We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't agree with previous review...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Alvor Garden

Save Saved
You added Yellow Alvor Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't agree with previous review...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 4th-11th September. We were given the room on top floor (as requested at the time of booking) but unfortunately pool view were all booked at the time, so got a room facing the car park. We haven't noticed the noise from outside as described by some reviewers? The hotel looks exactly as it does on the photos both inside and outside, so can't understand why people complaint about that. I think the rooms weren't at all as dated as some make it out to be. There is a wooden floor in the room which is a good start. Beds comfortable with extra pillows and blankets (not that we needed them) in the wardrobe. Towels changed everyday and cleaned (including the balcony). Reception staff very friendly.

The garden/pool area clean and well looked after the depth markings are present (somebody said they coudn't see them in previous review). Was never short of sun loungers.

The only reason I gave this hotel an Average rating is because of very poor breakfast variety (or even lack of variety). Everyday the same things:
Bacon, Scrambled Eggs, Frankfurtes/Chorizo Sausage, Beans, Mushrooms, Bread (white/brown) cob, croissants, sweet buns, milk, cereal, cheese, ham and believe it or not but in the country where 2,5kg bag of oranges costs 2 euros (!) they were serving tinned fruits (sometimes bananas). The food was always fresh though.
As for the previews review where somebody stated they had to pay 2 euro per mug of coffee - we drank coffee every morning and never had to pay for it, so don't know where that came from (we were also B&B) There was a machine for coffee, cappucino etc... was quite surprised there wasn't even sliced tomato...

If they improve their food selection it'd definitely be a very good hotel to visit.


Also no ants in the room but maybe that's because we were on top floor ?? don't know.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    112
    95
    45
    27
See reviews for
89
177
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed.
Breakfast was included after the second morning we just could'nt face it, the fruit was tinned except one morning they had kiwi (one could'nt get the spoon into them they were that hard) the bread was stale, it got worse- my husband never eats breakfast however he loves a cup or two of coffee (just plan coffee) not much to ask you think!! well not so the hotel policy, coffee is not included in the breakfast, no you have to ask the staff to make your black coffee and for that privalge you pay €2 not for a mug just a small cup.

There are two bars's one in the lobby and one at the pool, the poor bloke that works the pool bar also has to work the bar next to the hotel lobby no easy task as there is quite a distance between the two. After the long walk from the village of Alvor to the hotel we decided to have a drink at the pool bar after a ten minute wait the bar man appeared back, after having to go to the hotel kitchen for orders requested from people at the pool (one would think that management would have an efficent service) that orders could be phoned across to the kitcthen!!!!! so the next time we thought we would try the other bar- yes twenty minutes later we were still waiting for the bar man that never appeared, when we complained to the management we got no satisfaction what so ever.

The inside of the hotel is dirty and shabby, the cleaners go into the rooms everyday but they do not clean other then leave clean towels.

Take advice do yourself a favour do not stay in this hotel, the only positive the lady on reception was very pleasant and helpful we got clean towels everyday.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days in early September, booked the hotel on a last minute deal and only then read the reviews and tried to cancel but couldn't with out losing a lot of money so wasn't expecting a good stay.

Granted it is not 4 star 3 maybe, the room was clean the hotel its self needs a bit of TLC but the staff were friendly and quite helpful. We had the B & B option and yes the scrambled eggs are sweet and grainy everything else was very edible.

It is a good 20 minute walk or a 5 euro taxi ride to the centre of Alvor if you don't have a car and the route is a bit hilly for anyone who is not used to walking. There are a couple of good restaurants within a 10 minute walk that we found were very reasonably priced (bottle house white wine 5.95 euros and tasted great).

Try to get a pool/garden view room as the other rooms face the car park and can be a bit noisy in the mornings if you like to sleep late. Overall we weren't to disappointed with this hotel just wish it had been nearer to the centre. considering the previous reviews I was pleasantly surprised,

We weren't interested in using any of the facilities pool/gym etc. so cant comment on those aspects of the hotel

Definitely not a 4 star but you pay for what you get as this was a cheap deal

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from this hotel the 2nd year in a row. Loved it last time when we went as a couple so this year we took our 3 grown up kids - 17,21 & 23 and we all had a really great time. Weather was amazing - in the 80s. The hotel is probably a 3 star really but still very nice all the same. Rooms are nice enough and very clean. The pool is fab - nice and relaxing with just families and children around etc - no music booming and animation teams bothering you. There is a pool side bar which plays low key music and sells snacks also and a smaller children's pool. Of an evening from 9pm until 12 there is a duo on most nights in the lounge - Xica and Xico (Chica and Chico to us). Really good to just listen to while having a fabulous cocktail from the lounge bar or even a lovely hot chocolate - which was fab.
Alvor itself is about a 15-20 minute walk or about 5 Euro in a cab - reception will phone for you. Lots of lovely restaurants in town - Georgettes is really nice and also Carvella (or spelt something like that). These 2 restaurants are a bit pricier than the others but if you're after a really special meal would say go here . Couple of Italian and Steak houses which we visited also. Didn't have one bad meal the whole holiday. The little square in the centre of town is great for lunches of a day (toasties, burgers, salads etc) and also jugs of Sangria - 10 Euro - really lovely with lots of fruit in. They do a white sangria too which is really good. for the evening Maurisco cocktail bar and Puros cocktail bar are on the little street walking down towards the harbour - cocktails are really great. 450 E in Puros and a bit pricier in Maurisco at 7 E but what a fab bar - it's like stepping into Morrocco. Couple of Irish bars and couple of sports bars as well as others. generally just plenty of places to eat and drink. Lots of seafood restaurants at the harbour - fabulous!
I would definitely recommend Alvor Boat Trips for the sunset cruise. you can book this along the harbour - 30 E each for adults and 15 E for children and champagne, soft drinks and canapes are included in the price. There were 5 of us and by the end of the cruise (2 1/2 hours) we'd had 5 bottles of champagne! another bottle kept appearing in our ice bucket :) You get picked up at the hotel for that price also. We were very tipsy by the time we got off the boat!
So all in all hotel is good, breakfast nice enough (we enjoyed it) but wouldnt fancy having other meals there really as there are too many great restaurants near by. And make sure you request a garden or pool view. My 21 year old daughter was given a room at the front of the hotel when we first arrived and her balcony was looking right at another hotel's pool, on the same level, where there were lots of people and loud dance music playing right on level with her balcony and only a stones throw away. we asked at reception if she could move and she was moved the next day. She was moved to the adjoining room to her brothers which was great. The reception staff were very helpful. if you're overlooking the garden and pool it is so tranquil and lovely.
Beach is really great too. Such a lovely beach. quite a walk if you decide to walk it but as my daughter had hurt her ankle we jumped a cab from hotel which only cost about 7 E. There is a supermarket (Pingu) about 10 mins from the hotel where you can but lots to make a nice picnic at a really cheap price or there is a restaurant at start of the beach (Duros I think it was called). This was a pricey lunch but omg the food was sooo tasty - if you like prawns try the prawn and peach and chilli wrap - fabulous! sells nice ice cold beer too if you need a break from the sun.
So all in all really fantastic holiday. Hotel in good location and nice and clean, pool great, hotel bar cocktails amazing, breakfast nice enough (comparible to most hotels abroad),staff helpful too.
Would highly recommend and will return next year.
Hope this helps you :) x

Room Tip: Definitely request a garden or pool view. This is a must with this hotel and will make your stay so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

On arrival, no soap or towels, which Receptionist sorted, but what she did not sort was that the bed linen that was not changed at all in the week we were there. The bathroom had loads of ants in that they did nothing about. We asked to move rooms, and she just shrugged her shoulders as if to say, not my problem!! The ants were all over the bath, floor and basin, hence all over out toothbruses and personal items. Rooms smelled "old" and they are not "spacious and modern" at all. They are dated and you can only just squeeze past the end of the bed and the dressing table against the wall. The balcony furniture was disgraceful, as was the glass surrounding the indoor pool. I have photos of all. This is probably a 3 star, at best. do not go here!!!!

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

unfriendly staff
dirty pool
food selection and quality very poor
no markings of depth around pool
balcony door onto street (ground floor room) left unlocked by housemaids on 3 occassions in 7 days
gym was an absolute joke with a total of only 4 machines and 2 were broken not even 1 treadmill in there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. On arrival very disapointed at the rooms. The hotel is like an 1980's decor inspired hotel. Quite shabby and needs updating. Seats very dirty in the bar area. The very small room with tiny balcony (as our most of the rooms) was overylooking the pool area . The air conditioning did not work so had to keep our door open all night as room got too hot at night. Cot bed for my child she could not sleep on was rock hard. The TV was arcaic and did not work spoke to other guests and they seem to have the same problem with Air Con and TV. The whole hotel except for outdoor area needs updating and layout takes some getting used to. Breakfast consisted of scambled egss that were sweet and grainy and other cooked foods all bland and tasted the same. Breads and croissants of very poor standard. Stuck with toast and processed cheese each morning with fruit. Thank God I was not all inclusive. No entertainment for kids. Anyway when we got to pool area it redeemed itself a bit as the pool area is just lovely with large pool and childrens pool. Lovely grounds and kept immaculate. Bar Staff at the pool snack bar were lovely and smiley and always happy and very helpful Paul and John and played very good backround music so very easy and enjoyable to spend the day here and pool area stays open quite late and use indoor rooms for sleeping in and changing and out as quick as possible. Location good near to town and 2 lovely restaurants that we stopped off in regularly for drinks and bite to eat were Flor de Mar and Panda (which are right next to each other) which were lovely and food and drink excellent and very cheap and very professional. Al Capone restaurant is also nice restaurant near to the Yellow Alvor for homemade pasta and pizza .

Overall we had a good holiday. Hotel is more 2/3 star with 4 star pool area. Get the impression not much money so same staff seem to work day and night. Would only stay there again if I got a really cheap deal but definately not all inclusive. .

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and garden area and on the 2nd floor as there are a lot of ants on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Address: Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Alvor Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.