We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 summer holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“2013 summer holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel which we have visited many times previously. The hotel was up to it's normal good standard in all areas except for the outdoor pool where standards are definitely slipping.
There were not enough sunbeds initially but these were increased in number while we were there. The main complaint concerned the shortage and quality of the parasols. There were not enough parasols to satisfy everyone who required one, particularly guests with young children who arrived at the pool later when the sun was very hot. Many of the parasols there were damaged at the base having no wheels for moving them and also broken concrete in the base, which was dangerous for guests feet and broken handles.
These are in urgent need of replacement before someone gets injured trying to move them.
Other aspects of the hotel were very good and up to the usual standard.
We enjoyed our holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden or sea view are quieter but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    349
    123
    33
    59
See reviews for
244
419
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great holiday 2nd - 16th June. Upon arrival due to heavy bookings were given room 500 which did not have a balcony. However, after complaining this was quickly changed early the following morning. This was the only blot on what was otherwise a brilliant holiday. Hotel has great pool & is on the beach. Food fine & bar livelier than the Alvor Park where we have stayed the previous two years. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Had an inland facing room. Worth paying for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We all had a great time at pestana in may. We arrived on the 26th later than planned as the airport messed up our transfers. The reception staff were brilliant and served us a meal in the restaurant.

The staff then took us to our villa inthe mini bus.

The villa itself is really a apartment to me. There is a apartment downstairs and one upstairs. That said it wasn't noisy. The rooms were really big, the view from ours was spectacular onto the beach. Number 9. It was clean. There is a little kitchen area with toaster, kettle, hob, oven, washing machine all great.

We went in may and it was just warming up, so too cold for pool and sea. There is plenty for the kids to do thou as it is right on the beach and there are the beautiful caves that get advertised for the algarve to explore.

We would also recommend taking the treasure island trip for the kiddies. We went with alvor boat trips from alvor harbour.

We never walked into alvor, took a taxi for 4euros. It's a nice village, very picturesque but we didn't stay long so can't offer to much of a opinion.

If your planning to walk into alvor, realistically it's about 30 mins on a dusty road.

The food in pestana restaurant was amazing for us. Plenty of choice, meat fish, salads, vegetables, perfect for the kids. The desserts were amazing and again plenty of choice. Same at breakfast, hot and cold choices. For us it was great as it suited the kids, we were half board and definitely got value for money.

The staff were never rude to us, we were polite to them, they were polite with us. We didn't drink lots so couldn't comment on drinks prices.

The indoor pool was fab, especially as we couldn't use the outdoor pools.

The only thing I would suggest to pestana, is perhaps some childrens entertainment earlier in evening.

Al in all in was a great holiday and would defo return.

Room Tip: Number 9 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a family holiday in June 6th for 12days with a two year old and 5yr old. Great hotel rooms nice but would definitely get family room or villa next time. Don't do a shared shuttle from airport as it took us longer than the flight to get to alvor. Pestana dom is a lovely hotel pools lovely grounds lovely kids club great luisa the teacher was lovely and location is excellent right on beach which is absolutely beautiful. The only negative for us was hotel was not one bit buggy friendly and the roads into alvor town on the evenings were v.bad with no footpaths.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a four night stay in this hotel commencing 19 June. We booked as a family of three late last year via Onthebeach.com. Several friends had also booked as we were attending a friend's wedding. When we arrived at the hotel, we found that they had double booked and there was no room for us. We then found out that the same had happened to four friends who had arrived earlier that day and to another 16+ who had arrived the day before! As you can imagine, this was a great disappointment! I really struggle to understand how this can happen in this day and age! We, and some of our friends were fortunate to finally be moved to the Pestana Alvor Praia, which was lovely, but some of our friends were moved elsewhere. I am struggling to say more about this hotel because we didn't actually stay there, but would urge a note of caution to anyone considering staying here in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 15th-21st June 2013. Flew with monarch, paid for transfers and had to wait over an hour for other flights to arrive to fill mini bus! The staff on the transfer desk need customer relation skilks too! Very off hand and then laughing and joking with all the drivers also waiting around do nothing! Very frustrating!! Monarch/cosmos should seriously reconsider.
Hotel very nice, seen reports of rude reception staff. That was not my experience, I found them to be very polite and efficient. Bar staff not so friendly and extortionate prices. Breakfast, not much to say except not the best. Fried eggs well over done, strange looking bacon, toaster very slow, had to put thru several times to brown. Coffee nice.overall a very nice hotel.

Location:- about 10 minute walk to the edge of town. Thought that was it for a couple of days but more to see if you keep to coastal road, you'll eventually find harbour with restaurants/bars then a narrow cobbled street with even more. Don't bother with the 'RESTINGS' bar/cafe on harbour front, asked for a large and small beer, she was very off and said that they didn't do small beers (maybe because we weren't eating there, and not making enuf money from us? Just a thought). I told her to forget it and left. She was a bit gobsmacked to say the least! Obviously everyone else has fallen for it and ordered large. As we walked away I saw people at another table with.....guess what?...... A small beer!!! So be warned.
We went to the bar/cafe next door, no problem.
Restaurants:- never had a bad meal anywhere. Oh except Annies bar all frozen stuff ie pukka pies etc.... had a combo. All that def frozen. All restaurants fairly priced. Try the chinese GRANDE MURALHA. VERYgood value and nice food. We had a meal for 2 plus fries plus a bottle of house wine for 30 euros approx £25!

Beach:- beautiful, but the reason I wouldn't go back to Portugal is the sea. OMG! cold is an understatement! The only way I can describe it is it was like dipping your feet in an ice bucket, I'm not joking! The hotel pool was just as cold! I'm a beach bum and spend all day on it, we didn't hire the beds at 14 euros a day so just put towels on sand but soon found out that you got sand blasted because of the very strong wind which was nice when sun out, but if not it was cold. For me personally that wasn't good. Quite chilly in the evening if windy too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed there for one week. When we got there we had to wait over 4 hours for our hotel room to be ready. There was no tea or coffee making facilities No iron or hairdryer in our room. The pool outside was sea water so a shock when you swollow some. The Germans had a towel on the sun beds and were not sitting on them but at the market. the beach or somewhere else. It really should not be allowed. My advise is to let the reception know as they are very nice. The breakfast was in our deal. The food was beautiful and a choice for everyone. The only thing that was a disapointment was the Tea the water was not hot enought to have a decent cup of tea. Over all it was ok but may not stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room on the odd numbers side and try for the second floor. You should have a nice view. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.