We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best pub in alvor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crows Nest

Crows Nest
Rua 25 De Abril No. 14, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
282046409
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gordon and Lisa offer a real local pub atmosphere with pub food to match.Small and friendly with many regular customers. Quality home cooked food and great drinks and atmosphere.
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the best pub in alvor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

the crows nest has a friendly atmosphere and a warm welcome from lisa and gordan .and from the pies ; sunday dinners ;and the desserts theres notting better in alvor,we highly recommened to everyone we meet its value for money and excellent service , we go to alvor twice a year and every time we head back to the crows nest
sarah gerry dublin

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally & Utterly Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's like Russian Roulette visiting this pub - welcome or unwelcome!! You can't even judge it by a particular day or different time of day - it's just totally random! Sorry, but there are far too many bars in Alvor to waste my time with moody hosts! I've spoken to several other holidaymakers who have also independently come to the same conclusion. Would recommend giving it a swerve! Sorry it's not more positive folks but this pub is not a true reflection of the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at other bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere and super size portions of good English home cooked food unfortunately didn't have room for dessert. Cater to suit all of the family and will tailor menu to your requirements. Highly recommended will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great value and welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having booked into a halfboard apartment and found the food appalling we had a look around alvor and found the CROWS NEST with a warm welcome from Gordon and Lisa. We ordered our food and it was absolutely gorgeous, with a selection of home made pies, freshly cooked meals, desserts to die for could not fault the service or the meals. We decided to go back night after night and got spoilt rotten the atmosphere was absolutely warm and friendly. Nothing was to much for the hosts, even when they had a party of 14 in for one night.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PUB/RESTAURANT FOR GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY AND EXCELLENT SERVICE. Will be eating here again when we return!!!!!!!!!!!!
Karen and Neil.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It's pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very friendly staff, made to feel welcome, basic pub grub, tasty enough, good night is Friday quiz night

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crows Nest also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Crows Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crows Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.