We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING VIEWS OF THE ATLANTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“AMAZING VIEWS OF THE ATLANTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here a few nights during our bus tour of Portugal. Literally right on the beach. Beautiful, clean, modern rooms. Nice little balconies to sit out on and enjoy the view and weather. Breakfast buffet was great. Did not stay for lunch or dinner, so I can't comment.
Grounds are beautifully maintained. Beach access was easy. We were on the third floor and had amazing views. Obviously 4th and 5th floors would be the same. Be careful if you are on 1st or 2nd floors. They have a roof over the veranda which may partially block ocean views.

Room Tip: be careful about floors 1 and 2; views may be partially blocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    349
    123
    33
    59
See reviews for
244
419
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

myself and 20 mates spent 3 nights at the pestana dom joao ii for a 50th birthday golfing trip. what can i say great hotel, service was spot on and the staff were exeptional. booking in took 10 mins for all 21 of us. rooms were clean and tidy ( blind from the bedroom to the bathroom was a bit bizarre) all in all i would highly rate this hotel and intend to return with my wife later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love this hotel have stayed here twice now, went for the sea view the second time and was well worth the extra money. The buffet breakfast has everything you could want and lunch out on the deck was delightful. Dinner looked a little pricie so walked into town for ours and there are great restaurants there so would defo recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A good hotel for the budget and only petty annoyances really as below.
Good points -
Great Hotel,
Nice staff
Great indoor Pool
Rooms are very stylish and nicely kept.
Even got a bottle of bubbly in our room for my partners' birthday.
Seaview rooms are great.
Bad points -
Breakfast had little choice, bacon or 'cooked ham' (Cheap sandwich ham), was very poor. We ate 'Veggie' all week.
No kettle in room. 4*?
Gym had only 4light bulbs out of 40 working and half the gear was unusable. No wipe down cloths/cleaning fluid, no heat/cooling controls. (Though the treadmills/Bikes were good).
Steam room was rarely on. (on request but no-one to ask unless you went to main reception in your swimwear)
We booked a Seaview room and they tried to palm us off with a side view; they moved us but only after we stood our ground.

Room Tip: 'Garden view' is carpark Seaview is great but some are restricted Partial Seaview is decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for one week 9th march on a golfing trip.Found the hotel to be a good standard.Typ[cal reception, ,the rooms are good plenty storage space with fridge and safe in the clothes wardrobe.there is no kettle in the room.The bathroom was good with proper shower head inside the bath and Perspex screen There is also a glass screen between the bathroom and bedroom so you can see from the bathroom to bedroom so you can see the television or whatever ,you can pull a blind down in the bedroom to make it private both way's. The beds I found to be comfortable.You can walk out the back of the hotel past the swimming pool and straight onto the beach.It was a 10minute walk into Alvor shops and restuarants . Taxis are available at the front of the hotel if you prefer not to walk.There were also a lot of skydivers in the hotel as a small airfield is close bye.The breakfast had somethimg for everyone a choice of a hot or cold breakfast the breakfasts were busy sometimes hard to find an empty clean table as staff were a bit slow to clear away dirty dishes from tables I would use this hotel again

Room Tip: It would not take any more than 10 mins to walk into town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A golfing week organised by Fairway Holidays with accommodation at the Dom Joao II. I went with four girl friends, handicaps ranging from 20 to 36 and we had a most wonderful week.
The hotel was thriving with people of all nationalities and yet ran with perfect precision. The staff in the Restaurant were very smart, industrious and obliging and the cleanliness throughout the hotel was exceptionally good.
Might I say Fairway Golf Holidays looked after us admirably. They organised absolutely everything, we didn't have to worry about a thing. We played some wonderful courses with fellow golfers (thirty-four in all) and it really was a week full of happy memories to bring home.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, Warks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the Pestano Dom Joao in Alvor during half term week in February. We had been to a number of hotels around the Albufeira and fancied a change, we were definitely not disappointed with either Alvor or this hotel.
It is a little further down the coast from Faro than Albufeira, so a taxi may suit you better than a mini-bus. We arrived quite early (11.30’ish) due to an early flight time but found that on check the room had just been finished, so check in was very quick and efficient. The receptionist explained to my daughter about the wi-fi and how/where it worked. She was pleasantly surprised that it worked in most areas downstairs and around the grounds, pool and even the beach bar.
The room was very clean and modern, good quality bath/shower, we had 2 large singles put together which made a very large comfortable bed. The daughter had a smaller settee bed, but it was large and comfortable. We elected not to pay extra for a sea view room, but there were spectacular views from the glass fronted area on each floor outside the lifts where there were tables and chairs for you to enjoy a drink and enjoy the truly fabulous view of Alvor beach.
We had booked B&B and were pleased with the quality and variety of the food, good coffee, juice and the selection of breads. So as far as the hotel goes, it ticked all the boxes and we found it very good value paying less than £260 for the 3 of us for 8 nights (Travel Republic).
After settling in we decided to explore the town, it is around a 10 minute walk in to Alvor town, along a quiet but well lit road. The main part of the town is initially difficult to navigate as it is a bit of a rabbit warren with many small roads leading out as you go up the hill, but it is an old town and very pretty in places. There are many places to pick up a free map, do so as early as possible to get your bearings, it will really help and it picks out many restaurants and bars. There is a reasonable sized supermarket in the town centre with a reasonable selection of everything you need.

Places we enjoyed to go to for either food or drink are ;–
The Crow’s Nest -Owned by a nice English couple with homemade reasonably priced food and drink – 1 Euro a bottled beer, 6 Euro a bottle of Mateus Rose, Chicken and Mushroom Pie 7.95 Euro’s.
The Panda Bar – Owned by a lovely Portuguese couple, traditional food and décor, good value – they do a daily set menu for 7.5 Euro for 3 courses and a coffee – great value.
The Cellar Bar – Owned by English people I believe, more of a British themed bar here, good for sport with large screens and also a downstairs pool table.
The beaches are fantastic, with a massive expanse at the back of the hotel, to the right it seems to go on for miles, to the left after a small walk, there are a number of small coves with typical Algarve rocks and cliffs creating them, really stunning and this time of the year you can probably find your very own. The weather was generally good, sunbathing by the pool a number of days, having a good wander around Alvor and Portimao on cloudier days, the Mrs even found a Primark in Portimao.

Overall we had a very nice break and would highly recommend the hotel and indeed Alvor.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view - 5th floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.