We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked but still a great place to stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Askim, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overbooked but still a great place to stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We got information that the hotel was overbooked just a day before departure and that we where to stay at Pestana Delfim Hotel. I travelled with my handicapped father in law and we chose the hotel because of its procimity to the beach. I informed about that and we got one of the villas at the beach. The villa was excellent and we had a perfect stay after a few hours of problems in the start.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    349
    123
    33
    59
See reviews for
244
419
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Offaly
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked Pestana Dom Joao II in January this year for 2 weeks in July. We have stayed at Dom Joao II previously as location is ideal. We arrived at hotel on 30/06/2013. We had booked 3 rooms for 6 adults and 2 children. When we arrived on the Sunday night we were told that there was no room at hotel and that they were moving us to Delfim Hotel. So annoyed that we were not contacted previously. We met so many people that were in the same situation. I am convinced that Pestana group are overbooking their hotels on purpose to make sure all their hotels are full otherwise this problem would not be happening over and over again. I would never book a Pestana Hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We too were informed by our operator on 12th July that there is an overbooking at this hotel. We are due to stay there for 10 days from19th July. I suspect many others like us are left trying to figure out the quagmire of who is responsible for this with everyone blaming someone else. Can't cancel flights and booking agent is abdicating itself of pretty much all responsibility . They have offered us a different hotel in different resort which we don't want to go to. Clearly all prices have gone up as now last minute booking and to get an equivalent room in a hotel they are now saying will cost us £600 more even though we will be the ones inconvenienced and accepting a change of resort. The whole chain of people appear to realise they have us over a barrel with 6 days to go and clearly expect us to accept something less than we booked or pay the extra for this which is clearly not our mistake . The hotel should be ashamed of itself and our booking agent not helpful either. Where do I write a review about them?

Room Tip: I can't make any other comment as we won't be staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good food, clean room, good bathroom, pleasant courteous staff. Very clean hotel. Transfers from airport included in the package we booked with Jet2. Free bus to local town. Lovely grounds
Supermarket on site.

Room Tip: Rooms with front view over look beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although we have travelled extensively in Europe this was our first time in Portugal. We have had some very good hotels over the years but the Pestana Dom Joao ii is one of the best.

It was ideally located 50 yards from a beautiful beach but also had a lovely salt water pool for those who don't like sand in their toes. It also has a very good kids pool adjacent to the main pool. The rooms are a good size, modern and very clean. Those on one side have a wonderful view of the beach and sea although there is a supplement for a sea view, whilst those at the back look over the scrubland to the rear. However, the upside of this is that they are on the side where the sun rises and so are slightly cooler at night. The only problem we had was that the air conditioning in our room was not as effective as we would have liked at night and the room became very hot in the early hours making sleeping difficult. I'm not sure if the hotel has a central control that overrides the room system at certain times of the day, or if our room was just a one off. The view over the sea and beach when you exit the lifts to go to your room is to die for.

We didn't eat in the hotel at night so I can't comment on the quality of the a la carte menu, but the buffet style breakfast is varied, plentiful, and of a very good quality with something for everyone.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly Monica who along with Luis is (amongst other things), responsible for the afternoon entertainment programme. As well as doing the water aerobics she teaches basic Portuguese lessons some afternoons which really do help you to communicate with the locals.

The hotel has very conveniently located pool and beach bars but water and other drinks from them are quite expensive, there is however a supermarket located around 200 yards away which has a good supply of everything.

Facilities and activities for those who don't want to lay in the beautiful sunshine all day include 'crazy golf', table tennis, football, volleyball as well as the aforementioned water aerobics and Portuguese lessons. There is also a fabulous indoor pool complete with sauna and steam room, a games room, and a very well equipped gym. All sorts of pampering treatments are also available for the ladies. The closest village is Alvor which is a 10 minute walk away, and although full of wonderful local restaurants and bars it does not feel overcrowded or particularly commercialised.

As I mentioned above, this was our first visit to Portugal, it will not be our last and we definitely will be returning to the Pestana Dom Joao. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos a preferência de V. Exa. pelo Pestana D. João II Hotel, bem como a sua disponibilidade em ter preenchido os seus comentários no TripAdvisor.
Ficamos satisfeitos em saber, que os nossos serviços lhe agradaram e que conseguimos corresponder às suas expectativas. Partilhamos os seus comentários com toda a equipa que ficou naturalmente orgulhosa e motivada. Foi para nós muito importante ter partilhado a sua experiência, porque assim permite-nos avaliar os nossos pontos fortes e nível de satisfação, permitindo-nos desta forma manter a qualidade dos nossos serviços.
Na expectativa de uma próxima visita para que lhe possamos oferecer ‘Momentos Memoráveis’, apresentamos os nossos melhores cumprimentos.
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked the Dom Jaoa in Feb 13, as 3 family couples, we chose this hotel due to it not being high rise and its proximity to the beach. Travel Republic took our money freely, then, 2 dats prior to departing we had the dreaded email stating there was no room for us and that we had been moved to the Pestana Delfim. Spent all day on the phone to Travel Republic which culminated in a 'take it or leave it' situation. The Delfim was no good for us as we do not do 'all inclusive' or 'high rise'. I can only describe the Delfim as 'poor' at best, so we pestered the manager everyday to move us to the Dom Jaoa, after 4 days they eventually offered us a 3 bedroom villa, which was actually in worse condition than the Delfim, after much discussion 3 twin rooms became available, so we took those just to get out of the Delfim. Whilst the location and the 4 star standard of the Dom Jaoa is admirable, that's where it unfortunately ends. We paid for B&B, the standard of breakfast is very poor, we have stayed in numerous resorts in Portugal and the food at Pestana Hotels is by far the worse. We only managed to count a maximum of 15 sunshades around the pool, even though there was a pile of sunshades next to the towel hut, when we asked for a brolly the answer was basically 'no, we have no bases' although we where told we could sit under the trees, which is great if you want to be eaten alive! All this when the temp was over 30 everyday. I would never go back to a Pestana hotel again, or book with Travel Republic, we stayed between the 2nd & 13th July 13

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked the Pestana Dom Joao Hotel last December along with16 other family members. Our daughter was getting married in Alvor and this was going to be our base, its location played a big part in our decision, as it is just steps away from the beach. Just two days before we were due to arrive in Alvor we got a call from a representative of Travel Republic to say our hotel (Dom Joao) had overbooked us and we were to be transferred to Delfim Hotel on an all inclusive package. This by all accounts appeared a fantastic offer, however, all inclusive was not going to work for us as we like to eat out.
We tried to negoiate with Travel Republic, but we were given two options, take the Delfim Hotel or your money will be returned to you. With just two days before we travelled we were left with no option but accept the Delfim Hotel as our place of stay. We arrived at the Delfim Hotel, once inside the hotel it became very clear that this hotel was not of 4 star standard. This hotel is up on a hill which proved very difficult for my husband who had had a hip replacement some years previous. On two occasions we took a drink from the drink dispensers in the dining room and on both occasions our cup filled with ants it was disgusting to say the least. When we arrived on June 29th, in our room was a tray of sandwichs, some fruit and a bottle of water. We didnt eat any of the fruit or sandwichs but when we left of July 12th that tray was still sitting with rotten fruit and moulded sandwichs. We requested on numerous occasions that they remove the tray but it never happened. We had a very distressing start to our holiday and more to our horror our guests had to endure the same stress, as they had booked this hotel on our reccommendation. Having spoken with other guests it became very clear that most if not all of the guests that were moved from the Dom Joao had booked through a search engine ie (Travel Republic, Last Check etc.) and those that booked directly with the hotel were not involved in the move. One things for sure we will never stay in a Pestana Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.