We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are fab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Save Saved
You added Pestana Alvor Praia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Views are fab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Alvor Praia is in a quiet location about 25min walk from Alvor centre. Its on a lovely part of the beach, if you turn left on the beach there are a couple of very pretty bays both with good restaurants on them. We had a superior sea view room and it was worth the extra with beautiful views from a large balcony. Stayed b&b as there are lots of restaurants on the beach and only ate in Alvor once. The room was very big on top floor, a little tired in places but very clean. Take a travel kettle if you like a morning brew as none in room and room service is 5 euros a time! Beach towels are provided and hotel sunbeds are free. Breakfast is a good variety but was very busy if you were after 9 when we were there. Atlandido restaurant at right of hotel on beach is very good for lunch or evening meal (when they flambé steaks /strawberries)yum.

Room Tip: sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    63
    23
    18
See reviews for
115
274
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in September 2013. Could not fault the hotel, the service was excellent, brilliant choice of food in the restaurant and rooms were clean and modern. However we were told not to walk into alvor village in the night time as the path is poorly lit. There are no shops or bars around the hotel and alvor village is a good 30-40min walk. The entertainment in the hotel left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two weeks holiday. It's worth becoming a member of the 'Pestana Priority Guest club', as the drinks are very expensive & this gives you a discount. A very comfortable hotel. Worth paying the extra for a Superior Sea View Room! Tired in places. New towels needed for the Bathrooms for instance; ours were always replaced twice a day, but they need demoting to poolside towels! Also good idea to have just the B & B package, as the buffet each night could become boring. The breakfast buffet was good and well cooked. There are lots of restaurants in the town of Alvor worth trying. We ate at the 'Atlantida', which is on the beach, just beneath the hotel. Amazing food, wine and great service! The pool is salt water filled and we were pleased we swam in it in September, as it was quite chilly, so earlier in the season, might have been too cold for comfort! The beach area that the hotel has, is nice, easily reached by a lift from the poolside. We will go again to this hotel, where we were made to feel welcome! Not overpriced, but we paid enough. Pestana need to upgrade the older rooms to compete and stay ahead of other hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors have magnificent views from the seaview rooms. Lower than level 4 would struggle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed for a fortnight at this hotel during September. The staff were very courteous all bar one (Heldar the restaurant manager). Food - plenty of choice for all tastes, drinks as usual in 4/5 star hotels pricey. We unfortunately had to change rooms three times twice because the air con did not work, once because of noise. if you are unfortunate enough to be offered the rooms outside the hotel by the pool beware they have a large porthole from the bathroom to the bedroom, and directly opposite the area you get your towels from! also the patio area is on the level and right next to people on their sun beds lounging around the pool, so definitely not private. The beach is very beautiful, accessed by lift/or stairs and the idea of not being able to put towels on sun beds on the beach sun loungers before 8am is brilliant. The sun beds also have large canopy's over them also a very good idea as it gets extremely hot by lunch time. Beach bars/restaurants were nice if a bit pricy. Taxis to Alvor were very cheap 3.25 euros.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We had booked a seaview room and when we arrived we were upgraded to a superior room which was one of 12 new rooms just to the left of the pool-great room,lovely views,fantastic bed and bathroom,did miss tea/coffee however.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly,especially Angela who showed us to our table for dinner,she made you feel special.As previous reviews have stated,breakfast is excellent,dinner was a bit hit and miss in our opinion,mainly the main courses,desserts were very good.
The location is the selling point for this hotel,right on the beach,one of the best beaches we have been to.We went into Alvor quite a lot in the evening, just under 5euros from the hotel and even less to come back.We found Alvor lovely,not too commercialised yet,hopefully this will remain.Would really recommend a bar called Stars - Miguel and his staff were so friendly, San Miguel on draught,live music,they even remembered our drinks!
The main reason why we did not stay in the hotel on an evening was that it lacked atmosphere,yes the drinks are expensive and there were never any drinks menus on the tables,but the entertainment was only average and considering how many people were at the hotel altogether,in the evening they simply disappeared.On Saturday night,there was only one waiter serving the whole bar.This is something that maybe the hotel should look at.
Overall,a fab holiday,and somewhere on our list of places to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel . We travelled as a couple and wanted a relaxing break ,,,,which it was .
Beautiful clean beaches , wonderful coves to explore ,,,,
Hotel was very clean ,rooms a good size , lovely helpful staff .
We went on a B&B basis which was very good ,,lovely food and plenty of choice ( the coffee was amazing )
Bit pricey at bar and snack area ,,but hey it's a 5* hotel and that's expected , but a short walk down the beach you can eat and drink much more reasonably .
Have to make a mention of a lovely girl who worked in the hotel shop ,,,very helpful ,,,
All in all I can't find anything negative to say about this hotel ,,,if I had to be niggley ,I would have loved a kettle in the room ,,,,,but not many hotels provide this these days .
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend ? Yes ,,
This was our first time in Portugal ,,,hopefully not our last ......

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view , however it was a bit limited ,,,a higher floor would have been perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel and it was great to be back. The hotel is just so well situated, we are beach people so it couldn't be better. The beach is great beautiful little coves and caves when the tide is out and deep sea when the tide is in, perfect. You have to get up early to get a bed on the beach but it's worth it. Our favourite reastaurant for lunch on the beach is Sol y Sombre to the left when you come out of the hotel, great food with fresh fish from the BBQ and their chickn piri piri is delish....... We went to Atlantido Resaturant for two dinners in the evening and would recommend it. We had fish cataplana recommended by Marco and it was lovely. My partner had Steak Diane and it was lovely flambed at the table. We had a Garden View Room on the 5th floor and it was fine, a seaview room would be nicer, but out of our budget this year I'm afraid. Maybe next year. Looking foward to it already.

Room Tip: If you go for a Garden View, ask for a higher floor you will have a view of the Alvor and the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.