We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab holiday location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just had a lovely stay here at Easter, wonderful spacious room and lovely garden and sea view, breakfast amazing nothing I could add everything you could need so much choice.hotel situated on beach, also used courtesy bus to Portomao, would love to come back when sun was shining more!!!! And sample more of the wonderful eateries in Alvor

Room Tip: We selected a higher room with garden view and had bonus of a side room which also had beach view, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    374
    129
    34
    59
See reviews for
253
442
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Another great holiday in the Pestanan D. Joao
I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions, and would not stay anywhere else. The staff are fantastic and always go that extra mile to help. The rooms are lovely the food is excellent and the location is superb. I will be going back again Christmas as I have done for the past 10+ years. Best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Please provide the name of the staff member who provided exceptional service and a brief description of action.
The small gentleman on reception (sorry I didn't get his name) I asked about booking direct for Christmas he was very helpful giving me all the information.

Room Tip: Very close to the beach and central to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked through Travel Republic having seen photos on their site but these were not what we were shown to when we arrived. The villas were not within the hotel coplex but outside the fenced in boundary. The property was run down with rust around the bath plug outlet, paint work was poor and flaky and in complete need of renovation After complaining to the hotel reception we were moved to a better villa but still not within the hotel complex. This too was not of the standard advertised in both the hotel and Travel Republics websites. The properties needs updating before being let again.

Room Tip: We were not shown any I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from 2 glorious weeks in Alvor Portugal staying at the Dom Jao 3 hotel, glorious location right on the beach, extremely comfortable room overlooking pool, gardens & beach. Staff very friendly, make you feel right at home, breakfast fit for a king, to fit all tastes or needs. This our favourite hotel in this resort & will return many times in the future.

Room Tip: Free wifi in downstairs lounge reception area. Ask for a high floor & worth the extra for full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Hotel Dom João II and share it with other travelers.
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Warm regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable stay for a week's golf for a group of us. Brilliant breakfasts and very friendly staff. Rooms compact but with everything you need. Have to pay extra for safe in room but only 14 euros. No hairdryer in room but you can borrow one for free. There are lovely gardens leading down to the sea and plenty of seating areas in the lounge area. We didn't eat in hotel in the evening but it looked fine. We walked into town for a good selection of restaurants and bars, but it is a good stretch. Wifi available in foyer area.

Room Tip: Ours on the 4th (435) was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We first stayed here a couple of years ago purely by chance on an impromptu weekend away... it did not disappoint.
My husband & I normally like to try new places, different hotels etc but this year we head back to this hotel for the 3rd time.
The rooms are clean & modern with great bathrooms. I would ALWAYS suggest going for an Ocean view, we didn't on the first trip, but regretted it... the beach is so close & so lovely the view wonderful!

The breakfast buffet is extensive and perfect start to the day.

You couldn't get much closer to the beach... a little stroll across the lush green gardens (where there are plenty of sunbeds if you're not a beach bunny) and you're there... the beach is so beautiful - sometimes there can be some strong surf which makes it tricky for swimming on those days. We normally go to the sunbeds just outside the hotel, I can't recall the price of these for the day so can't have been too pricey.
If you want somewhere for lunch, there are a couple of beach restaurants if you head towards Alvor along the front... another favourite in the day for us!

I personally think the bar prices at the hotel are steep but that's the nature of hotels & captive audiences... personally not an issue to us as we like to explore & head into Alvor most nights for food & drinks.

If you haven't visited Alvor before, it really is a lovely harbour town, and choices for good restaurants is extensive... we love the ones where you can choose your own fish ... but if I was to recommend a dish the 'monkfish rice' is a sharing dish that remains our favourite.

Alvor is about 10-15mins walk - either across beach or on the main road and is actually a perfect stroll in the evenings, and after a meal on way home.

We haven't had too many encounters with the staff at the hotel... they tend to leave you to get on with your holiday unless you need something... at which point we've found them incredibly helpful & friendly. Often evening entertainment or daytime activities throughout the week if you want to do something more.

Overall It ticks all the boxes for us... pool, beach, gym (even an indoor pool if you're going out of season), spa, activities, gardens, great breakfast, great location, lovely rooms. Highly recommend this hotel & can't wait to go back in July!

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Hotel Dom João II.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Alvor in a near future,
Our best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited in April 2015 for 2 nights. Hotel was really quiet due to early season. Staff are very friendly and all speak English well.
Great beach on the hotel door step... Beach is a very short walk (3min) from hotel.
Clean rooms, great views.
Limited choice of food in the day but nice beach side cafe, good variety of breakfast/evening meal. Local shops only 10 min walk away.
Only negatives ( and these are minor!) you had to pay to use the safe 2€ per day. Free wifi only works in the lobby and not the rooms, no kettle available even on request.

We would certainly return again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review shared on tripadvisor
It is a great pleasure to have happy guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.