We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to be Downstairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faustinos Steak House

Faustinos Steak House
Rua Frederico Ramos Mendes, 44, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Need to be Downstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice place, food was good and the couvert of trio of breads with a nice dipping sauce was the best we had.

Went to this place twice first time was downstairs, atmosphere was very good the manager was always around and was willing to chat about the food, the prices were very reasonable. when we went the second time we were upstairs this is not as good food was still nice but no atmosphere and very little contact with staff other that ordering and delivery of food.

Would recommend but try to get downstairs unless you like very quiet meals

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    70
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So glad we chose to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Whilst finding it difficult to choose from the many places to eat in this delightful town we finally decided on Faustinossteakhouse as for one it was very busy which is usually a good sign, and also the lady at front of house was chatty but not pushy.
My wife settled on the fried mushrooms and a burger ( simple fare but really well presented and tasty). I had buffalo wings followed by the rib eye steak which was cooked perfectly to how I asked for it.
The service was both professional and friendly and it was nice to strike up conversation with fellow diners.
Should you find yourself fortunate enough to be in Alvor and there are many fine places to eat I would recommend this restaurant as one of those that will not let you down should you choose to give them your patronage.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF HIDDEN COSTS!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had been having a meal across the road in the Atrium 53 (which I highly recommend). We noticed the steakhouse from our table and decided to give it a go the following night.There was a queue waiting to be seated, but it was easier for us, being a table for two.The waiter placed bread, garlic butter and a oil dip on the table then came back to take our order. My husband had the ribs, which he said were delicious. I ordered steak and asked what it came with and was informed it was either chips, salad or vegetables. So I ordered it with chips.Lovely. Then we had a nice dessert to share (which we always do with two spoons). We asked for an extra scoop of ice cream and was informed it was no problem.When the bill arrived after the meal was finished, we thought it was a bit steep and as it was in Portuguese I asked the waiter to break it down. The long and short of it is, they charged for the bread, then my chips the extra scoop of ice cream and pepper sauce. We argued our point and when asked about chips, ice cream etc, we we not informed that it would be extra. The manager was quite rude and snapped the bill from my hand and deducted the charges from it, but made it known that he was not a'happy bunny'.There are so many fabulous restaurants to eat in Alvor that you are spoilt for choice and are served by pleasent staff who make you feel most welcome. So no, I will not be returning to this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Steak, Ribs & Wine !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant Meal ! The best steak and ribs I have ever had. Well worth the money I would pay double. Here on holiday and stumbled across this on our travels. Cannot fault it one bit. Will definitely be making another trip before we head home in a few days. One last thing the green wine is beautiful, Light and Refeshing. Recommend any meat lover try this, Vegatiarians don't know what they are missing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great place to eat, lovely food and fab service. They made such a fuss over our 19month old and she loved it. Only restaurant we came across that had proper veggies on the menu for children. Extremely good value, we ate here twice while on holidays and would gladly return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faustinos Steak House also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Faustinos Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faustinos Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.