We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a record 5 meals here at the Caravella which were amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravela

Caravela
Rua Marques de Pombal, 65, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021 , Portugal
282415059
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a record 5 meals here at the Caravella which were amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Five beautiful meals we have had here and they have been gorgeous every time.
The service has been fantastic, the food so fresh and wonderfully cooked. Well done to you all fantastic!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    28
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Always friendly welcome. Food and service brilliant can't fault it. Always one of the places we eat when we are in Alvor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal in a lovely surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a lovely restaurant - great service and great food at a very reasonable price. A very enjoyable evening

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Alvor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ate her twice during our holiday. Both evenings we were extremely impressed. Sometimes myself and my boyfriend can find it difficult to agree on a place to eat as i am a vegetarian and he is a meat eater who hates veg! Both of us were catered for really well. The staff were attentive and friendly. We had some bread, olives etc., 2 main courses, 2 desserts, two cokes and a large bottle of water all for 40! Visit this place, you will not be disappointed :) p.s. Try the vegetarian paella but be prepared for the massive portion!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

we were in alvor for a week and we ate a different place every nite and this was by far the nicest place we ate, it was just fab, we both had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection, my 14 month old had the spagetti from the childs menu and it was really tasted, staff were so helpful, highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravela also viewed

 

Been to Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.