We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lynda &Shay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Alvor Praia to your Saves list
Pestana Alvor Praia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lynda &Shay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 5 day stay at this fab hotel. When we arrived there was a problem with the garden view room we had booked so we were put into a time share apartment for one night and the following morning we were upgraded on our original booking to a beautiful sea view room for the inconvience. We also received a gift of assorted fruit from the hotel which was an added gesture and very much appreciated. The ladies on the housekeeping staff were unbelieveable even turned our beds down at night and left chocolates too.Bathrobes and slippers provided in the bathroom. Sleeping at night was peaceful no noise in the corridors of the hotel. Antonio the bar manager was brilliant very welcoming for all of the nights we were there and he makes a top class club sandwich and is a professional at cocktails. Breakfast was to die for and all staff involved were lovely. The only small suggestion I would have is perhaps a kettle in the rooms would be nice for a late night cuppa. We will return for another holiday to this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    220
    77
    25
    21
See reviews for
131
311
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Just back from the Pentana Alvor Praia. First time in Alvor and I can't imagine staying in a better place. The Hotel is located on a cliff top with views all over the bay.
A beautiful hotel with great amenities and nice design.
The room was huge and spotless clean as was the entire hotel, yet I never hardly seen a cleaner.
The staff are the nicest most friendly I have encountered on any of my holiday almost anywhere.
Food is great too and the gentle piano playing in the evening and breakfast is just so relaxing.
The hotel is surrounded by nice restuarants too.
Its was my birthday while staying here and the manager sent up Champers and a full Birthday cake to my room on my Birthday!!
How often does that happen?
Don't book anywhere else this is the gem!
Gary & Ildi 6th to 13th Oct 11

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a classic sea view room on a bed and breakfast basis, we had stunning views and fantastic sunsets, well worth spending that little extra. The room was spacious, comfortable and nice and clean. Our only critisisum, was the fact that it did not have coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. The buffet breakfast was brilliant with a large variety of excellent well presented hot and cold food, the egg lady was lovely, always service with a smile . The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and clean, with lots of sunbeds, and the grounds to the Hotel we kept immaculate.

The centre of Alvor is approximately a 15 minute walk from the hotel. There are several little gift shops, and quite a number of restaurants and bars.

We stayed at this Hotel because we were attending the World Superbike at Portimao. We will
deffinately be returning for a longer stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here in mid September having been upgraded from the Dom Jaoa II due to overbooking. The rooms are excellent sized although in areas could do with some minor decoration. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a great variety. We walked into Alvor each evening which is about a 2km walk (alternatively it is a 4euro taxi which we generally got back to the hotel). We did not eat in the hotel during the evening as we ate in town. The pool area appeared to have plenty on sunbeds, towels etc but we were on a golf holiday so we only saw this late afternoon so it may have been busier in during the day.

The hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Purportes to be a 5 star ?,Rooms excellent ,Breakfast superb, Evening Buffet meal only average ,staff very friendly and helpfull
nice hotel but its so very quiet on an evening ressembles a ghost ship ,probably due top bar prices ,and most people going into to town to eat and drink ,
nicely placed on the cliff above the beach with a private lift down although its not all that far

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

5 night stay in a sea view room, it's worth the extra cost the views are stunning, fantastic hotel, excellent customer services, location is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Alvor
were the majority of restaurants are, taxis are cheap about €4 from hotel to Alvor.
The beach is amazing and accessible from a lift or by walking down the steps from the hotel.
Good indoor pool and gym, Breakfast was amazing, good selection and quality of food and presentation was good.
I will definately be returning to the Pestana Alvor Praia.

Room Tip: Room 242 has excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

7 night stay on golf trip and this hotel had more than enough to keep us happy. Upgraded from Dom Jaoa II and very pleased with outcome. Hotel needs some updating, but the staff couldn't do enough to make the stay fabulous. Rooms are good if needing a facelift - perhaps an upgrade to tv, add wifi and the bathroom needs a makeover but otherwise very comfortable. Plenty of sunbeds, choice of pools (seawater outdoor one is on the chilly side!) & easy access to beach. Stayed on a B&B basis and the help yourself breakfast buffet is plentiful and the view across the sea is fabulous. Only downside is the price of drinks in the bar, but recommend the 15min walk to Alvor where there are plenty of much cheaper restaurants - cab is 4euros regardless of the number of passengers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#4 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.