We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow Alvor Hotel, Algarve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Alvor Garden

Save Saved
You added Yellow Alvor Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yellow Alvor Hotel, Algarve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

All in all we found this a delightful hotel. The staff were friendly and rooms were comfortable and clean. A very good entertainment package with Xerca and Xico. The surrounds (including pool for children, outdoor swimming pool and indoor pool are lovely and well kept. This is my second stay here and I would gladly return.

Room Tip: Request an even number room if you would like a balcony overlooking the pool are (recommended).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    99
    48
    33
See reviews for
94
184
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hmmmm....mixed reviews meant my sister and I didn't expect much but....this was a 'bargain' deal so we gave it a chance and were pleasantly surprised ! Our room was spotless and comfortable, towels changed daily, lovely staff throughout, carpets were washed during our stay....only comment really was that the doors and paintwork, whilst clean to the touch, badly need repainting ! Lot of old nicotine staining I think ! The reception, lounge, bar and restaurant areas look new and were great. Breakfast was fine...I don't know what people expect from a typical resort hotel at the lower end of the price scale. There was fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices, tea/coffee machines, good range of cold cheeses and meats, jams etc, bacon, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, sausages and beans, toast machine, rolls, breads and croissants.... The pool area and grounds are lovely and the hotel, whilst a good 15 minute walk from centre of Alvor, is in a quiet and pleasant area....We would stay there again. Yes, we had a few tiny ants in the bathroom, but we asked reception to deal with it and they did. Didn't see another ant during our stay. I would say 3 stars is more accurate than 4, but this is the norm really for holiday hotels in this price range. I must emphasise the lovely staff...we got back very late one night desperate for a cuppa, bar was closed but they made us a pot of tea to take up to our room....

Room Tip: ask for a 2nd floor room facing the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dronfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived tired & hot and for the first time in many years we were not given the room we had requested on the 2nd floor when we booked in February We were told to look at the room we had been allocated. Well we did. As many of you have mentioned before, the two lower floors seem to be plagued by ants and this room was no different. There were ants everywhere, bathroom, bedroom,and even on the balcony. We complained about this situation and the lady on reception said she would send the cleaners up immediately. They were there within a few minutes and dutifully mopped around all the infested edges with water/disinfectant. Unfortunately this does not get rid of ants and we went back to reception to say we were not happy with the situation.
We were lucky to encounter the senior receptionist/manager whom we have known for quite a few years. Without much ado or drama he upgraded us to a Junior Suite which was only 2 doors away from our original requested room. By the time we arrived at the suite a cleaner was already cleaning and mopping as she said that the room had not been used for several days and was a little dusty. She also fitted the soft mattresses we had requested on our original booking. The suite was an improvement on the standard room with extra space, coffee table and a sofa bed, but would not warrant the normal extra cost.
And now for Breakfast............maybe we could be more forgiving had we not just spent 5 days in Obidos (1 hour north of Lisbon) where the continental breakfast at our B & B was of superb quality with everything fresh each morning.
The choices for breakfast at the Yellow are the same as they were 9 years ago and the scrambled eggs seem to have been reheated times many from back then. They are pretty disgusting, as is the so called bacon and sausage.
We have put up with these faults over the last few years because we love the place as a whole, especially the pool and grounds, but watching things go from ok to bad to worse is not pleasant and sadly I think this year could have been our last visit to the Yellow unless we read/hear that money has been spent on the place.
We didn't let all this spoil our stay in Alvor and all in all had a good holiday.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with garden/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Worst hotel ever.
Breakfast very poor.
Beds only fit for skip.
All furniture poolside and patio worn out.
Floor covering worn out, windows broken and did not lock.
Only good thing was the air conditioning
Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is rated 4 star which it certainly isn't. The hotel needs a big overhaul,very dated and the carpets in the corridors are badly stained. The bedrooms were kept very clean but beds and furniture very old and worn. The gardens were beautiful around the pool area and very well maintained We were very glad we had booked bed and breakfast as food was not good.Lots of lovely restaurants in village and Alvor is a lovely place. We will visit Alvor again but definitely not the Yellow Alvor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My stay at the Yellow Alvor Gardens was very good. Reception area & bar area were clean and well kept. Buffet style breakfast was good. Outside Pool and gardens were well maintained and it was a lovely quiet and peaceful area. There was plenty of sun loungers. Room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels & sheets supplied. Only fault was our room was a bit on the shabby side. It needed a fresh coat of paint. But overall I was very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

OK, it's not the absolute worst dump .... but (a) The food is terrible (b) Some of the staff are downright rude (c) Ants in the room, so you cant have any food/fruit there or they find it (d) It's location (e) Indoor pool surround glass is literally falling to pieces and the showers are cold. (e) Only will give out 1 key per room

If you're staying in Alvor, just don't stay here ....pick somewhere else, there's plenty other options.

It's not a 4 star but any standards .... maybe just about a 3 star, maybe.

It's a hotel that probably was very nice 20 years ago, but clearly has no money now for maintenance or upgrade.

Alvor is a great village, but this hotel is not !

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid the ants and overlooking the pool/garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Address: Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Alvor Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.