We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season Get Away in a perfect Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Save Saved
You added Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Off Season Get Away in a perfect Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the offset we were very impressed with the large and fully kitted out room. What was normally classed as a suit room in all hotels is standard.
A new and well thought out hotel the staff work hard to maintain the standards. A tranquil spa on the lower level which is a must. The out door pool is amazing and well worth a dip!
The staff in the restaurant are friendly and they provide children's food daily of good standard.
The town centre is in walking distance and the hotel bus service to the beach is spot on.
We would recommend this hotel and are thinking about going back ourselves.

Room Tip: The indoor pool requires a swimming cap by law.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 4 star hotel an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our accommodations and resort and will be coming again shortly.

We hope that we see you again soon at Hotel Alvor Baia.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    325
    139
    46
    18
See reviews for
367
237
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were guests at the hotel from the 27/10/13 to 31/10/13 and it is a truly remarkable hotel. Very modern and newly built. During our stay we visited the village of Alvor which was nice and good for shopping for gifts etc and was not too far from the hotel. I would definitely recommended the beach as it was very scenic and beautiful.
The food at the hotel was very nice and there was always plenty of variety. I only eat halal meat and the hotel were accomadating in making me their spectacular vegetable lasagne which was very thoughtful of them.
The break was perfect for relaxing and just lounging besides the pool. Not sure how it would be in peak times as there was not alot of sun loungers and the hotel has 402 rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, for your kind compliments and the excellent rating.

We are pleased that you appreciate our efforts at maintaining our high standards and that you will visit us next year.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very relaxing trip, the staff were excellent especially the reception and bar staff. The rooms were spacious and clean (may be a bit cosy if your a family of 4 but great for a couple) and its very worth getting a pool room as you appear to get more of the sun throughout the day. The transfer wasnt to long but its a bit of a free for all at checkin would hate to think what it was like if the hotel was full! The food was a bit of a let down on the odd occassion and really could do with better labeling as im sure more people would try the dishes if you knew what was in them. You have to like fish for sure... better food would have got this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: A pool view room is probably worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in our Restaurant. Please accept our apologies for this.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited with Teenagers and Friends in October for a week. Hotel is only a couple of years old and it is an impressive modern design that we loved. The apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable for us and our teenage son. The pool is huge and because it was October is was quite quiet with plenty of room for the kids to play about. We used the spa pool on one day because the weather was bad and it was just lovely and quiet and well worth the money it cost. We all loved the food, great choice and catered for all our tastes. Lovely salad bar with a great selection, a hot plate serving a fish and a meat choice, several hot choices, great selection of desserts and drinks on tap. Breakfast was also good with plenty of choice of fruit, cereal, breads, hot and cold food. The staff in the hotel were all really friendly and helpful. We all loved the hotel and we'd all go back again.

We loved the village of Alvor and walked down a few times both during the day and night. The village has a traditional feel but there are plenty of nice shops, bars and restaurants. There is a boardwalk that runs from the village along the beach and is a lovely walk. The beach is lovely too and we took the bus down and also walked. We also walked along to the beach in Portmao and back over the cliffs (which was impressive but the path was a bit difficult in places). We got the bus to Lagos one day from the bus stop in the village. Lagos is worth a visit. We'd go back to the area again but I think we'd hire a car to explore further afield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our accommodations and resort!

We hope that we see you again soon at Hotel Alvor Baia.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked a half term break at the AB hotel. Flight was good, customs extremely quick and transfer was just fine. First impressions of the hotel were ok, however please be advised that this is a fairly new hotel, it feels a little sterile and has no real atmosphere about it, no wow factor, however the check in was efficient (They take your passports and check you in whilst you relax and have a drink).
Rooms are excellent, huge, with a cooker/microwave, nice big beds, and air conditioning just fine, however its best to switch this off at night because it gets cold. Fantastic shower and very clean.
Food, is superb, across all meals, I would definitely recommend the fish fresh cooked from the grill. Only thing that aggravated a tad was the toaster at breakfast, its one of those conveyor systems, and we had to put the bread through 3 times before it was toasted.
Staff are great, very friendly and hard working - no problems at all in that area.
Pool is huge, but very cold, which is a pity
We booked a trip whilst there, to explore the Algarve from the mountains to Cape St Vincent (the most Westerly point in Europe) - worth every Euro, however please be advised that the lunch on this trip is not free, ours cost 13 Euros per person, but was well worth it.
Now, we made the huge mistake of not going to Alvor Beach until the last day. This beach is one of the most fantastic places I've ever been to, very clean, very scenic as well and lots of places on the beach to get drinks or have a bit to eat - Thoroughly recommend, but please be aware of the current - Its a tad vicious so would not recommend swimming out far, but most people are happy to wade out to waist height and have fun in the waves.
We will certainly return, but are a bit anxious as to how the hotel operates in the high season when at full capacity.
Return trip, be prepared to queue for a long time going through Portugese customs
Oh! The Thompson rep, Gill, of course was superb..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important for us to have your comments.

For all other guests it will be very important to read your review, getting to know the amazing beach the we have in Alvor, just 2 minutes by car or a 10 minutes very enjoyable stroll.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. My wife and I here here for 2 weeks. We celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary but we did not disclose this to anyone as we don't really like a fuss and I know that the hotel management would have been eager to help us celebrate.
The building although large has a feeling of a more personal experience. It is modern, clean and staff are excellent and are fluent English speakers (and other languages too). You may find that the large area around reception echo somewhat but you get used to it after a day or so.
I give the hotel 4.5* and not 5* as although the food is of great quality and variety it was always served at a lower temperature than we expected.
The rooms are immaculate with a sitting/dinning area with sofa bed and flat screen TV. Kitchenette with cooker hob, sink, microwave and fridge (no extra charge). Bedroom with further TV and ample power sockets. The bathroom is great and spotlessly cleaned and storage space is cleverly fitted in the passage from the main door.
The safe is the only extra that you need to pay for.
All rooms have a balcony which was great for us as we liked to sit out and have a drink just before dark. We were lucky that we had a view of the mountains from our balcony.
The pool is large and sunbeds are plentiful.
If you wish to go into Alvor town you can walk it in 10 mins or so but reception will call a Taxi for you and it will arrive in a few mins. The fare is 4 euros on average. The town is quite small but very nice with friendly people. The small shops and bars are great and many serve food and drink all day.
There is an on site shop if you want to buy newspapers, tobacco and sweets etc and there is a Spar shop within walking distance. Go out of the main gate and turn left. Just before Alvor bridge turn right and follow the footpath past an apartment block reception keeping right. You will find it quite easily.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We will be expecting you visit anytime soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

location is 30 mins drive from faro airport, got suntransfers.com to pick us up. Excellent service they provided. Hotel is lovely. nice and clean, very modern as its only 2 years old. Rooms are apartments, got ur kitchen area, one sofa bed, one bedroom, bathroom, shower is nice and big. like a lot of people have said, pool area can get very busy, if you get to the pool by 9am, ur most likely get a seat, can get busy after that. Food is of good standard, All inclusive can get a lil weary after 5 days, needs to be more varity, but if you eat like a pig like me, ull enjoy the meats and fish. Drinks are good, bar is open all day. No waiters walking around the pool, which was a negative to me, but i guess exercise doesnt do any harm. Entertainment needs to be better, pool area needs to have a better interaction wit the public. Night enterainment is a bit dry, one guy singing songs and a few kids events. But sometimes nice to just chill out with a drink. Beach service is brilliant, they got a bus every 30 mins to take u to a nearby beach, which is 5 mins away. Town is a 10-15 mins walk away, or a quick taxi trip. Prices wasnt so cheap eating out, but nice to change up the food. Very good supermarket down there, nice to get some room snacks and drinks for the room there.

Overall, the whole family loved. kids loved the pool area, i enjoyed gettin sunburnt. Could easily come back here, and go on a few trips to waterpark and waterzoo next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, for your kind compliments and the excellent rating.

We are pleased that you appreciate our efforts at maintaining our high standards and that you will visit us next year.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.