We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boaz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento to your Saves list
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
woodham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“boaz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

the hotel and rooms are first class also the cleanliness and service of the staff. this is a family hotel so expect lots of children, this can be a problem for some of the older people if you want peace and quiet. the dining is however not very good for a 4 star hotel, no table cloth on the tables, all plastic chairs. the food is o.k. for a all inclusive deal. For those who may have difficulty with walking a taxi will be required to go to and from the town. The Thomson part of the holiday arrangements were good. All in all a good experience but for the dining, noisy and chaotic at times. One of the reviews mentioned a 5th floor, the hotel has 4floors only. To sum up, if they can sort out the dining experience this would be a truly 4 star hotel

Room Tip: rooms facing inland at the front of the hotel and on the top floor are quiet, there are enough lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our accommodations and the Hotel! We hope that we see you again soon at Hotel Alvor Baia, while we will be making some programmed changes in the Winter, trying to improve our guests experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    383
    164
    50
    20
See reviews for
412
299
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

a very large modern hotel which wont be to everyone's liking.
check in was very quick and although one of our rooms was not ready we were able to use the all inclusive facilities before.
the rooms are large with a small kitchen including fridge, sink, microwave and a hob. you will find enough glasses and cups for your party but no kettle however there is a small pot with handle that I used to make my own hot drinks with coffee I had brought. there is a flat screen tv in both the sitting room and bedroom. the balcony is very large and I would suggest if you like the sun to request a pool view room as your balcony will be in the sun all day. both the bedroom and sitting room have sliding doors to the balcony. the bedroom is 2 single beds that are pushed together to make a double, these are very firm beds which was great for me but may not suit every one. the bathroom has all the usual facilities you would expect with a power shower over the bath. towels are provided for room us only and they do provide soap and shampoo too. there is plenty to hanging space in the wardrobes but as always never enough hangers so you may want to take some with you. there is a safety deposit box which you can hire at 1.50 per day. the rooms are cleaned daily and overall very lovely once the room to the door is shut you really don't hear any noise from other guess unless they let the door to the apartment shut on its own.
there are 4 floors to this hotel and plenty of lifts.
the food and drink
I have no complaints about the food or drink here but im not fussy. there is a good choice as breakfast the full English was great, there was always soup, pasta, salad and fish dishes available. the meat dishes varied from grilled chicken to lamb. dessert included cakes, fruit and ice cream. we always went to the blue restaurant and had no problems getting a table. the green restaurant is the where they provide highchairs and have a children's buffet as well the food in both restaurants are the same. you get to help yourselves to drinks at meal times with tea and coffee only available in the restaurants at breakfast. drinks available in the restaurants include wine (red, white and rose), juice and cola, Fanta and lemonade.
breakfast is from 7am till 10am
snacks from 11 till 12
lunch from 12.30 till 3pm
snacks from 4pm till 5pm
dinner from 6.30 till 10pm
there are 2 bars in the hotel the upstairs one opens at 10am till 1am but all inclusive is only till 11pm you will have to pay for drinks after that time. the upstairs bar also has a service counter for pool drinks so this can get busy and you may have to queue for a short time one good thing about this is they like you to queue in a line so that you get served in turn, they do have a lot of staff serving so the queue does move quickly even if it is long. the drinks are the usual for all inclusive wine, beer, local spirits, cocktail of the day, soft drinks, juices and hot drinks. I have to say the coffee from the bars are filter coffee and not the same as the machines in the restaurant's.
the pool is large and there was plenty of sun beds and we didn't have to get up early to get one but this could be because the session was slowing down. only down side was there wasn't enough seating in the evenings in the bar upstairs to enjoy a quite drink. the bar upstairs also had evening entertainment of a keyboard player which was good. the bar downstairs is where the evening entertainment that the animation team provided this included a parrot show, bingo and dancing. this is where most of the children and there families where.
the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the beach which we didn't use as it was only a 10 min walk away. the hotel is on a hill and is a short walk away from the harbour about 10 min walk you can get a taxi for 4 euros one way. you can hire towels to use by the pool for a deposit of 30 euros.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our team was excellent and exceeded all your expectations.

we will be expecting you and Family for the next season at Alvor Baia.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

excellent hotel family friendly, room cleaned everyday even has a laundry service!
free bus to the beach, friendly staff, food was amazing! hob fridge and kettle in room just in case. flat screen tv in every room. bed really comfy! shower amazing! defo going back next year! the food was really nice you can even drink the tap water as its triple filtered so no going to the supermarket for water every other day! no idea what other people are complaining about. if you're on the top floor and don't like the stairs, take a lift the! there is THREE of them!

Room Tip: we had a room facing the car park and it was still amazing but you can request pool view when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our team was excellent and exceeded all your expectations.

Our guests’ feedback is of great value to us, and it is the only way to improve on our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Alvor as we will be having some surprises for our guests in the next year.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is massive, we were allocated accomodation on the ground floor overlooking the pool this a very nice spot, other rooms were on the fifth floor and quite a hike from the lobby, restruant and bar facilities, I do not think I would have liked that as much, the standard of the accomodation is by far the best I have stayed in for a holiday hotel but they could do with putting a kettle in the appartment. The food selection was very good and good quality and the beverage selection was first class. All the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. There was entertainment laid on most evenings and some activites during the day, however this did not concern me because I like to find my own forms of pleasure time ie there are many lovelly taverns, bars, restruants in Alvor which is in easy walking distance. I was a little concerned from some reviews I read about the availability of sun beds, this was not an issue not once were we unable to find vacant beds this was at varying times through the day. The beach at Alvor is magnificent and the Hotel runs a free bus to there, but also it is a fairly short and pleasant walk. We took a couple of trips out which were good value these were with Thompson, we booked the holday package with them, the reps of the company were really pleasant, only one small niggle you are encouraged to pre book aircraft seats at a cost, to ensure you end up together on the flight we did not and we sat together. I would recommend this hotel and holiday package to anyone without any hesitation. Prices at the airport compare favourably to shops Cigarettes 4.3, Cigars 3.4 euros a packet, tobacco 7.5 euros for a 50g pouch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday family Experience.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Alvor Baia!

We hope that we see you again soon among st us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing staff very friendly and professional. Small selection of food but good quality. Awful very uncomfortable bed. We spent five nights on the pull out sofa. Apart from that I cannot complain about anything as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your sleeping experience. In reality this is a very uncommon comment we have. We will be checking the mattress in the room you have stayed in to check if all is ok with it.
Please accept our apologies for this.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am absolutely mystified by some of the negative reviews about this hotel,
Was I at the same place?
The Alvor Baia is undoubtedly the best hotel that I have ever stayed in , the architecture may not suit some, however other aspects of the hotel are far more important. Firstly the staff are all absolutely fantastic, in fact all of the Portuguese people that we met were all so nice.
The hotel was kept spotlessly clean and our room was serviced to a high standard everyday. Food in hotels can sometimes be repetitive and boring, however each evening there was a excellent variety of quality food, no chance of a dodgy tummy here. The drinks in the hotel were great served by brilliant bar staff and
If I were the manager of this hotel I would be very proud indeed.
This hotel is undoubtedly large so if you feel like some exercise after your meal just make your way back to your room! Seriously though I cannot recommend the Alvor Baia Hotel highly enough, they even provide a free bus service to the beach.
Alvor as a resort is fantastic and the old town has a unique charm of its own.
This is one of the few holiday destinations where I never felt ripped off as everything seemed very reasonably priced. If you get an opportunity to book a holiday at this hotel, do it...........it is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, simple as that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our team was excellent and exceeded all your expectations.

Our guests’ feedback is of great value to us, and it feels that you have been able to really understand our unit and its services for the clients.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Alvor with your family.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

September 12th - 19th. This hotel was recommended to us by a Thomson travel agent when we said we wanted a relaxing all-inclusive in the Algarve. We'd read reviews and thought we'd take a chance. Flying from Doncaster was new to us and worked very well, the car park right opposite was very handy. We arrived 30 mins early in Faro thinking this was a nice start. However, after sitting on the transfer coach for over an hour, the thomson rep said we were still waiting for some passengers, what she didn't tell us was that these people were on another flight! and it was late! The 50 minute transfer that we were expecting turned out to be an hour and three quarters after doing multiple drop offs, with of course us being last. The hotel is very nice, minimalist, spotlessly clean and modern. The staff were friendly and efficient and kept some of the ruder guests from queue jumping and sunbed reserving. The food was varied and plentiful with some things cooked freshly in front of you, although I would say it was more 3 star standard than four. The restaurants as stated in other reviews are extremely noisy but, perhaps this is due to acoustics and design, i.e. all tiles and glass, no carpeting, table cloths etc. There was a little queueing at the bar, but the staff kept the turnover brisk. The rooms were very large and comfortable with a large bedroom and separate sitting room with a tv in each, nice modern bathroom with a powerful shower over bath and loads of hot water, balcony also very large, ours overlooked pool. Rooms also seemed well sound proofed. Unlike other all inclusives we've stayed at, there was NO entertainment programme during the day eg shooting, archery, quiz's, games etc other than an odd pool activity. The evening entertainment was mediocre at best, this was when it was just background noise, to a rowdy noisy shoutfest at worst, when any form of conversation was impossible virtually anywhere in the hotel other than your room. There are NO quiet areas in this hotel, which is a shame. Beware of the Thomson excursion sales pitch, we usually do our own thing and haven't fell for this for a long time. They say they price check locally and have the best/cheapest rates - not true. An excursion to a 'medieval' town with gypsy market was a joke, the pick-up was at 0730 200 yards from the hotel, the town was not 'medieval', we've seen medieval towns all over europe -this wasn't one of them, the 'gypsy' market was just setting up - there were more tourists than stalls at this time, When I say stalls I mean transit vans selling tat, not traditional items like we'd been led to believe, the indoor market was like any other anywhere, on top of all this it was pouring down, I know nothing can be done about the weather but we were just kicked off the bus with a "see you in two hours", on the way back we had to stop off at a 'handicraft and pottery' place, this was nothing more than a tiny garden garden centre, again selling sub standard tat. A waste of time and money. The VIP 'journey into the past' trip was excellent by comparison, the driver/guide was brilliant. The visit to the sand sculptures was ok but a little spoilt by reps that couldn't count, holding the coach up, and a rather pointless trip to an equestrian centre for some undrinkable wine and inedible finger snacks. We have stayed at other "Platinum' hotels where an air line check-in service was available, not so here, we were told we could buy a 'priority' check-in for when we got to the airport, which they really recommended "because Faro airport can be terrible if you don't" , as it turned out, we just breezed through no problem. All in all, I would say that it was an average but expensive 3 star holiday, would we return? probably not. Would we use Thomson again? probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near reception due to noise levels from bar, restaurants, lifts and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

Is seems to us that your holidays did not started in the most appreciated way to you.

Your compliments and comments about our accommodations and hotel in are extremely appreciated! We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the loudness in the restaurants and also the animation.

Nevertheless it is great to understand that you have liked the hotel in general, while having some experiences that may have not been up to your standards, mainly with the transfers and also with the excursions.

We hope to see you back with us again here at Hotel Alvor Baia in the very near future!


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.