We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returmed from a weeks holiday at the dom joa 11. The hotel is in a briiliant position on a fabulous stretch of beach and a ten minute stroll into the lovely village of alvor which is full of excellent restraunts. This is are third stay in this hotel in 4yrs and the staff are nothing short of excellent. We stayed b&b and ate out every night as you are spoilt for choice in alvor. The price of drinks is expensive so we drank at near by bars ,try the cactus bar or the chill out bar for your afternoon snack and at 1 euro a pint you cannot complain. The hotel and rooms are spotless and the pool area is relaxing with plenty beds and towels are free and can be exchanged daily. Worth taking a travel kettle if you like a cuppa in your room. This is the first time we have been bothered with mosquitoes so take some spray as a precaution.If you get chance try a relaxing drink in the square in alvor by the little chapel there is a face in the tree with out sretched arms i believe it is called the guardian of the square,hug it for luck. Spooky.

Room Tip: Sea views are better on higher floors but the lifts are hard to get at peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments .
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    418
    139
    35
    55
See reviews for
291
490
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

had really nice quiet room ,very spacious. garden with plenty of sun beds, beach right on door step . probably wouldn't choose to dine again in evening, food not excellent, but quite a way from alvor ,so taxi would have been expensive each evening

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with other people. We took note of all your constructive comments. We sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations in some aspects. Should you give us another opportunity we will no efforts to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one, we remain with kind regards.
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After spending weeks reading endless stories on TA of overbooking, I have to say that despite having no complaints, I don’t think this hotel is so good that it’s worth the worry of booking a Pestana property ever again.
We booked with Jet2 Holidays in January and feel fortunate that we did get the sea view room we had paid for. We would normally have given the hotel quite a good review - it is in a great location, rooms are kept spotless and breakfast was fine, what more could you ask for ? But i personally think there are many hotels all along the Algarve which can offer an equally good holiday experience, without the worry & uncertainty of whether you will be transferred to alternative accommodation.
The centre of Alvor is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel & has plenty of lovely restaurants and bars. We tried hard to sample them all ! The beach is lovely & the boardwalk is definitely worth a stroll if you take your mosquito repellent ! The only downside to Alvor in our opinion was the number of stray dogs – and the resulting deposits on the footpaths which need cleaning up much quicker.
Unless Pestana change their rogue practices, our advice would be to book elsewhere and don’t give them chance to spoil your holiday by sending you to another hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend floor 3 or above with a sea view looking over towards Lagos. (Odd numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

arrived at the hotel quite early on check in we were told our room would be ready in two hours which was fair enough they took our luggage and we went for a snack. when we came back the room was ready and was exactly what we asked and paid for high floor sea view.luggage was delvered to our room 5 mins later.our room and the hotel was very clean.we stayed bed and breakfast and the range of food was excellent it must be hard to keep different nationalities happy.the pool and grounds are brilliant and the lovely beach just through the gate.the drinks are to expensive and the entertainment is poor.but overall we had a great holiday and i will definately stay there again alvor is perfect i wish i could live there.

Room Tip: choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us. regardind the entertainment we will have a look into it. Thank you .
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I will definitely return to beautiful Alvor and spend more days relaxing on one of the most stunning beaches I've visited. The main beach is a long stretch of golden sand but the real gems are the small coves at the far end. These are perfect for swimming, snorkelling, rock-pooling and relaxing. The hotel's location makes this end of the beach accessible as well as the town of Alvor itself - both approx. 20 mins walk away and so worth it. The seafood on offer in the many restaurants in Alvor is excellent and good value too.
As for the hotel itself, we were on B&B basis so enjoyed a good breakfast every morning, with lots of choice. We only ate lunch there on the day we arrived, small portions and a bit over priced. Otherwise, there were no problems with check-in. Our room, with a sea-view, was ready when we arrived. Our room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels. The staff were efficient, though not particularly friendly. The pool area was very nice with plenty of loungers and lots of natural shade too because of the trees. The pool bar was pricey too compared to other cafes/bars on the beach.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel and will certainly return to Alvor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely hotel cleaned every day, the staff are polite and helpful, this hotel is a great location for Alvor town which is lovely town the peole are polite and pleasant cant do enough to help, the beaches are amazing lovely area for walks. The fish restuarants are the best I have ever being to this is the second time we have being to Portugal and will be returning next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I received a telephone call from the travel agent 13 days before we were due to travel in September informing us that we were double booked and there was no room for us at the Pestana Dom Joao II, despite our booking being made in January. We were offered a room at the Pestana Delfim on 'all inclusive' but refused and I ended up getting my money back as the travel agent wanted an extra £100 to book us into a different hotel.
We ended up booking through a different travel agent, in a different part of The Algarve staying at a hotel which was part of the Vila Gale hotel group where nothing was too much trouble and we had the most wonderful holiday imaginable.
Thank you Pestana for letting us down as without you we would never have discovered Vila Gale!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#5 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#13 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
#18 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#6 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.