We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Save Saved
You added AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Alvor
NE England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our second visit to the lovely village of Alvor but our first time at the Alvormar which had come highly recommended by people we met in 2012.

We stayed from early March to early February in a studio apartment with a balcony and sea view. We self catered and the kitchen was very well equipped with a halogen hob, full oven and plenty of utensils, pots and pans.

Very clean, comfortable and centrally located with extremely helpful reception staff and maids.

Couldn't recommend the Alvormar highly enough. We have booked to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from 7 night holiday in Alvor, Portugal. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in the Alvormar. Just wonderful cental location beach, marina, shops and great restaurants. Very clean, great staff, very helpful as it was our first trip to Alvor. Will be back again next year. Thank you Alvormar highly recommend

Room Tip: We had a lovely balcony. Air conditioned very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have just returned from an eight day break in Alvor, staying at these apartments. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped; we have had an excellent time. Highly recommended in every way as situated in a central position.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

this was our 5th visit and as always very pleased. they are exacly what they say they are........simple, but clean, tidy, good service, helpful and central. usually go in march or april.........once went in august and was then a little too crowded around pool, but that was when we took teenage kids............now we go on our own, love it. can walk to all the fab restaurants and beach. this year also go the bus to lisbon, direct coach from the fountain in centre of alvor, took 4 hrs, well worth the trip!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is my third visit to this appartment. High standards maintained.We had a two bedroom for four excellent size and well equipped.Would highly recommend .The two bed rooms have two balconies,a large separate kitchen and large living space with table and plenty of seating.

Room Tip: Any room is good with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely staff, comfortable, clean, well maintained apartments for a great price. We have stayed in various two bedroom apartments with our teenage children and a one bedroom apartment as a couple in these well equipped 3 star apartments and would not hesitate to stay again. One tip if wifi speed is important to you ask for an apartment close to the reception area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This charming place has so much going for it that I almost don’t know where to begin. Located in the heart of Alvor, the Alvormar is a stone’s throw away from so vast a number of cafes and restaurants that it would take months to try them all. Feel like a local and enjoy Fado singing at the community hall just up the street. The beautiful beach and new boardwalk are easily accessible. My wife is a runner and used the boardwalk daily. The staff is super friendly. Margarida, Virgilio and staff at the front desk make you feel so welcome and are ready to see to all of your concerns. Josillia always runs a clean ship with maid service six days a week. Our freshly made up beds and clean towels are so nice to come back to after a day of touring the Algarve. Each apartment has its own fully stocked kitchenette. Apartment layouts range from one and two bedroom to nice size studios having their own patio and stunning views to the south and east. The Alvormar has a lovely pool area, library, massage room and free in-room internet. There is parking along the front (north) and west side of the building. By the way, the parking is free and seems that way everywhere in the Algarve. The building itself is a four level structure built on a hill and designed such that the apartments surround a very cool treed open-air green space. I’m not sure if all of the apartments are wheelchair accessible. The Alvormar has a very small elevator which may or may not handle a chair. Rooms on the check-in level are definitely chair accessible. Prices are very reasonable. Luxury is not to be expected but I would give 5 stars for overall comfort and convenience. Any minor concerns would be the twin beds (but they can be pushed together at night) and a working but weak internet signal. I would say that you can never “stay” at the Alvormar… you “live” at the Alvormar.

Room Tip: The upper levels enjoy great views facing east and south. Patio views of the water looking south on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua D Sancho I, No 9 / 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500 - 013, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.