We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Save Saved
You added Pestana Alvor Praia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Just back from the Pentana Alvor Praia. First time in Alvor and I can't imagine staying in a better place. The Hotel is located on a cliff top with views all over the bay.
A beautiful hotel with great amenities and nice design.
The room was huge and spotless clean as was the entire hotel, yet I never hardly seen a cleaner.
The staff are the nicest most friendly I have encountered on any of my holiday almost anywhere.
Food is great too and the gentle piano playing in the evening and breakfast is just so relaxing.
The hotel is surrounded by nice restuarants too.
Its was my birthday while staying here and the manager sent up Champers and a full Birthday cake to my room on my Birthday!!
How often does that happen?
Don't book anywhere else this is the gem!
Gary & Ildi 6th to 13th Oct 11

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    188
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
112
265
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a classic sea view room on a bed and breakfast basis, we had stunning views and fantastic sunsets, well worth spending that little extra. The room was spacious, comfortable and nice and clean. Our only critisisum, was the fact that it did not have coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. The buffet breakfast was brilliant with a large variety of excellent well presented hot and cold food, the egg lady was lovely, always service with a smile . The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and clean, with lots of sunbeds, and the grounds to the Hotel we kept immaculate.

The centre of Alvor is approximately a 15 minute walk from the hotel. There are several little gift shops, and quite a number of restaurants and bars.

We stayed at this Hotel because we were attending the World Superbike at Portimao. We will
deffinately be returning for a longer stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here in mid September having been upgraded from the Dom Jaoa II due to overbooking. The rooms are excellent sized although in areas could do with some minor decoration. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a great variety. We walked into Alvor each evening which is about a 2km walk (alternatively it is a 4euro taxi which we generally got back to the hotel). We did not eat in the hotel during the evening as we ate in town. The pool area appeared to have plenty on sunbeds, towels etc but we were on a golf holiday so we only saw this late afternoon so it may have been busier in during the day.

The hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Purportes to be a 5 star ?,Rooms excellent ,Breakfast superb, Evening Buffet meal only average ,staff very friendly and helpfull
nice hotel but its so very quiet on an evening ressembles a ghost ship ,probably due top bar prices ,and most people going into to town to eat and drink ,
nicely placed on the cliff above the beach with a private lift down although its not all that far

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

5 night stay in a sea view room, it's worth the extra cost the views are stunning, fantastic hotel, excellent customer services, location is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Alvor
were the majority of restaurants are, taxis are cheap about €4 from hotel to Alvor.
The beach is amazing and accessible from a lift or by walking down the steps from the hotel.
Good indoor pool and gym, Breakfast was amazing, good selection and quality of food and presentation was good.
I will definately be returning to the Pestana Alvor Praia.

Room Tip: Room 242 has excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

7 night stay on golf trip and this hotel had more than enough to keep us happy. Upgraded from Dom Jaoa II and very pleased with outcome. Hotel needs some updating, but the staff couldn't do enough to make the stay fabulous. Rooms are good if needing a facelift - perhaps an upgrade to tv, add wifi and the bathroom needs a makeover but otherwise very comfortable. Plenty of sunbeds, choice of pools (seawater outdoor one is on the chilly side!) & easy access to beach. Stayed on a B&B basis and the help yourself breakfast buffet is plentiful and the view across the sea is fabulous. Only downside is the price of drinks in the bar, but recommend the 15min walk to Alvor where there are plenty of much cheaper restaurants - cab is 4euros regardless of the number of passengers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I spent ten days here from Sep 10th - 20th and it's a really lovely hotel and very good value
Breakfast was amazing and the beach is wonderous ... I do think the evening Restaurant could work better but I've relayed that to the management .. there are great Restaurants within walking distance
I had a basic level room (garden view) and it was lovely !
It's a lovely relaxing and well run Hotel and I'd definitely recommend it

Room Tip: If you require a larger balcony, go for Seaview ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Alvor Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.