We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Save Saved
You added Pestana Alvor Praia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice quite hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I picked the Alvor Praiai wanting a nice quite holiday and got exactly what I was looking for. Pestana owning a number of hotels in the area and this one is geared towards the more discerning traveller and to buiness people with conference rooms available. As a result the hotel does not tend to attract too many familes with young children which tend to veer more towards the Pestana Dom João II next door. The facilities are excellent and service first rate. The hotel is located on top of a cliff but there is lift at poolside which will take you down to the beach and the sunbeds reserved for hotel guests only. As a resukt of this however sea view rooms do tend to only get a glimpse of the sea and I'm not sure whether paying extra for one would be justified.
My only negative comment was that I would rate this hotel more four star than five star compared to other hotels I have stayed at over the years. Facilities in the room itself could be improved on for example with tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    188
    64
    22
    18
See reviews for
112
266
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed in many hotel's all over the world and this is a hidden gem. The guest here is treated so well and there is an old fashioned hospitality which speaks of a more gracious and gentler age, where service is always with a smile and every need is attended with an unasumming courtesy and style .This was my first stay and all the staff from Angela the Manageress to Louis at the Reception were exceptional and went way beyond their normal duties to make our stay memorable and made us feel special .

Room Tip: Sea view is crucialon the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 5 day stay at this fab hotel. When we arrived there was a problem with the garden view room we had booked so we were put into a time share apartment for one night and the following morning we were upgraded on our original booking to a beautiful sea view room for the inconvience. We also received a gift of assorted fruit from the hotel which was an added gesture and very much appreciated. The ladies on the housekeeping staff were unbelieveable even turned our beds down at night and left chocolates too.Bathrobes and slippers provided in the bathroom. Sleeping at night was peaceful no noise in the corridors of the hotel. Antonio the bar manager was brilliant very welcoming for all of the nights we were there and he makes a top class club sandwich and is a professional at cocktails. Breakfast was to die for and all staff involved were lovely. The only small suggestion I would have is perhaps a kettle in the rooms would be nice for a late night cuppa. We will return for another holiday to this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Just back from the Pentana Alvor Praia. First time in Alvor and I can't imagine staying in a better place. The Hotel is located on a cliff top with views all over the bay.
A beautiful hotel with great amenities and nice design.
The room was huge and spotless clean as was the entire hotel, yet I never hardly seen a cleaner.
The staff are the nicest most friendly I have encountered on any of my holiday almost anywhere.
Food is great too and the gentle piano playing in the evening and breakfast is just so relaxing.
The hotel is surrounded by nice restuarants too.
Its was my birthday while staying here and the manager sent up Champers and a full Birthday cake to my room on my Birthday!!
How often does that happen?
Don't book anywhere else this is the gem!
Gary & Ildi 6th to 13th Oct 11

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a classic sea view room on a bed and breakfast basis, we had stunning views and fantastic sunsets, well worth spending that little extra. The room was spacious, comfortable and nice and clean. Our only critisisum, was the fact that it did not have coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. The buffet breakfast was brilliant with a large variety of excellent well presented hot and cold food, the egg lady was lovely, always service with a smile . The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and clean, with lots of sunbeds, and the grounds to the Hotel we kept immaculate.

The centre of Alvor is approximately a 15 minute walk from the hotel. There are several little gift shops, and quite a number of restaurants and bars.

We stayed at this Hotel because we were attending the World Superbike at Portimao. We will
deffinately be returning for a longer stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here in mid September having been upgraded from the Dom Jaoa II due to overbooking. The rooms are excellent sized although in areas could do with some minor decoration. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a great variety. We walked into Alvor each evening which is about a 2km walk (alternatively it is a 4euro taxi which we generally got back to the hotel). We did not eat in the hotel during the evening as we ate in town. The pool area appeared to have plenty on sunbeds, towels etc but we were on a golf holiday so we only saw this late afternoon so it may have been busier in during the day.

The hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Purportes to be a 5 star ?,Rooms excellent ,Breakfast superb, Evening Buffet meal only average ,staff very friendly and helpfull
nice hotel but its so very quiet on an evening ressembles a ghost ship ,probably due top bar prices ,and most people going into to town to eat and drink ,
nicely placed on the cliff above the beach with a private lift down although its not all that far

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.