We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, lovely food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Navegador

Restaurante Navegador
Zona Ribeirinha, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
282412375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant opened in September 2011. We offer the tastes of the Algarve, fish, seafood and meat. Entertainment is usual each evening in the summer, and on selected nights during the winter and early spring. We have a wonderful view of the harbour whether you dine upstairs or downstairs. Visit us for a leisurely drink. If you would like a function we can seat more then 200 guests. Find more information on our web-site.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning views, lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Got back from Alvor 13th August, and this was one of our favourite places to eat. Stumbled upon it, had the best Cataplana on our first visit, of the whole of our stay. The view was breathtaking when the sun went down, and, although busy, didn't have the same "rammed" feeling as other restaurants like Fishermans Rest etc. Our boy loved his Golden Bream, and we equally enjoyed the lamb we had on our second visit. All in all, good value, the view alone when the sun sets is worth the cost of the bill (which was reasonable by the way).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. You must have been to Portugal before with your knowledge of the cataplanas. We hope you'll return again sometime. Hope the weather is good at home for you.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having just returned from a week in Alvor, both my wife and I rated this restaurant as the best we visited, we ate there three times in our week. I had a varied selection of dishes, Monk fish Kebab, Steak on a stone and Mixed meat kebab, all were fantastic, coupled with excellent service and suggestions. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review Anthony (?). You first two choices were the same as my favourites. I help out with the Navegador's responses. We all hope you will visit Alvôr and, and us again sometime, and thank you for mentioning our service.


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit this restaurant. The food was great, the service was good and the staff very patient with my demanding children. I would also to say how great the waitress was when my son walked into a glass window and banged his head!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Claire, and for the mention of our staff. July and can stretch them a little, but they always try their best. Hope the rest of your holiday will prepare you for the winter and maybe we'll see you again sometime.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a good meal here and the service was excellent, on arrival in Alvor, and decided to return later in the week. We booked for our party of 7 a few nights later, and told the waiter we would like to have sea bass. On our return, we were told that we would need 2 fish, and took their advice, and accepted. When the bill arrived they had charged us 120 euros just for the fish!! (and it was very ordinary) Also the service that night was nowhere near as good as before.
The icing on the cake was when we left, and the head waiter thanked us for coming, and added we had paid his staffs wages for the night. As regular visitors to Alvor, along with family and friends we will never go here again, and will be advising everyone we know not to either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I apologise for taking so long to reply to your review, but I wanted to confirm with Paulo (the manager, and check a few details).

The price you paid for the main course included the vegetables/salad etc that each person requested. The average price for similar main dishes at other restaurants in Alvor range up to €20 or more, and so the price at O Navegador was competively priced, but the quality and service should have been equal to your previous visits, I hope you mentioned this to Paulo.

I think that your reaction to this meal was a little harsh, but that is your right.

I hope that your future visits to Alvor will include meals more to your requirements. Please ensure that the prices you pay are compared with those offered at O Navegador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great restaurant and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The restaurant is situated a few steps from the sea and is a great place to see the sun setting. The food was of a very good quality, large portioned and very reasonably priced. The staff were very attentive and the place is worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Rosemary you are the second visitor today to give our staff a mention.
Have a good summer, and we hope to see you again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Navegador also viewed

Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Restaurante Navegador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Navegador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.