We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday/new year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Save Saved
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“birthday/new year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we spent ten days over the new year at dom joao 11 and enjoyed it very much ..the hotel is very good and new year party was fabulous . the party went on till 3.00a.m.the only drawback with this hotel is the food is spoilt by being cold everynight .i can never understand the point of cooking hot food only to let it go cold in bain-marie trays...i had a lovely surprise on my birthday when we opened the door to our room to find a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake from the management all laid out on the coffee table NICE.we booked a superior room 509 with sea view and balcony small stain on carpet could do with another clean ..we used the courtesy bus to take us to portmao which came to pick us up at 4.15 . WHEN WE STAYED IN ALVOR BEFORE AT THE DELFIN WE HAD TO WAIT FOR THE LOCAL BUS..staff veryhelpfull cannot fault them ..overall a lovely time..h.newsholme and wife.

Room Tip: room 509 great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    306
    113
    31
    57
See reviews for
211
371
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just a little word of warning before you book this hotel for this coming season. Hopefully its sorted now (I doubt it) but make sure when booking you get a cast iron guarentee from the hotel that you actually will end up staying there.
It appears the Pestana group operate an overbooking policy in order to fill their less popular hotels in the resort. All will become clear if you take the time to trawl through last years reviews during July/August/September period.
Unfortunately we were one of the victims who was `Bumped' two days before departure date in the form of an email from tour operator, which still angers even after 6 months or so.
Another thing which also is sickening is the lack of response from the management team at the hotel regarding negative reviews, notice Mr.Santos generally only replies to the more favourable reviews and certainly keeps well away from any overbooking issues.
All people are looking for is a little re-assurance that this will not happen again, which may tempt re-booking at a future date, however no such response has been forthcoming which doesn't inspire much confidence it won't happen again. Anyway good luck and hopefully your holiday won't be ruined by the hotel's group despicable overbooking practices.
By the way Alvor is a lovely resort with some wonderful restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a group of golfing friends for 10 days at the beginning of January 2014.

First the good bits. The hotel is superbly located on a wonderful Algarve beach on the edge of a busy fishing village, with plenty of nice restaurants, shops and a working harbour. The adjacent river estuary has an extensive boardwalk, providing access to inland waterways, marshland and an array of flora and fauna. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect of a 4 star hotel. It is clean, the bedrooms very acceptable, the beds comfortable, (less so the pillows) and as long as you are not in one of the "a" prefixed rooms (i.e. 501a), the bathrooms, with bath and shower, are good. The views from the beach facing room balconies are quite fantastic and well worth the small premium. If you are not fortunate enough to enjoy one of these rooms, there is adequate compensation in the conservatory style lounges overlooking the bay on every floor. The food is adequate, (see below), the bar area comfortable, the evening entertainment ok for the older generation and the operational staff friendly and helpful.

So why frustrating? Well, just about everything, with minimum cost and more efective management could be so much better. Although the choice of buffet style food is quite good, it lacks variety on a daily basis and is not well presented. Dishes are spread, for not entirely obvious reasons, over two rooms (one a bit dark and dowdy) and popular choices tend to run out early. Fried eggs at breakfast are cooked in great quantities to become congealed and cool. The scrambled eggs on the other hand are excellent. There are the usual Portugesel limitations of bacon and cheese. The general decour, particularly outside, is tired. Everywhere needs a coat of fresh paint and a general makeover. The reception service is variable and occassionally inefficient. (there's no clock in reception, never seen that before in a large hotel). The free Wifi service is poor. The loungers, in the large and pleasant grounds are generally sound but in need of a good scrub. The swimming pool changing rooms are tiny and the in-door pool, sauna and steam room not as inviting as they might be. Half the machines in the well equipped gym don't work and the multi-gym wire cables are all broken.

All of this and more can and hopefully will be remedied through the introduction of a few more effective management processes. Don't let this review put you off. Many hotels are much worse but some we've experienced on the Algarve, for a similar price, are so much better. The good points do outweigh the bad. We had a great time, it was just all a bit frustrating. It could be the jewel in the Pessana crown.

Room Tip: Sea facing on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
Looking forward to have you back in order to be able to correspond to your expectations
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a brilliant stay in pestana Dom Joao in June 2011 staff facilities and food all excellent and right on the beach and for that reason returning end June this year with all the family for a special 40th wedding anniversary booked with jet2.com holidays disappointed could not get sea view rooms can I contact the hotel by email? Really looking forward to our stay s swift

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Please contcat the Hotel whenever you feel the need. fo.djoaoii@pestana.com
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a great holiday at Pestana Dom Joao in July 2013. We did see a few people at check in having issues with being moved to another hotel, but we had no problems with our booking for a side sea view room. Reception were helpful and and accommodating. Kids club was brilliant for our 3 year old little girl. Will be returning in 2014 to try the villas. Top tip: book yellow fish transfer - service was excellent and the driver very friendly and helpful. Car seat for my little girl all ready for her on arrival - very relaxing and stress free transfer.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have visited this hotel many times and have previously written an excellent review.
I feel that the standards have slipped considerably.
We booked a double room and got a twin room.
The pillows were lumpy and even when the cleaner changed them they were not much better.
Breakfast was poor and only ate it 3 mornings out of 8.
Staff are fantastic, friendly and very helpful.
Location perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
Looking forward to have you back in order to be able to correspond to your expectations
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Recently had 4 nights in the Dom Joao 26th-30th Dec and really enjoyed the hotel this time as the weather was not too good and so appreciated the facilities more i.e. the indoor pool and sauna and the bar area. With the town being quiet and chilly it was nice to stay in the Hotel for a change and use the warm , clean and smart bar area.
Was allocated a ground floor room with own terrace onto the well kept garden which in nicer weather would have been ideal for private sun bathing and of course with direct access on to the stunning beach. Another repeat visit is a must !

Room Tip: Depends on the time of year ! Sun on the sea view rooms and shade for the land views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.