We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats not to like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Alvor Praia to your Saves list
Pestana Alvor Praia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Whats not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is my second time at the hotel having gone with Fitness Fiesta for a spa weekend (Fitness Fiesta also great by the way). I love everything about the hotel. The location, the facilities are incredible, everyone is so very friendly. All members of staff are engaging, funny, helpful. Always there with a smile and nothing is too difficult. We had a couple of hitches as happens, but all sorted out so effectively and efficiently I would not even call it a complaint. Rooms a little on the small side but with so much to do very little time spent in there (I shared a twin room). The food exceptional with so much choice both breakfast and dinner. I really love the pianist at breakfast, listening to his music with a glass of cava sooo decadent ;-) They have two pools a great outside bar, steam, sauna, gym. There is a courtesy bus into town. I really cant praise this hotel enough - one of the best that I have been to and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: second time at this hotel. Last year I was on the 6th floor and this year on the 5th. Still had am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    220
    77
    25
    21
See reviews for
131
311
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous weeks golfing holiday at
the Pestana Alvor Praia Beach and Golf Hotel. The hotel was 5 star and
definitely deserved its rating. We had a great room overlooking a stunning
beach plus a roomy balcony with table and chairs and a built in matressed
bed!( I thoroughly recommend asking for a room upgrade to get this view
although we were given it without asking. ) A bonus was having an empty working fridge which allowed us to enjoy a glass of wine or G&T at any time. Also a good tip would be to take a travel kettle and cups as there are no coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were
sumptuous -largely buffet style but with the added plus point of chef on
hand to cook eggs to order eg any variety of omelettes, fried how you like
them and scrambled. The evening Buffet at Euros 28 seemed, on the face of
it, a little pricey but it included a bottle of wine and coffee - so when
you realise you can have a 4 or 5 course meal comprising a choice of soup, a
salad, a fish course and a main course with potatoes and vegetables followed
by a choice of delicious desserts- it was great value and good quality. W
chose to eat there on 3 of our 7 nights and were never disappointed!.
Always wanting a change from hotel eating, we usually search out local
hostelleries and restaurants. This time we didn't have to look far. Right on
the beach next to the hotel was a magnificent beach bar called "Atlantida"
which served supurb food til late with a reasonably priced wine list with a
very acceptable House wine at Euros 9.50. this place was accessed easily by
a lift next to the hotel swimming pool which accessed the beach and then a
short 80 metre stroll to the beach bar/restaurant. Highly recommended.
The hotel staff were friendly, hard working and very helpful. It happened to
be my birthdaywhile we were there and out of the blue we were presented with
a supurb birthday cake and a bottle of very acceptable. Also on non golfing
days or for those partners who don't play golf there are an indoor and
outdoor swimming pool, beauticians salon and keep fit classes and a gym etc and a wonderful stretch of miles of the Algarve beach for walks on your doorstep.
On the golf front we played Vale de Pinta which has just had the Portuguese
Seniors Open, Gramacho and Silves - all beautifully kept with very fast
greens and with some very scenic holes. All three were in great condition,
Pestana certainly manage their golf as well as their hotels. We played off
the forward tees - yellow tees, manageable for older and higher handicap
golfers but the whites tees provided a challenge even for young guns. We
could have playes Vilasol near Villamoura 55 km away or Alto (designed by
Henry Cotton) virtually on our doorstep in Alvor but chose the 3 we did on
recommendation from friends.
On the siteseeing front we visited Silves, Caldes de Monchique, Lagos, Carveiro , Ferraguda and Alvor - all worth a visit and all relatively unspoiled
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable week. You do need to hire transport Car Hire
or organise golf transfers but all 3 courses were between 25 minutes and half an hours
drive. Alto is only 5 mins away and Vila sol 45 mins.
We booked a great deal through Your Golf Travel who were excellent organisers and will go on using them in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

5 days in this beautifully located hotel overlooking the sandy beach with indoor and outdoor pools, gym, sauna, steam room and such gracious service. Buffet breakfasts are sumptuous and service is warm and generous always. And add Pestana golf or just enjoy walks along miles of beautiful sandy beachs to the nearby village of Alvor. Do it!

Room Tip: Room facing south invite sunshine all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned to the UK after a very pleasant & restful holiday at the Alvor Praia. The old flat screen TVs have now been replaced with new flat screen models & new sun loungers & more supportive mattress toppers around the pool are a plus. Breakfast was , as usual, first class as was dining in the evening, with a now value for money varied themed buffet or A la Carte as an alternative.
Angela & her staff were very helpful & supportive to us, a couple with mobility problems & we hope to return in the autumn.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our fourth visit for a few days away during the British winter. This time we had several warm, sunny days, but if the weather is cooler there is a heated indoor pool, a gym and comfortable lounge areas looking out along the bay. Breakfast is a generous buffet and is accompanied by a tinkling piano. You can eat a light lunch beside the outdoor pool. If you don't choose to take dinner at the hotel, there are many restaurants in Alvor.
The beach below the hotel is sandy and stretches for miles to Alvor and beyond. There are plenty of local walks and the mountains around Monchique are a short drive away.
We would recommend a sea view room, which features the relaxing sound of the ocean.

Room Tip: Worth paying for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Based on a Golfers Trip in January.
Hotel is clean and well run.
The Bar is expensive!
We stayed B and B so can not comment on the food.
However generally we found the selection at breakfast rather disappointing, a lack of range.
No fresh fruit etc. Certainly not to the standard we have experienced in other holiday hotels.
Gym okay but treadmills need some work on them.
Box standard room,the blind in the bathroom is a bit of a shock.
Looks like it would be a nice hotel in the summer and its location beach front would be great for family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the hotel we visit every year. Great service, food & location. The hotel is walking distance from the village. We've been there four times. Planning to be there again soon! The evening entertainment is not the best, but there are lots of local options if it is not your preference.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#4 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.