We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golftrip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Save Saved
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Vestfossen, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Golftrip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed for a week as a part of 8 guys playing golf. Splendid service for rooms, tee times and information before and during our stay. All paperwork were ready upon arrival. We booked landview. As the hotel is lying almost on the shore, many of us used the opportunity to longer walks and bathing in the afternoon sun. It is my 5th stay at the same hotel and planning a new trip for Nov 2014 is already begun.

Room Tip: Depite that all landview rooms are against the passing rod, the traffic were light and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    312
    113
    31
    57
See reviews for
215
378
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We arrived on Saturday 9 November at lunchtime and our room was ready early which was great(we stayed for a week). Despite having read very negative reviews, we found that the hotel was as nice as as we had remembered(we have stayed here a few times before). Hotel was spotlessly clean, staff lovely and very friendly, nothing was a problem either. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The pool area was lovely as well although icy cold. We only ate breakfast in the hotel as there are lots of reasonably priced good restaurants in Alvor town. The bar prices were a bit higher than in the town but that is to be expected in a hotel anyway. Would we go back again - YES .

Diane,Nigel and Anna - Scotland

Room Tip: Our view this time was a land one. We have stayed before and had a sea view which is amazing- espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here for a 3 day golfing break as part if a group of 8 guys. Despite the rooms we booked in the hotel due to an administration error, however, this was managed well by the hotel when they gave us an 'up grade' to 2 of their 'bungalow' villas in the grounds if the hotel.
The accommodation was functional but simple if not plush. We only had bed and breakfast and ate out in the evenings - which meant a taxi journey into town or a 20-25 minute walk.
The breakfast at the hotel was good with a great choice from the vast hot and cold buffet range on offer. The scale of the operation is typical of a golfing resort complex looking after hundreds of guests.
The well kept hotel gardens and pool with a the beautiful sandy beach are a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in Tripadvisor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There were 11 golfers in our party had a great stay at this hotel from 7th November thru to 12th November. We all had single rooms which proved to be very successful. No one had any complaints about their room. All our rooms were looking at the road, which for us was not a problem as we were out playing golf most of the time, plus they wanted extra money for a sea view room.
Having said that the views on the beach side must have been quite spectacular as the fantastic beach is very close.
The only complaints I have were the breakfast were ok, but on some days the cooked food was cold, and the prices at the bar are absolutely extortionate. 4€ for a half was ridiculous. We would have used the bar much more had it not been so expensive. It mean't that we went into town earlier than we would have normally, where the bars are much more reasonably priced, some as cheap as 90cents for a pint.
We will be going back next year at about the same time of year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations concerning the restaurant. We will make sure that all the food will be hot when presented at breakfast.
Looking forward to see you again
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphoe, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We found this hotel faultless. The only thing we were a bit disappointed in was the fact that we had paid extra for a sea view and as we couldnt say the sea was not in view , it was only a small corner of it. We went up a few floors to have a look and there we would have had a full view of the sea & the beach as we had imagined.

Room Tip: 5th floor has best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My son & family come every year and I've been with them the last two.
Evening meals excellent; indoor pool a wonderful bonus, lovely grounds and couldn't be closer to the fine beach. Children love it. Rooms excellent. Golf courses close by. Probably not a place for those wanting a noisy party 'pop' scene.
It is quite a long way from Faro airport and I wish the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities - but these are small points. Overall, I can thoroughly recommend the Dom Joao.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!

Best regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed recently for 5 nights, 3 of us in total in one room. One of the "beds" is the chaise lounge in the room with a sheet and duvet on it, my son said was a little hard. Rooms and hotel is immaculate, very clean and tidy. Breakfast was great in the mornings, the only gripe is that the bath water was light brown in colour! -slightly disturbing! and there was no hairdryer or iron in the room, you have to ask the receptionist to send one to borrow to the room and nothing like cups or glasses in the room. Could have done with maybe some brew making facilities, nothing apart from a little fridge. Fast and efficient booking in and departure, only took few mins for each. Rooms very nice and updated. Facilities great and would stay again definitely. Easy 10 min walk into Alvor or taxis waiting outside for you. Rooms cleaned and clean towels every day. Free wifi but not in the room, you have this in the lobby seating area. You are really close to the beach, there are umbrellas and loungers available but you have to pay 10 euros for the use of these each day on the beach, they are free in the grounds of the hotel around the pool. Some residents were not happy at having to pay the 10 euros and presumed that they would get use of these as they were residents of the hotel, so left when they had to pay. Disappointing but I wasn't surprised. Great clean hotel. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.