We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole, OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Save Saved
You added Clube Alvorferias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On the whole, OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I returned last week from a trip with my 15yr old daughter, and in general would agree with the other reviewers. Our apartment was big and clean, it was a bit dated but that didn't bother us too much.The big downside with it was that although we had 2 balconies, there was no real view, I felt we were very close to other apartments and privacy was sometimes a problem.
This was a family hotel, there was a jolly atmosphere, complete with lots of screaming kids having fun, it occasionally felt somewhat big and impersonal. We stayed mainly in the quieter pool area over the bridge from the reception where we were happy to lay towels on the grass if there were no sunbeds.
We had booked half board and I was a bit worried after reading what other reviewers had written, but actually the food was quite acceptable... I had fish every night (octopus, calamari, hake, perch) with plenty of salad, and didn't have to wash anything up!! which suited me fine, my daughter ate a lot of pizza and chips which seem to suit her too. The staff were all fine
My main criticism would be the reception area which was really horrible, dark and populated mainly by children using the PC's swearing loudly!!
Alvor itself was a lovely town , there were fantastic beaches only about 15-20 minute walk from the hotel, lots of great bars too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    154
    95
    55
    37
See reviews for
230
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunhton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our second visit to Clube Alvorferias and find it ideal for us. It's close to the village and very clean. Our electricity stopped working and was rectified very quickly.the staff were very pleasant and we had a very good sized apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here again this year, the third year in a row. This time we have stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and for value for for money cannot fault it.

The apartments are bigger than most, yes they are old but the are clean and kept in good order by the housekeeping team. The kitchen is for a holiday apartment large and well appointed. Good size fridge full size cooker and decent microwave grill which can be used to make toast so you don't need to rent one. The bathrooms are large enough for 2 people to use at once without getting in each others way, unless you are both trying to hog the wash basin at the same time.

The Spar is well stocked and has most things ( In Alvor there is an Alisuper and on the other side of Alvor there is a Pingu Doce which are both good although would say Pingu is the best of the local supermarkets)

The pool is cleaned daily and the staff are polite and when we needed anything found it was sorted fairly quickly.

There are only 2 downside both of which are down to other holiday makers and are:
Those who allow their children to jump off the bridge that crosses the people, despite the signs saying not to the hotel has signs to say no lifeguards and does not monitor the safety. Whilst we were there this year one man was hit by a young (early teens) Irish boy. Who apparently thought it was funny so did his mother, an Irish woman was hit by a teenage Irish boy who when she spoke to his father the father told him to keep doing it as she fancied him! and a young boy may 9-10 years old was almost hit by another Irish teen who got annoyed that the young boy got in his way of having fun. --- Time to have a guard especially when you hear that last year a woman was knocked unconscious and the year before a man put in hospital by being landed on.

The other issue is the age old towels on sunbeds, by 8.30 in the morning every bed was taken and on the days we spent by the pool half these beds never got used. Easy to sort have a lifeguard to monitor the pool and every few hours remove towels not being used.

Just remember when you stay here It is a cheap hotel for self catering that gives good size rooms it is not a luxury 3 star. You get what you pay for and this place for accommodation is very good value

Room Tip: ask not to be ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was better than we expected considering some of the reviews on here. It was spacious and clean and our 1 bed apartment had loads of room for a family of 4 and had everything we needed for a self-catering holiday. The only thing missing was a toaster! The pool area was lovely and the surrounding areas are well maintained. There was a bit of traffic noise but nothing too major. The on-site supermarket had all the basics you would need and it was a nice walk into the main part of Alvor. All in all we had a fantastic time and would definitely return. If you're looking for a reasonably priced self-catering, family holiday then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just back from the Clube Alvoferias after a 12 night stay,and I must say we got what we paid for ,Our Apartment was a one bedroomed affair and very dated. We were unlucky to stay above the on-site Supermarket and this led to a lot of noise from delivery vans from 6 am onwards. Staff at the Reception were not the best at providing helpful and suitable information. the pool at the Reception side was constantly packed with Families and people queuing at 8am to put their Towels down was certainly off putting.One Tip for this place is to ask for your accommodation to be across the Bridge as this had a nicer pool and was a lot quieter. Hotel was ideal for the walk into Alvor (10 mins) and the Beach 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just got back from Alvor two days ago and me and my two friends were very pleased with the hotel.The position of the hotel was perfect being about 10 minute walk to the town centre and 15 minute to the beach. First impressions were good, the room was huge and overlooking the pool with two balcony's and plenty of space for just three of us. On the downside the beds were rock solid and the shower was bad. We also showered in cold water a few nights because there was no hot water! the pool area was good with a lovely pool although it could get very busy and crowded. Snack bar was brilliant and cheap (The toasties are so nice!). The staff were lovely and friendly, apart from one member of staff on reception who was rude and not so friendly think he was called jose.

A small downside to the hotel was the position of the rooms which many people have commented on. The hotel is kind of split into two, with one being on the reception side and the other half over the road which is accessed by a bridge and quite far from the main hotel. I heard alot of comments about this from other guests, and some said it was quieter across the road and others said it was noisier with dogs barking etc. Also if you have small children in pushchairs I would recommend asking for a room on the lower floor because there are far to many stairs to get up and if you are put on the top floor you will struggle!!

At the end of the day you get what you pay for and overall we were very happy with the hotel it was an absolute bargain and will be recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were apprehensive due to mixed reviews. However none of the issues we read about transpired. Accommadation was spacious spotless and perfectly adequate for self catering although youd be mad to cook on holiday with the fab eateries in Alvor mins away. Pool and surrounding area kept really clean. Cafe and Spar on hand for snacks and essentials. Our only stress was worrying we wouldnt get a space near the pool to watch over 4 kids in the deep pool. We had to get up and out of bed by 8 to get beds. This was tiring and meant we never availed of evening events later than 10ish. No ones fault... just a busy pool and a large family! Overall brilliant though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Address: Estrada de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Alvorferias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.