We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value break in a very good hotel and resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Atlantico

Save Saved
You added Pestana Alvor Atlantico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Alvor
A TripAdvisor Member
“A great value break in a very good hotel and resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel rooms very well appointed with full kitchen facilities if you wanted to have a night off from eating out but why would you - fabulous restaurants, and fresh sea food was particularly good. Hotel is a couple of minutes walk from beautiful beach and, as pool is fairly small with limited number of sunbeds, this could be a better option but beware of strong currents. Hotel was very clean and good breakfast buffet style. Alvor is a beautiful fishing village still managing to hold onto it's quaint village atmosphere despite popularity. Nightlife tends to be live music in pub/bars and a lot of Irish influences. We loved our meal at The Captain's Table and at the rooftop terrace at Portobello Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just returned back from the Alvor Atlantico where I stayed with my husband and 6 year old son. They are part of the Dom Joao village. They're about 500 mtrs from main hotel Dom Joao, where all facilities are ie. Reception, Restaurant, Swimming pools, Bar, Kids Club etc. Only facility at Atlantico is indoor swimming pool none of the rest as listed are available from Atlantico. Reception: There is a phone on a table inside the door if you need reception you can use this. We found it to be a bit of a trek over and back especially if you forget something ! On Check in( In Dom Joao) it was pretty straight forward nothing over friendly or informative. Our room was nice modern but the maid while she came every day with fresh towels gave the apartment a quick rub. (Not up to much.) Restaurant was just ok. We only did B&B and the food was the same every morning. Nothing too hectic. Swimming pools were cold enough and salt water. Kids club was fine pretty basic but girls did their best to keep kids entertained.Evening entertainment was a guy on keyboard most nights.... wouldnt bother !! Overall the attitude of the staff wasn't good. With the exception of a few. (small few) There is an older gentleman in towel hut "managing the towels" with a really bad nasty attitude. He washes the paths under you whether your on the sunbeds or not and one day washed my bag too !! with camera and i phone inside. When i approached him he shrugged his shoulders saying this is his job to clean.

Over all my experience of Atlantico was just ok. On the positive side it is very close to the beach and the supermarket is next door. Will not be returning to Atlantico although Alvor was beautiful !!!
Beautiful restaurants : Ruculla being our favourite but book in advance !! O Candeerio on beach is fab and Ricardo speaks great irish ! Villa 45, Captins Table, Georgettes and accross from Vangabondo the Italian Restaurant (cant think of name.) Went to O louis on beach didnt think service up to much !! Prices varied from 60 - 80 Euro Including Starter, Main, Desert, Juice and wine.
Car hire used zitauto and no problems good to deal with.
Strongly recommend to go to Zoomarine to swim with Dolphins what a wonderful experience !!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Bad points-

1 - Yes,you read that correctly,no food or drink,not even a snack bar! For breakfast you had to walk down the road every day to one of the other Pestana hotels,same if you wanted a drink at night or a bite to eat.

2 - The other hotel that we had breakfast in ( Pestana Don Joao 2) was a lot better than the Pestana atlantico. In fact the Dom Joao was more like a 4 star,the Atlantico was definitely more of a 3 star.

3 - The swimming pools were absolutely freezing,even the indoor ones.

4 - The rooms are tired and dated.

5 - The photos on the website make it look better than it actually is.


Good points -

1 - Very clean and tidy rooms,maids did a really good job every day.

2 - Perfect hotel position,right near the beach,only ten minute walk from Alvor (which we loved) Far enough out so that it was pretty quite so you could get some sleep at night.

3 - Cheap bus service right outside the hotel door,going to Alvor and Portimao every 15 minutes.

4 - Nice and helpfull staff.

We had a great holiday,the weather was perfect and Alvor was really nice,I would definitely recommend the resort to people,I would stop in the Dom Joao next time though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Pestana Atlantico for 5 days in June 2009. The hotel is part of the Dom Joao II village at Alvor.

The Atlantico was clean and comfy but not as good as the adjacent Dom Joao II. Staff were very friendly, helpful and polite.

When we stayed there, the restaurant that would normally have been used was closed and we were able to use the restaurant at the nearby Dom Joao II Hotel. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent buffets and the service was first rate.

We enjoyed our stay in Alvor and will return.

Based on our 5 day stay, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pestana group. My preference would be to stay at the Dom Joao II on our next trip but would have no problem returning to the Atlantico.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Having stayed in, and been pleased with, other hotels in the Pestana group we were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation at the Alvor Atlantico. It is very very tired and needs an urgent upgrade especially as it is being advertised as 4 star when in reality it is more 2 star. The good news is the rooms are large and very clean (thanks to the hard working chambermaids) the outdoor pool area is excellent, the Staff very helpful and the breakfast good. If it was advertised as 2 or at a pinch 3 star then we would have been quite happy but we expected 4 star and did not get it. One other thing, do not make telephone calls from your room, the telephone outside the hotel was not working, we had a close relative in hospital and needed to keep in touch so phoned from the hotel, over the 11 days we spent 18 and a half minutes on the 'phone and were presented with a bill for 76 euros 30 cents (£63.00) this is scandalous and regulations should be introduced to stop hoteliers profiteering in such a manner.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, situation
  • Disliked — Needed upgrading
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

We recently returned from staying at the Pestana Alvor Atlantico. We had a suite on the top floor of the hotel which has a double bedroom, living room with sofa and dining table, kitchenette and bathroom. The terrace was very big with amazing views (11th floor). The atlantico could do with a refurb to update the decor but it was clean and in very good condition. The Dom Joao has been recently reurbed (2008) but is not as tall so perhaps not so good views. The beach is fantastic and very close to the hotel, but it was our first time to the Atlantic and didn't realise the water is FREEZING - (although the locals don't seem to mind swimming in it). It gets a bit windy on the evenings. There is a free bus every morning to Portimao, returning in the afternoon or you can take a bus into Alvor. We had the full board option. The food is good with lots of choice and the staff great.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Decor needs updating
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maspalomas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I have just got back from Alvor and it was fantastic.
We stayed in The Pestana Atlantico which is a aparthotel right by the beach and 10-15 min walk from Alvor.
The location was great and the hotel had lovely staff, was very clean and served a good buffet breakfast which was replenished frequently. The hotel does need a bit of updating but nothing major and for me the location is what makes it. There is also a health club which is very basic but is free of charge. Beach towels are also included. The negative would be there is work going on nearby so there is some drilling etc to be heard, but we could not hear it from our room or on the beach just a bit at the pool side but not unbearable by no means and it did not effect our holiday.
Alvor itself is absolutely lovely full of character, plenty of good restaurants and cheaper snack bars plus some bars with and without live entertainment. The Harbour has lot of restaurants that barbecue your freshly caught fish while you watch the sunset over the harbour.
There have been negative comments about the atlantico but I would say the other 4 star hotels in the area are either more expensive or do not have the same location. You pays your money and takes your choice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some of the surrounding buildings were a bit tatty hotel needs updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Alvor Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Atlantico

Address: Praia de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pestana Alvor Atlantico 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pestana Alvor Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Atlantico Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.