We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended, if a little detached from the Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento to your Saves list
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Recommended, if a little detached from the Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Alvor Baia last May. The Hotel had been only opened the previous season and we found it to be contemporary and pristine. Positives; the friendliness of the staff, the ultra modern amenities including a great pool, reasonable food (for an 'all inclusive' resort) and general cleanliness. Negatives; The somewhat limited evening entertainment and the location of the hotel, being some distance from the town centre in an elevated and exposed position; the resulting gales that often blew through the complex rendered lounging around 'pool side' almost impossible. On occasions we resorted to creating wind breaks using sun loungers to avoid windburn! In conclusion, we'd certainly recommend the Alvor Baia to tourists seeking a functional modern accommodation but not necessarily easy access to interesting Alvor and its wonderful beaches.

Room Tip: Seek those facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    393
    169
    51
    20
See reviews for
422
308
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here last year in July, and quite frankly it was not an enjoyable experience for myself and my partner.

During the day, it was just too busy, could never get a sun bed and resorted to lying on the grass for a sun bathe. However you do expect that at peak season.

The food was mediocre. A lot of choice, but if staying for 2 weeks it can be repetitive and a bit boring.

The entertain was virtually nill. A few holiday reps, but not much going on. All inclusive stopped at 11pm, and the staff looked like they just want you to leave once that time hit, making you not want to buy any drinks. So each night we hit the local town for drinks.

I do like the free shuttle service to and from the beach, which is good. So we went a few times.

I wouldn't visit again to this hotel, but I would visit the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My family stayed at the Baia for 10 nights in September 2013. We had the most wonderful time, although everyone thought we would come home divorced, due to travelling with our daughters (4), (2) & 6 months! The room worked out brilliantly. We could put the kids to bed after the kiddies entertainment at 9ish, and we could slip out to the balcony and into bed without disturbing their sleep. We had a pool view room, so during the day, when our two smallest had to nap, we took turns staying in the apartment - I took great joy in sunbathing on the balcony, so it wasn't "wasted" time for a sun-worshiper.

The dining was a little stressful - both restaurants were very noisy, with partial glass roofs, so any cutlery dropping, or child yowling was amplified. Our kids didn't tend to cry, but spent a lot of time staring around the large restaurants, in shock/awe of all the activity in a condensed area. Over the holiday, we figured out the best table, and times to dine, to cut down on noise. The food itself was lovely. We dined out in Alvor twice, mostly just for the change of scenary. The village is very nice.

Our eldest daughter, (then 4) spent some time in the kids club, but had to be heavily persuaded to attend after the first day. It seemed to be geared at 7 - 9 year olds, and most kids went with another they already knew. Also, the kids club staff had broken English, some of them quite poor English, so my daughter didn't really understand them. We found the evening entertainment very good, but NOTE, our kids are tiny. I think its aimed at age 9 downwards, and there's not much happening for adults, or teens. The time of the kiddies disco etc was ideal, because we'd be first down for dinner, and then go straight to the disco. Everyone's kids played in the evening also at the playground, which was ideal for parents to bring up a glass of wine and relax! Families who had young children were loving their holiday. Couples & families with older kids looked a bit disgruntled. The entertainment staff seemed to be people in their early 20s, just enjoying their summer, and didn't seem to have much guidance/supervision on what itinerary to put on, or how to entertain kids of different ages.

I went to the Spa for one whole day, and had a teeny tiny masseuse, but the massages I got were amazing - it was really well worth the cost. My daughter (4) came in for a swim at the end of my day there, and she loved the change of scenery.

We went to the beach one day, and although we got the bus, in the extreme heat, we found the trek too much. We didn't have all the beach equipment we needed, and didn't want to hire a bed as we were only going to be there of an hour or so. We just felt, although its only a quick bus ride away, it wasn't worth the hassle.

The pool was freezing cold. However, the weather was hot all during our holiday, so the kids didn't mind. I found I would have to swim or keep active in the water, or else I'd get cold.

We spent a long time trying to decide where to go this year, and due to the following, we have decided to return to Baia again this year:
1. Playground beside pool, so parents can sun-bathe and supervise kids at same time; The kids club is near the pool too, so you can collect in your togs!
2. There are scheduled eating times, so if the kids don't eat well at breakfast, they can have the snack at 11 instead & the same throughout the day;
3. The entertainment will be ideal for our kids this year - all three of them will be able to partake this year;
4. The all inclusive bar was great, and I only really figured out what to order towards the end of our holiday last year!
5. Alvor is a lovely village, that is maybe 15 minutes away, and is ideal for having an ice-cream after dinner, or sauntering around the shops.
6. We'll probably do the day trips to the waterpark and aquatic park this year - we heard from other guests that they were great, despite a very early start.

I read the reviews before our trip last year, and someone had suggested bringing your own hangers. We did this, and it was well worth it, so bring some! We almost left our clothes to be laundered, and at the last minute I checked the prices, and they were outlandish, so be warned!

Room Tip: Pool side is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancheter
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been on girls holidays and seen horrible hotels and I ignored the advice on here not to go, big mistake!
Me and my boyfriend went for a week in September we felt so young!
If you want a fun hotel don't come here entrainment for one day that was terrible!
One thing we weren't told is all inclusive finishes at 12! We didn't know that and there is set times that you can eat no snack bar or anything the food is horrible all fish and left overs from the day before. The rooms were beautiful but not clean our maid changed the sheets once during the stay and even then it was to a stained sheet. There is a massive hill down the the centre that is hard to walk and the beach is a bit of a long walk. Over all not happy with our stay and we will never be coming back!!'

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the offset we were very impressed with the large and fully kitted out room. What was normally classed as a suit room in all hotels is standard.
A new and well thought out hotel the staff work hard to maintain the standards. A tranquil spa on the lower level which is a must. The out door pool is amazing and well worth a dip!
The staff in the restaurant are friendly and they provide children's food daily of good standard.
The town centre is in walking distance and the hotel bus service to the beach is spot on.
We would recommend this hotel and are thinking about going back ourselves.

Room Tip: The indoor pool requires a swimming cap by law.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 4 star hotel an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our accommodations and resort and will be coming again shortly.

We hope that we see you again soon at Hotel Alvor Baia.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were guests at the hotel from the 27/10/13 to 31/10/13 and it is a truly remarkable hotel. Very modern and newly built. During our stay we visited the village of Alvor which was nice and good for shopping for gifts etc and was not too far from the hotel. I would definitely recommended the beach as it was very scenic and beautiful.
The food at the hotel was very nice and there was always plenty of variety. I only eat halal meat and the hotel were accomadating in making me their spectacular vegetable lasagne which was very thoughtful of them.
The break was perfect for relaxing and just lounging besides the pool. Not sure how it would be in peak times as there was not alot of sun loungers and the hotel has 402 rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, for your kind compliments and the excellent rating.

We are pleased that you appreciate our efforts at maintaining our high standards and that you will visit us next year.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very relaxing trip, the staff were excellent especially the reception and bar staff. The rooms were spacious and clean (may be a bit cosy if your a family of 4 but great for a couple) and its very worth getting a pool room as you appear to get more of the sun throughout the day. The transfer wasnt to long but its a bit of a free for all at checkin would hate to think what it was like if the hotel was full! The food was a bit of a let down on the odd occassion and really could do with better labeling as im sure more people would try the dishes if you knew what was in them. You have to like fish for sure... better food would have got this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: A pool view room is probably worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in our Restaurant. Please accept our apologies for this.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.