We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos to your Saves list
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

As everyone says these apartments are really nice and so central but not noisy. The reception staff were very helpful and a special thanks to the young man on reception who was so understanding when I forgot my hotel voucher and could not print it off. He took a copy on his phone! Apartments are a bit dated but have everything you need and also free WiFi. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think any room would be ok. We faced the road and had a side sea view. Not noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    66
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived at the Alvormar at 10am on the 28th May and the room was all ready for us, what service. It is like just coming home, not going on holiday. It seems that once guest stay at the Alvormar they return year after year. I met 3 couples round the pool who we met the year before and 2 years ago. It feels like one big happy family. Nothing is too much trouble for, I should really say the Reception Staff, but I think of them as friends, not staff. Even when we did not return till 5am after out night out in Praia, nothing was too much trouble for the night porter, he made sure we made it safely back to our room and the door was locked. I do think it is a shame that the night bar is now closed, but it was not ideal that the receptionist also had to man the bar and I suppose in this economic climate something has to give. The furniture in the bedrooms could do with updating, but it is still serviceable and I think this may be under review. Already booked to go back in September.

Room Tip: See previous review re rooms. "Home from Home"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Second time here with the family.. really can't fault these guys. Oldish place but clean, excellent wifi and for self catering holidays this is an excellent option. June is a great time to come too! Pool a little small and unheated.. that's a small thing really :) really lovely in terms of location.. 10 mins walk gets you anywhere in Labor from here. We will be back .....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned recently from a nineteen night stay at Alvormar.This being our third stay in 13 months,i think says it all.Very well maintained,bedding and towels changed as required.Excellent self catering facilities,4 ring induction hob,oven,toaster,microwave,kettle etc.We had a studio at pool level and it was a good size with shower in bath.Very friendly staff throughout the complex.
Thankyou all,hope to see you again next year.
P.S.The central location of this complex is to us the huge attraction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just returned today from 2 weeks at AlvorMar Appartments. Great place. Adequately equipped for self-catering. Very clean - cleaned/towel change every day (except Sun and hols). Very quiet except for odd noisy neighbour. Only gripe - neighbours smoked and smell came into our appartment; one night Manager refused to let us watch crucial Premiership relegation game, preferring to watch his own team, Benfica. We had to go out and find a bar showing our game! Would we go again - most definitely. Positives far outweigh any negatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned yesterday from staying at the Alvormar for the 3rd time- can't fault it in any way!
Central location suits me fine as i have some mobility problems and the staff couldn't be more helpful when dealing with any requests. Same staff behind the desk ensures a hearty welcome and the apartment has everything you could need to hand. Lovely pool with sun loungers in the basement with snack bar beside it for a cooling drink. Mini golf on the roof terrace or you can even book a massage or other therapies if wanted.
The great location means you've never far to travel back to your accommodation at the end of an evening; and you're really spoilt for choice with bars, cafes and restaurants.
Well worth staying here and we fully intend going back again and again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are generally slightly quieter as away from hustle and bustle. Don't ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our second visit to the lovely village of Alvor but our first time at the Alvormar which had come highly recommended by people we met in 2012.

We stayed from early March to early February in a studio apartment with a balcony and sea view. We self catered and the kitchen was very well equipped with a halogen hob, full oven and plenty of utensils, pots and pans.

Very clean, comfortable and centrally located with extremely helpful reception staff and maids.

Couldn't recommend the Alvormar highly enough. We have booked to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.