We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food,+ presentation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Dom Joao II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food,+ presentation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed and used this hotel many times over the passed 20 years, the last time was about 4years ago.

i know that the hotel and its rooms were revamped a few years ago as they were getting a bit tired
that in its self made a wonderful change to a brilliant hotel.The grounds beach,pool aera could not be better.

My only concern was the range of food. very poorly presented for dinner and breakfast,had to as the staff and them wait for the trays to be refilled, this should not happen. It was as if the chief had just been there for too long and had been allowad to get away with just about anything. ( this now may have change ) It would not make me stop using the DO JOAN11 BUT IF IT WAS I WOULD PROBABLY JUST GO BED & BREAKFAST.Still a gret place to stay for week or more.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the beach and pool as it could not be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    348
    123
    33
    59
See reviews for
244
419
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We've been to Alvor twice before (unusual for us to go back to the same place more than once!) but it's a great for an out of season break. Previously we've rented an apartment but found that staying B&B at the Dom Joao this time was a cheaper option (£15 per person per night & you can't go wrong - thanks to Lowcostholidays.com). Weather was a bit mixed but even so it was a very pleasant week.

As far the hotel is concerned there was the usual fare for breakfast, completely fine, and frequently replenished. We ate out every evening in Alvor itself so couldn't comment on the Dinner menu. Plenty of facilities including a small, but well-equipped gym. Indoor pool was very pleasant and warm with a good sized steam room. There weren't any changing rooms as such though so probably best to towel dry from the pool before heading back to the room. There were a couple of showers but no lockers, etc. The room was very nice and had a good bathroom with very effective shower! Athough we hung our towels up to be used again they seem to be replaced every day anyway. All the communal areas were kept extremely clean and tidy.

Would thoroughly recommend Alvor as a lovely place to stay with a wonderful beach. If you can get as good a deal as we did for the Dom Joao then snap it up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights mid November. We didn't pay for sea view but had a lovely comfortable room overlooking the car park ! Since it was November, we knew we wouldn't be sitting on the balcony, so it didn't matter, but if you are planning a trip in the summer, I'd recommend paying the extra for a beautiful sea view.
Breakfast was plentiful with more than enough variety. The room itself had very comfy beds and there was even a sofa in the room ! The shower was the BEST we've ever had with a huge shower head! The bathroom was very modern and the attention to detail was a treat, little things like the way the face cloth was folded, box of tissues, plenty of fresh white towels!
There are no hairdryers in the bathrooms, but you can borrow one from reception.

They also provide towels for the beach or for using in the indoor pool. The indoor pool was like stepping into a warm bath, which was great in November !
Wifi is free in the bar & lounge areas. You simply get a ticket with the codes for that day and use it as much as you like. Each day, get a new code from reception.
This is because the bar and lounge are open to non guests, and obviously they are not going to provide free wifi for anyone just strolling into the hotel. There are also two pcs provided free of charge if you don't want to take your laptop or ipad.

The beach is the best we've ever seen and less than a minutes walk away.Its miles of pure golden sand.
Alvor is not hilly like a lot of resorts on the Algarve so ideal for older people or anyone who has difficulty walking.
The town itself is very pretty, plenty of places to eat, and so relaxing just to sit by the harbour with a coffee watching the local fishermen. A lot of the restaurants were closed in the evening due to the season, but plenty were open during the day.

We are going to be booking for September as this hotel & the location has everything we need for a perfect holiday !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here last week in october and would rate this hotel as a good 3* not 4*.
Rooms were fine,particularly the large shower heads.
Staff were very friendly and obliging.Lovely gardens to relax in if you have the weather,
which was a bit mixed when we were there.
As advised by previous reviewers we booked B&B witch was the right choice as the
breakfast was fine,all the usual hot & cold food,but several people told us they tried
the evening meal ( 12 euros/22 with half bottle of wine ) and found the food was warm
rather than hot.The town is about 10 mins walk away with plenty of reasonably priced
restaurants there.Would i stop here again yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Last week I stayed for one night in this hotel. My room was excellent! Modern interior very good bed an also quiet at night, which is very important to me.
Very friendly staff at check in and check out. Very tasty food at the beach near the hotel; 20% discount even, because of being a hotel guest.
When ever I come back in this area, I will certainly come back here, because it flt like being at home.

Room Tip: Wake up in a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I take a party of 8 golfers to portugal every year in November, and we always stay with Pestana at the excellent Dom Joao 2 Hotel in Alvor. We have been going back now for 8 consecutive years and would not dream of going anywhere else. The Hotel has everything we need, brilliant staff who go the extra mile to make sure absolutely everything is perfect ( the Hotel bar staff can sometimes get a bit overwhelmed ! ) and the location is great - just 10 minutes stroll from the centre of Alvor. The golfing side of our package is run with military precision with the transfer bus always bang on time to get us to the courses. Strongly recommend the Pestana Group as an easy and efficient, professional organisation to deal with and the Hotel Dom Joao 2 in particular.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brilliant as the Hotel is virtually on the beach !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I took a 11 day trip with my mom in the fall of 2012 to Portugal with Collette vacations. This was our second hotel we stayed at. It was such a beautiful beach hotel that I wish we would have had an extra day or two here.
The hotel itself is nice. The rooms were comfortable, a little small but we weren't in them much of the time anyway. The views of the ocean are so nice, we had a nice balcony.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and the coffee too. There is outdoor seating also. There is a little outdoor bar by the pool which is a great place to relax. Plus on the beach there is another little bar.
The beach is so pretty with beautiful rock formations just a 5 minute walk south on the beach. The gate does get locked pretty early here so you cannot walk on the beach at night.
The town is about a 10 minute walk away. It has some nice restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.