We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach, amazing Alvor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Save Saved
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Alvor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach, amazing Alvor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived late saturday night and the resturant was closed. We were advised by the Reception that we could go ito Alvor Village for food. The Reception called a taxi as we were not so familliar with the locality. The taxi was prompt and we enjoyed an expensive 5 Euro drive which took 2 minutes to the village.
Most of the resturants were closed at 11PM but the bars remained open. We did come across a cafe, we sat and had some food.
We chose to take a taxi back to the hotel as it was late, again an expensive ride for 2 minutes.

The beach is amazing and is only a few metres from the hotel. The beach is very discreet and the walk to the rocks was amazing.
Make sure you go to the rocks, i have some amazing images of the rocks and the sea.
The outdoor pools were not used by anyone and it seemed that they were not cleaned.
The pool size was disappointing and so was the kids pool.
We opted for the indoor pool which was ok but again this area was not managed by the hotel and can get cramped at times.
Breakfast at the hotel was standard and busy. Lunch times and dinner was much quieter.
There was an extensive menu for lunch and dinner was buffet with a bottle of wine.
The menu price is expensive in the hotel along with drinks, possibly why most people were B&B only. A pepsi cost 3 Euros!! Hot chocolate from the Bar was 3 Euros.
Please note for vegatarians, there is not much choice apart from salad.
In my opinion Half board is perfect and full board would be just boring due to the menu on offer.
Beach towels were great, just hand in your token for towels daily.
The excursions on offer from the hotel were not so child or family orientated apart from Zoomarine.
If you want check out some of the stores in the village for more family friendly excursions.
Portimao was a waste of time so dont bother really. Bus ride to Portimao was 1.75 Euro each and takes 20 minutes from outside the hotel.
There is a shopping centre callled Jambo but apart from that thats it.
There is a Supermarket 2 minutes from the Hotel which is ridiculouisly expensive.
Alvor village is very nice to suit all your needs and is only 10 minute walk, there are many gift shops which have great gifts at expensive rates. There is one store which had great handmade soaps etc.For food check out All Bar which has british menu and at a good price. Food is good there also.For kids try the Burger Ranch fast food at the bottom near the roundabout.
Theres also an Indian resturant and a chineese place.
Back to the hotel and theres Live entertaiment every night but not suited to everyones taste!The Hotel staff we friendly and helpfull, room service was great and hygeine standards were excellent.There were many Golfers at the hotel and many elderly couples. There were a few famillies including us but if I was to return I would stay in a moe popular resort like Albuferia.The Hotel and locality is nice and secluded which was amazing and you really avoid the hussle but the kids can get a bit bored.I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing getaway but not for nightlife or fun.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must if you book a room. Do not go for Garden view or Land view rooms. The extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    313
    113
    31
    57
See reviews for
223
381
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alvor, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good 4star hotel. Been coming here for the last 5 years.Very popular with GOLFERS & SKY DIVERS . Some weekends the sky divers are allowed to land on the beach in front of the hotel. I would recomend a room facing the beach . Nice to sit on the balcony with a beer or glass of wine early evening befor hitting the town of ALVOR for an evening meal There are 84 restaurants and snack bars in ALVOR acording to 1 restaurant owner , we have tried most of them.Prices vary if your on a bit of a tight budget avoid the fish restaurants along the harbour.For much better value drive out a few miles from alvor north ,prices can be 30 -50 % cheaper for good portugese fare & more of it but if you dont want to drive then the hotel is only 10-15 mins stroll into town where most of the restaurants are of a good standard. ONE other thing to mention about the hotel ,if it happens to be your birthday whilst your staying there they always put a bottle of champers in your room ,this year i also got a chocolate cake ,nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed in hotel in March. Staff as friendly and helpful as always.lPerfect location by the beach and walking distance to Alvor. Rooms have been re-furbished to high standard. Overall experience,brilliant. Hated to leave.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Decent refurbished villa , 2 minutes from the beach, the rooms were ok for a family of four.
Nice fitted kitchen with breakfast bar - local shops 2 minutes away for provisions.
2 air con units , shower , bath , English tv also .
The bar was expensive - 5 euro for a medium size larger !
The indoor pool was a godsend for the kids on the rainy days
Taxi rank outside to take you into town or a 15 minute walk
Overall a nice resort

Room Tip: If getting a villa choose a first floor one as you can hear a lot of moment when on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I brought a group of 16 golfers in March and they all enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. There had been a slight confusion about the booking but the receptionist sorted the problem in a very courteous and efficient manner.

Breakfast buffet was very good with a great variety of continental and cooked fare on offer. Some people were disappointed that bacon and beans were only available every second day but most people were more than happy with the other food (cereal, fruit, cold meat, cheese, juices, eggs, mushrooms, yoghurt, bread, rolls, etc).

The rooms are a bit on the small side but are very comfortable and are cleaned every day - excellent service here and very clean. There is a charge on using the safe which is disappointing.

Alvor town is only 10 minutes walk away but it is a bit lonely at night. Best to use a taxi after dark for about 4 euros.

Try the boardwalk at least one day - it's well worth it.

Room Tip: The 2 lifts are very slow. Get a room on a lower floor if you don't like waiting for a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week holiday in Alvor. This was our second visit to this lovely resort, but our first time at the Pestana. We had a terrible flight from Leeds with 8 hour delays due to the snow so felt very tired on arrival at the hotel. I had booked a superior room with sea view with Jet2holiday paying extra for the room as a birthday treat. Our initial feelings on entering our room were disappointment with both the room and balcony so we returned to reception to question the room grade. We were told that all rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are superior. I still think the rooms lack what I would describe as a superior quality.

The hotel itself is as other reviewers have stated in a great location for the beach but the surrounding area is not very pleasant. The hotel grounds are very well kept and the outdoor pools look very good though it was too cold for sunbathing on this occasion.

We were booked on a bed and breakfast basis and again both me and my husband were disappointed. We actually have exact opposite tastes. My husband is happy with boiled eggs and toast but as a treat likes a bit of a fry-up. Again as over reviewers have mentioned the bacon and sausages were pretty bad and my husband found the beans very salty. I generally love breakfasts when travelling on the continent being partial to danish pastries or cake. Sadly here there were only croissants which were a bit dry on the 2 days I tried them. There was cake available on 5 of the 7 days which was very good.

Another problem I found with the breakfast was having to use the drinks machine to get hot water for tea. We both like cammomile tea which has a very delicate flavour so its not very good when drops of coffee cotaminate it from the drinks machine. In other similar hotels I have found hot water separate and tea pots available which would probabaly save money on the amount of tea bags used. I know it sounds fussy but this hotel is classed as 4 stars. However dinning room staff were very efficient at clearing tables, very friendly and a definite plus to the hotel as was the excellent maid service

My final request to this hotel would to supply a complimentary bottle of water in rooms for new arrivals. It would have been very much appreciated in our case.

Overall a good hotel, fantastic beach walks and great restaurants in the centre of Alvor especially the Fishermans rest which was our favourite

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview but don't pay for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

what can i say having just returned from this brilliant hotel amzing sea view try to get the third floor up for best views and request a sea view well worth the little extra money
we had room 301a which had the most amazing shower huge and a massive bed the breakfast were amazing whith the usual choices of continrntal etc and the evening meals were good although at 22euros you can find nicer foor in the old town although i can not fault this hotel in any way the staff were always polite and helpfull

Room Tip: 3rd floor plus request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.