We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maralvor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alvor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maralvor
Save
You added Maralvor to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Dos Arcos | Edificio Maralvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Firstly I would like to say that this was my first holiday with my boyfriend, and first holiday in 5 years. I found such an amazing deal (7 nights, flight, hotel and transfers for 2 people =£380), that I was worried it would be a disaster. How wrong could I be!?!?
We arrived at the hotel at 1am after a long transfer and I was a bit angry that nobody was there to greet us. Reception was closed with a note instructing us to call this telephone number. Luckily we had our mobiles because we would not have found a public phone to do this anywhere near. The guy arrived within 5 minutes and gave us our key. We went up to the room and I stood in shock for a good few minutes. It was absoloutely huuuuge!
We had a seperate kitchen with table, washing machine, cooker, toaster, fridge freezer, pots, pans, plates... everything you would need. A gorgeous bathroom with full sized bath and shower that was better than any other foreign shower I have used, the pressure was perfect and no messing about with hot and cold taps. Seperate bedroom with twins beds that came together for a big double. Extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The lounge had another dining table, sofa and 2 chairs, a cot, TV, and bookshelf with lots of books to chose from. The balcony had doors from the lounge and from the bedroom and was massive, with patio furniture and drying rail for towels and bikini's etc. The whole place was spotless and smelt great. To our delight, the cleaners came every other day to replace towels, loo roll, empty bins and give the whole place a mop and clean.
The pool was a lovely space. The water is freezing cold so you need to be brave or just dive in! Plenty of sun loungers and private to the hotel. The guy in the pool bar was very nice and friendly too.
We had read other people's reviews about how long it takes to walk into Alvor. I promise you, unless you are walking at a snail's pace, a steady stroll will last about 10 minutes and it was a nice part of the evening. And the hill is not that steep, it's just that it is downhill all the way. We always got a taxi back up though and it cost just short of 4 euro's.
The taxi driver's are amazing. The 1st night we were there our taxi driver took us on a tour of alvor, free of charge because we said we were lost.
We found that the food was overpriced by the harbour. All the restaurants serve the same menu's and nothing exciting. But there are some lovely italian restaurants and we (typically English) found an english restaurant, so if you are craving some home comforts, it's definately worth a visit. Every shop and bar has 'Free Maps' for you to pick up and they show you all the eating places and where everything is. You MUST MUST MUST stop in at Paddy's Bar in the centre. It's an Irish pub that has a guy singing 5 nights a week and it's a great atmosphere.
There is nothing negative that I can say about the Maralvor or Alvor itself. Absoloutely stunning and will be returning to both. Thank You for a wonderful holiday. Hope the photo's do it justice.

Helen and George

Room Tip: Better view with a Poolside appartment but may be noisier in the height of summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just got back from a week in alvor. If you arrive late, you have to pick up key from the Dunas Hotel. The apartment was very spacious. Very large living room, kitchen with all the facilities, eveyrthing you could possibly need. We were situated at the rear of the hotel, although view not great from our balcony, just trees, it was perfect for us as it was very quiet and peaceful. Swimming pool area very clean and tidy and plenty of sun loungers as
not many people around this time of year. If you want towels changed, you have to place them in the laundry basket. Cleaners came in 3 times during our stay. The beach was a 10/15 min walk but was worth it. We walked into town every night again 10/15 walk. Only 3 euro 25 during the day and 3 euro 90 back at night. There were loads of bars and restaurants to choose from. We spent most of our evenings in the irish bars. The black stove, good food and entertainment as was the irish inn next door. Alvor itself is a lovely town, people very friendly, people will always chat to you, no matter where you eat or drink. Very enjoyable holiday, can fullly recomend and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Alvor is the most beautiful place to visit if you don't want to see a McDonalds and go to a disco until 3am! The Maralvor was a great base but if you want luxury from your holiday don't book here. The apartments are huge, a livingroom, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, hallway. Basic but spotlessly clean, nothing a lick of paint wouldn't sort. Sheets and towels were changed 5 days from 7. We are a couple with a four year old boy and he loved the pool although I think it could get very busy in the height of summer (as it's not very large). It's a great base if you don't do much more than use your room as a base and we had a fabulous holiday. For food lovers I would recommend Alvor as the huge choice in incredible restaurants is very impressive. Maralvor is a ten minute walk from the main down, down hill all the way and a 4 euro taxi ride home!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

maralvor is a good value but basic hotel circa 1970's Spain! In much need of a refurb but as most of the apartments seemed to be privately owned, don't think that's going to happen. Rooms are huge with a good fridgeand kitchen and massive lounge area.
Main problem is it's much more than a ten minute walk away as we read in some reviews. It's probably more 15 and probably 20 mins in the day time carring 2 litres of water and it's all up hill whatever supermarket you go to! The nearest shop is in the apartments up the hill. There is a reception open about twice a week otherwise you have to go right into town to the sister hotel. There is a bar and a snackbar (poor) at the hotel but it closes at 7 and doesn,t open at all on weds. Best restaurant by far is tucked away up the left hill as you get into town: the Espeto Fino : menu is varied but they do excellent meat and fish kebabs which they hang from ceiling! Best fish restaurants are further down the hill (CaptainsTable etc) but they do get pricier as you go down to the harbour.
Overall a relaxing holiday but book different accom if you want a bit more comfort and closer to town

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We traveled as a couple with baby and mother in law and stayed in a poolside 2 bed apartment. Unfortunately poolside also means roadside and having no air con and windows open means lots of noise all the time, added to this the walls are paper thin. Beds were some of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and amounted to what can only be described as very old metal camp beds especially in room 2. We were lead to believe the rooms came with kettle, microwave, iron etc. none of these items were provided which made things quite difficult with a young baby. We attempted to complain on various occasions but couldn't as the reception wasn't open except at the very end of our stay.
There are some positives, the rooms are huge and clean but very, very dated. The bar and especially barman (Pedro i think) is spot on, he is very helpful and nothing is too much trouble, good for TV sport too however Wednesday must be his day off as the bar was shut all day as well as reception. The pool area is very nice and clean.
Location is a ten minute walk to beach, shops and bars but is quite hilly. On our own this wouldn't be a problem at all but with a pram it can be a bit of a pain. Town centre area is nice enough if a little basic, with plenty of places to eat and drink. Shops cater for most things you will need.
Overall, if you are a young couple or group of friends looking for a good sized base for your holidays its not too bad, if we had to stay there again we definitely would ask for one of the rear facing rooms but really it is not a place to take very young children.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Aetclthough the apartments are starting to date a bit they are fitted out with all facilities ie. cooker,fridge,washing machine,microwave. They are the most spacious I have ever stayed in with the lounge absolutely huge. Bit disappointed with the towel changes but never had a problem with getting a sun bed. Hotel bar now shuts about 7.00pm which is a bit disappointing but the compensation of 2 euros a pint of beer makes up for this, they only do toastie type food nowadays.
They are situated about 15 minutes walk from the beach and the town centre where there is plenty of entertainment and eating out opportunitys in the old town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carndonagh ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

stayed here with my wife and 4 kids and my sister and her family and my mother and father, found the appartments were spacious and had all you needed ours having a washing machine and a full cooker. we were on the ground floor looking over the pool which is small but as there was not many people about was adequate for us. pool bar/ snack bar was closed for our entire stay which was not good as there is nowhere near at hand to eat and the center is a 15 min walk all down hill on the main road, easy on the way there but not so good on the way back. reception in the hotel is open most days for a few hours and staff there were helpful. if you arrive late you have to check in atthe dunas de alvor the sister hotel and this as a 10/15 min walk so make sure you find out if reception will be open before going.
resort itself is nice with loads of places to eat, the closer you go to the main strip/harbour the dearer it gets at the dunas there is a few bars doing pints of local for €1.
a great place to eat is the resturaunt bouganville just accross from the taxi rank with the biggest and best steaks on a stone for €14 you cook the steak to your liking at the table on a hot stone lovely, very popular with the locals.
maralvor is ok but as i said a bit out of the way of everything with no supermarkets anywhere near so taxis all the way (taxi from rank in alvor to hotel €3.40)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maralvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maralvor

Address: Quinta Dos Arcos | Edificio Maralvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maralvor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MARALVOR apartments stand out for their perfect relation between price/quality/location. These spacious apartments, are located at mere 700 meters ( about 10 minutes walking distance) from Alvor Vilage center and the glorious sands of Alvor beach. This location allows to remain accessible but distanced enough to enjoy a relaxed holiday, escaping the noisy hustle and bustle of a center located unit. Built with comfort in mind, these apartments have an independent kitchen, fully equipped with Fridge/freezer, hobs/oven, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, washing machine and all remainig utensils necessary for a great SELF-CATERING holiday. The bedrooms, are equipped with two single beds or a double, a large wardrope for all the necessary packing space and still have enough space left for 1 or 2 Cots if necessary (no extra cost but will req. To pre-book them on reservation). The living-room, once again ample and spacious, are equiped with a sofa bed or a sofa plus single individual beds, that allow for a maximum ocupancy of the apartment without sacrificing on comfort or giving guests a claustrofobic feel. Equiped with Satelite TV, with all the national channels plus some international ones, allow for a good retriet, when the holiday fun gets a bit tiering. The bathroom, also with good size, has a full bath and shower.He unit has also a SNACK-BAR (privatelly managed and with seasonal operation), were several drinks, cocktails and snack are served thruw the day, and were you can still find games such as darts, snooker and video-games ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maralvor Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maralvor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.