We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a fantastic resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Save Saved
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel in a fantastic resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just returned from a week's holiday in Alvor. We stayed in the Pestana Dom Joao II. We did not want to come home.
The hotel was in a perfect location on the beach. The hotel was excellent. The reception staff were brilliant very polite and helpful, they also spoke excellent English and couldn't be more helpful.
The room was ideal. Very modern, lovely furniture and bedding, towels were supplied everyday when the room was cleaned.
We were booked in for Bed and Breakfast. The restaurant was lovely and service again of high standard. There was plently of choice for breakfast and this never ran low, it was always being filled. Breakfast was from 7.30am to 10.30am which are brilliant times.
Beach towels were supplied and the swimming pool area was brilliant, lots of sun loungers, pool bar. There is also indoor swimming pool and sauna along with a gym.
The hotel is about a fifteen minutes walk into town, we used to get a taxi back which is about 4 euros.
Excellent hotel hotel and holiday resort, recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    306
    113
    31
    57
See reviews for
211
372
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

V good 4* hotel. Clean & modern, lovely gardens & relaxing laid back atmosphere. Room decor was beach hut style. Loved glass fronted bathroom (could shower with a seaview). Nice pool area with beds at pool or in garden. Right next to stretch of sandy beach (dunes), with a few sheltered golden beaches to the east (amongst the rock formations). Staff all friendly & helpful, especially Helena on reception. Worth paying extra for the sea view on 5th floor & had champagne in room for our anniversary. Good selection at breakfast. Fresh pool towels daily & no drama about taking them to beach. Empty mini bar, embracing the fact that most people stock up fridge with their own cheap items from the supermarket. Recommend sitting on the beach or dipping your feet in the sea whilst watching the sunset. Village very quaint & has some fantastic fresh seafood & cataplanas, so well worth the 10min walk. There is not a proper path, but it was fine (we used mini laser/torch for parts with no lighting). If you are not into seafood, then there are other choices like pizza, pasta, piri piri chicken. Plenty of bars if needed, but we liked to drink on the balcony before & after dinner. Slightly negative: waste ground & high rises at rear, hairdryer on request only, no tea/coffee making facilities

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrick on shannon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have stayed in either Dom Joao, in villa and Beach Club at least seven times in the last five years yet nobody of staff has recognised us and said "You are welcome back".
It would be nice to be recognised and appreciated.
at the moment there are friends staying in The Delphinn on our recommendation..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed from 11th August 2010 for 14 nights. Bed and breakfast. Just myself and girlfriend (both 26yrs old) going for relaxing break. Good points: - Location - beach 30 yards from the pool, Alvor town a 20 min walk/4 min taxi - Pool area - Masses of sun-loungers and grassy areas to find shade throughout the day. Possibility to alternate between beach and pool in an instant. - Breakfast - great selection of food, both hot and cold. Go before 9am to avoid the rush, and its open until 10:30am. - Rooms - stayed on the 4th floor with a view of the car park. I'm not a 'view-snob' so this room was perfect, and a few quid cheaper then the pool view room. The room itself was ideal and the bathrooms appeared to be recently installed with top quality furnishings. All very clean and modern with the cleaners providing an immaculate, polite service every day. All in all a very good, relaxing experience. Nothing went wrong on our stay and most of the staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families or couples. Slight Letdowns: - Safety deposit box cost 2 Euros per day. Annoying. - Breakfast got v-busy after about 9am - Lots of children (fully expected due to summer holidays, but may put some people off going in August) - Drinks at pool bar could be expensive (Sangria 15 euros, and very weak) and some of the bar staff were quite rude. Don't open the ice cream fridge yourself or you will get an ear-full of abuse!! I kept doing it just to wind them up. - Evening entertainment in the hotel was pretty dire. We sometimes came back to the hotel early to see a few depressed sat in the bar area. There was usually some kind of musician performing, but it wasn't very lively or worth staying in for. My advice, go into Alvor, or the far side of Praia de Rocha.
The best thing about my stay was…

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

What a peculiar little place! We were staying a the Beach Club thanks to my father in laws time share and this was a definite bonus. We had access to the hotel and we signed up for breakfast which was a mistake in hindsight - nice enough but nothing special, good value but boring - apart from the entertainment of some very dissatisfied customers. The pool area at the beach club was really quiet although there were definitely some imposters taking advantage of the facilities! The beach is 15 steps away from the pool - marvellous. Its huge and very busy but lovely with it. Along the board walk are lovely little restaurants on the beach. The town of Alvor is a shabbier, smaller version of Albufeira and not up to much really although we did have good value meals there. I wouldn't recommend the hotel - I think Pestana need to wake up a bit in general - we've stayed in one of their places before - a bit tired and dated - the beach club bit though was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Had a lovely week at this Pestana hotel and would thoroughly recommend the hotel and Alvor in general. Great hotel is directly on the beach with its own beach cafe and facilities you feel very safe and close to the hotel at all times. My six yr old son loved the childrens pool and the big pool both of which were quiet most days as many guests seemed to prefer the perfect beach! the indoor ppol was even quieter!
Breakfast in the hotel was great and set us up for the day and we walked the ten minute stroll into Alvor in the evening for dinner. My son loved the pizza and classic pasta by the harbour and Mister Alvor's steaks were delish!
We made nightly use of the wifi connection in the bar area and my husband went to the gym every afternoon. my son got a bit addicted to the table tennis and pool but we all had fun.
Only disappointment was that it was too late to hire a car when we dicided we wanted too and they were all booked out so we didn't get to see more of the Algarve - so thats for next time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent South Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Recently stayed in the Pestana Dom Joao in Alvor for our summer holiday. After reading positive reviews about it, we were so glad we chose to stay there, the hotel was just lovely. We chose a garden view because it was a lot cheaper than a sea view but the garden view is lovely and the sea is in the distance anyway so it is almost like a sea view.
The beach is on the doorstep and its a beautiful beach. Was quiet when we went but can imagine it would get busier in peak season. Hotel had a nice pool area and the hotel provided beach towels and umbrellas for customers to use aswell. Gym was fairly well equiped with a treadmill, bike, crosstrainer and a few weights.
Breakfast was more than adequate. Had everything from fried breakfast to yoghurts and cereals, had tea, coffee, herbal teas and juice aswell. To eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner looked very expensive so we chose to eat out in alvor every evening. Supermarket was a 5 min walk away which was very well stocked.
Best of all Alvor the town was about a 15 min walk away which was lovely, loads of nice restaurants and bars without it being too loud and busy. Each evening we stopped in the chill out bar which was on the way in to alvor and was 1 euro a pint and 2euros for cocktails!! Really friendly staff aswell.
Only downfall to the hotel which wasnt really a problem was that the hotel didnt have free wi-fi.
Overall we had a wonderful holiday in Alvor and we're looking to go back later this year and stay in the same hotel. would definatly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.