a lovely place I have been going there for 30 years and will return as the people are very welcoming,
There are loads of great restaurants I won't name them there are so many

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.