We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Save Saved
You added Clube Alvorferias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chilled out and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with a 1yr old and whilst out of season and closed it was not too far to walk into Alvor. A quaint fishing village. Friendly people. Reception was very helpful.
We went with Jet 2 and transfers worked very well with car seat being provided in the minibus.
Check out Black Stove and Annies Bar.
Melvin & Julie provided a lovely welcome and her cakes are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    167
    109
    64
    39
See reviews for
255
110
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We, a large family,stayed at this hotel in October 2011.We had 2 x 2 bedroomed apartments,spotless,maids came everyday,clean towels when ever we needed them.
pool area spotless as was all around the complex.,restaraunt food was excellent as were all staff
We have been going to Alvor for the last 13 years and have found no problems with ANY of the hotels we have stayed in.I wonder why things have changed,?????

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in September 2012. The breakfast was an inconsistent standard and they blatantly just left eggs sitting in grease from start to finish.

The staff were incredibly rude when I asked for a better condition of food I was ridiculed by floor staff and had to get the manager involved.

The apartment was ways dirty so I ended up having to clean it myself. How this was marketed as a three star hotel is beyond me.

It's the worst holiday I've ever had. Would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Substandard accommodation and facilities, apartments big but very tired looking and in need of upgrading, cleaning neglected throughout the facility, pool too small for number of guests, no wifi and a good walk into town, would give the resort five stars, just stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Stay in the newer apartments and avoid those near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we have stayed here twice over the years the accommodation is OK you have all you want it was clean and everything worked OK it is a fair walk from the village if you are fit a nice walk during the day would get a taxi back at night though

Alvor is a lovely village we 1st went 30 years ago and everything closed at 10pm all changed now I miss the old Alvor but still enjoy the more touristy modern one

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went here last summer with another adult and 5 children. we had 2 separate apartments. For the whole week the air conditioning in mine would not work, numerous calls and visits were made to reception. by the end of the week if had still not been fixed(it was a v v hot week). The other apartment had a strong smell of sewage which gradually got worse as the week went on. In saying that the kids had an amazing time, loved the pool and the town was only a short walk away.Unfortunately on the last night there was a bbq in the complex and myself and the other adult got severe food poisoning which lasted for far too long!.not a good memory from the holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've re-booked the Alvorferias again for 2013, for the 4th year running. For the following reasons:

1) Its affordable
2) Efficiently run
3) Alvor is a lovely place and most of all
4) Because of the Sports/Leisure activities run by the Alvorferias.

If you have young children, they will have no excuses not to get involved with all the fun activities run on a daily basis, mornings and afternoons.

Tennis (Claude the activities Team leader is an exceptional tennis coach, great with the kids. I think he may have worked as a pro coach in France) These lessons are FREE!

The fun water polo with the kids and adults is fab, great fun and a great way to get to know the other holiday makers. Darts, french boules (bowls), and arts classes and various other activities.

For adults there is also an introduction to Yoga/Stretching Sessions and adults running on the beach...getting fit and healthy....a holiday here, for adults who need to get into a fitness regime, you will have no excuses, and its all fun. No sweat!

Read through the other comments, and draw your own opinions, the apartments are 3 star however the kids club and particularly the sports activities are 5 Star....

If you need to get your kids or yourself, fit and active...this is the place....mind you, you can always relax at the pool and have a great holiday anyways...

Tip: I always book through Alpharooms, making a great saving as compared with booking with Tour operators....Go for it and happy holidays wherever you go : )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Address: Estrada de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Alvorferias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.