We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar

Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar
Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
+351 282 458 250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: On the small square on Rua Marques de Pombal / Rua Cabral.Indoor and out door seating. We offer ererything from snacks, ice-creams and drinks to full meals with starters and desserts. Go to our website to see what we have to offer.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been coming to Alvor in late October for many years now. Until last year, this cafe had been closed for some time. We were pleasantly surprised when it reopened. Even more pleased to see it open again this year. We have stopped here for a coffee several times during our stay. One morning we tried the bacon sandwich, it was really good! We all had lunch there today, 2 burgers, 1 pizza, 1 mushroom omelette and 2 salads... All were really nice meals, the chips were nice and crispy too! The waiter was really friendly, spoke good english and always found time to chat with us. We will definitely be visiting this cafe again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and especially for our waiter, we are happy that he is appreciated, and will pass your comments on. See next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Tried a few breakfasts around and this was by far the best, 6.50 for full english with fresh orange juice. The Cafe is in the centre of the old town and the small streets around are plesant to walk around and shops etc found down each one. We also shared a Chorizo here which is grilled and comes out in a dish with a flame under it. Very different to UK chorizo , huge lumps of meat and fat in it but the flavour was fantastic and worth sharing, The young guy that waited table was very pleasant and tried to make everyone welcome. I did have to sample the desserts and all were most enjoyable, highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review,and the mention of the waiter, I will make sure that he is aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Piri Piri Chicken Ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very strange place... When I tried to order a GLASS of coke I was told that coke comes in CANS and not GLASS ?! so had to specifically order a CAN but never mind. Chips served with piri piri chicken tasted like they were fried in extremely old smelly oil. Chicken was really just normal chargrilled with piri piri sauce on top and to be honest I was looking for the chicken as there was even chicken neck but very little meat. It's not worth it. can eat better food for the same price in different places,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the management. It is always upsetting not to provide a good service, but it is helpful when we are told.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Shame about the Evening meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am sorry to say that the evening meal in this Restaurant was so poor as we have used the café at lunchtimes before and we have always been happy,I would hope that this was a one off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate your review and would like to know a little more about the evening visit, if you have the time. I help the management with their reviews and will pass on your comments, My e-mail is alvordavid@hotmail.co.uk I hope,as you stated that it was "one off", please tell me more.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we had a really very nice meal here, at a very good price. would go again, though its a bit basic inside, not the prettiest restaurant in town, but that didn't detract from the meal, which was good quality, substantial and nice and hot ! A very good choice if you're just off the beach or a trip and not had time to dress up

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Vivien. Very accurate in your description, and happy that you enjoyed your stop off. Hope we get another visit from you.

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar also viewed

Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silmar Restaurante and Snack-bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.