We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Dom Joao II was a very nice hotel that has a lot going for it. It is in a very good location about a 10 minute walk away from the town of Alvor. The hotel is very clean and well decorated, the rooms are a good size and very comfortable.
Free wifi is available in the lobby and there is entertainment most nights in the bar area. The hotel has access to a lovely beach as well as having a great outside and heated indoor pool. The hotel also has table tennis, pool and crazy golf on site.

The only criticism I would have with the hotel is that the breakfast is average. It attempts to balance Anglo- European sensibilities (a difficult challenge) but doesn't quite manage this.

I would still however visit the hotel again and would definitely recommend it to someone else!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadviso and the comments about recommend in it to other potencial guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    390
    134
    31
    54
See reviews for
266
463
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel has all the add-ons that a 4 star (as advertised) hotel usually boasts - fancy reception area, large dining room, bar with entertainment, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa facility, etc. However, the rooms are a real let down. The night before flying, I stayed at an airport hotel which is everything premier but the price and I can tell you that the room was much better than at the Dom Joao. A small thing, but there are no tea and coffee making facilitates. The pillows are awful - bags of chopped up foam pieces. I stayed in a sea view, superior room, but it was small with sparse furniture and little storage space. The bathroom is equally basic. It was all extremely clean and in many ways good enough given that you;re only sleeping in it. My problem with it is that the hotel tells you it's 4 star and the rooms are definitely not, which made me feel a little cheated. 3 star at best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations regarding some aspects of your hotel stay.
Your remarks will help us to improve the standarts
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here from 06-04-2014 till 13-04-2014 a great week for weather with tempreture in the 27c lovely! had a see view room on the 3rd floor,reasonably clean,great view,and the lovely sound of those waves! Now ...the hotel need a good make over,the outside looks like its been involved in a gas blast! tatty,and old fashioned! inside is acceptable but again,need a makeover! The food is acceptable,nothing great,but 6/10 waters and staff all very good,facilitys not so good! Entertainment for the 70 somethings catered for,not for 30-50 year olds! One really annoying thing is the pillows,my god,they are like concrete,i had neck ache all week,and did not sleep brilliant! Pestana a good group of companies,but clearly this hotel need work,it could be so much better! Overall,a good stay,but come on pestana,get your act together,the hotel was built in 1972 and does need a makeover!

Room Tip: sea view a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for giving us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Please be informed that we will do everything within our power to overcome some of the mencioned points.
Looking forward to your contact
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Staff were excellant and friendly, The Hotel is mainly occupied by Golfers and most of them Irish, so the general atmosphere is very friendly. Very much an older crowd stay here. Common areas are a bit dated looking but in good condition. Rooms are small but well decorated. The glass window from the bathroom to the room is a bit off putting, im sure if my wife was with me she would not like to see going to the loo before hoping into bed :). I am re booking for September with another golf crowd. The viallge is €5 taxi ride and has over 100 small restaurants where we never had a bad meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to us and also to other guests that consider a visit to our unit.
We will see you in September
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great spot Alvor is gorgeous and the hotel is also very nice an in a perfect location for getting around what is quite a small town , geared around its lovely beach and tourists town centre ,. A good selection if restaurants . We don't use bars so can't comment.
Great board walk over the sand dunes . Its a great walk..
Get also to nearby lagos a lovely town build into city walls with a nice marina . Would think of staying there next time actually.
Getting to the hotel we took a private transfer taxi yellowfishttransfers they were Very good , on time each trip , had free wifi which i was amazed at . The driver was very informative throughout the trip .
We also went on the motorway this is rare aparently as its expensive for locals but yellowfish use it to Alvor so made the journey a lot quicker .Recommended..
Have a nice holiday

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it is a very nice recommendation to other potential guests.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale Da Telha
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great location for beach and town. Clean friendly hotel.

Breakfast good.

Better out of season as not so busy.

Rooms and decor really nice and fresh only spoiled by the lumpy pillows. When clearly money has been spent on a re fit why cheap lumpy old pillows ? For me a good nights sleep is so important.


Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met your expectations concerning the pillows. We will do our best to improve the pillow standards
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from 11 days at the Dom Joao and enjoyed every minute!
We have been holidaying in Alvor for over 20 years and have stayed at this hotel many times usually in February or March. The recent improvements in the dining room are excellent - better quality produce, show cooking and more coffee machines. Our room was lovely and in a very quiet area (room 2007) with a lovely big bathroom and garden/sea view.
The position of the hotel cannot be beaten as it has direct access to Alvor's beautiful beach.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#6 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.