We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY MUCH FAUTLESS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Save Saved
You added Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“PRETTY MUCH FAUTLESS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is massive, we were allocated accomodation on the ground floor overlooking the pool this a very nice spot, other rooms were on the fifth floor and quite a hike from the lobby, restruant and bar facilities, I do not think I would have liked that as much, the standard of the accomodation is by far the best I have stayed in for a holiday hotel but they could do with putting a kettle in the appartment. The food selection was very good and good quality and the beverage selection was first class. All the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. There was entertainment laid on most evenings and some activites during the day, however this did not concern me because I like to find my own forms of pleasure time ie there are many lovelly taverns, bars, restruants in Alvor which is in easy walking distance. I was a little concerned from some reviews I read about the availability of sun beds, this was not an issue not once were we unable to find vacant beds this was at varying times through the day. The beach at Alvor is magnificent and the Hotel runs a free bus to there, but also it is a fairly short and pleasant walk. We took a couple of trips out which were good value these were with Thompson, we booked the holday package with them, the reps of the company were really pleasant, only one small niggle you are encouraged to pre book aircraft seats at a cost, to ensure you end up together on the flight we did not and we sat together. I would recommend this hotel and holiday package to anyone without any hesitation. Prices at the airport compare favourably to shops Cigarettes 4.3, Cigars 3.4 euros a packet, tobacco 7.5 euros for a 50g pouch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday family Experience.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Alvor Baia!

We hope that we see you again soon among st us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    281
    126
    42
    18
See reviews for
309
226
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing staff very friendly and professional. Small selection of food but good quality. Awful very uncomfortable bed. We spent five nights on the pull out sofa. Apart from that I cannot complain about anything as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your sleeping experience. In reality this is a very uncommon comment we have. We will be checking the mattress in the room you have stayed in to check if all is ok with it.
Please accept our apologies for this.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am absolutely mystified by some of the negative reviews about this hotel,
Was I at the same place?
The Alvor Baia is undoubtedly the best hotel that I have ever stayed in , the architecture may not suit some, however other aspects of the hotel are far more important. Firstly the staff are all absolutely fantastic, in fact all of the Portuguese people that we met were all so nice.
The hotel was kept spotlessly clean and our room was serviced to a high standard everyday. Food in hotels can sometimes be repetitive and boring, however each evening there was a excellent variety of quality food, no chance of a dodgy tummy here. The drinks in the hotel were great served by brilliant bar staff and
If I were the manager of this hotel I would be very proud indeed.
This hotel is undoubtedly large so if you feel like some exercise after your meal just make your way back to your room! Seriously though I cannot recommend the Alvor Baia Hotel highly enough, they even provide a free bus service to the beach.
Alvor as a resort is fantastic and the old town has a unique charm of its own.
This is one of the few holiday destinations where I never felt ripped off as everything seemed very reasonably priced. If you get an opportunity to book a holiday at this hotel, do it...........it is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, simple as that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our team was excellent and exceeded all your expectations.

Our guests’ feedback is of great value to us, and it feels that you have been able to really understand our unit and its services for the clients.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Alvor with your family.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

September 12th - 19th. This hotel was recommended to us by a Thomson travel agent when we said we wanted a relaxing all-inclusive in the Algarve. We'd read reviews and thought we'd take a chance. Flying from Doncaster was new to us and worked very well, the car park right opposite was very handy. We arrived 30 mins early in Faro thinking this was a nice start. However, after sitting on the transfer coach for over an hour, the thomson rep said we were still waiting for some passengers, what she didn't tell us was that these people were on another flight! and it was late! The 50 minute transfer that we were expecting turned out to be an hour and three quarters after doing multiple drop offs, with of course us being last. The hotel is very nice, minimalist, spotlessly clean and modern. The staff were friendly and efficient and kept some of the ruder guests from queue jumping and sunbed reserving. The food was varied and plentiful with some things cooked freshly in front of you, although I would say it was more 3 star standard than four. The restaurants as stated in other reviews are extremely noisy but, perhaps this is due to acoustics and design, i.e. all tiles and glass, no carpeting, table cloths etc. There was a little queueing at the bar, but the staff kept the turnover brisk. The rooms were very large and comfortable with a large bedroom and separate sitting room with a tv in each, nice modern bathroom with a powerful shower over bath and loads of hot water, balcony also very large, ours overlooked pool. Rooms also seemed well sound proofed. Unlike other all inclusives we've stayed at, there was NO entertainment programme during the day eg shooting, archery, quiz's, games etc other than an odd pool activity. The evening entertainment was mediocre at best, this was when it was just background noise, to a rowdy noisy shoutfest at worst, when any form of conversation was impossible virtually anywhere in the hotel other than your room. There are NO quiet areas in this hotel, which is a shame. Beware of the Thomson excursion sales pitch, we usually do our own thing and haven't fell for this for a long time. They say they price check locally and have the best/cheapest rates - not true. An excursion to a 'medieval' town with gypsy market was a joke, the pick-up was at 0730 200 yards from the hotel, the town was not 'medieval', we've seen medieval towns all over europe -this wasn't one of them, the 'gypsy' market was just setting up - there were more tourists than stalls at this time, When I say stalls I mean transit vans selling tat, not traditional items like we'd been led to believe, the indoor market was like any other anywhere, on top of all this it was pouring down, I know nothing can be done about the weather but we were just kicked off the bus with a "see you in two hours", on the way back we had to stop off at a 'handicraft and pottery' place, this was nothing more than a tiny garden garden centre, again selling sub standard tat. A waste of time and money. The VIP 'journey into the past' trip was excellent by comparison, the driver/guide was brilliant. The visit to the sand sculptures was ok but a little spoilt by reps that couldn't count, holding the coach up, and a rather pointless trip to an equestrian centre for some undrinkable wine and inedible finger snacks. We have stayed at other "Platinum' hotels where an air line check-in service was available, not so here, we were told we could buy a 'priority' check-in for when we got to the airport, which they really recommended "because Faro airport can be terrible if you don't" , as it turned out, we just breezed through no problem. All in all, I would say that it was an average but expensive 3 star holiday, would we return? probably not. Would we use Thomson again? probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near reception due to noise levels from bar, restaurants, lifts and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

Is seems to us that your holidays did not started in the most appreciated way to you.

Your compliments and comments about our accommodations and hotel in are extremely appreciated! We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the loudness in the restaurants and also the animation.

Nevertheless it is great to understand that you have liked the hotel in general, while having some experiences that may have not been up to your standards, mainly with the transfers and also with the excursions.

We hope to see you back with us again here at Hotel Alvor Baia in the very near future!


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is contemporary in style, very clean but sterile feeling. Better suited in my opinion to business clients. The bedrooms are well equipped and comfortable. The large open public spaces including the restaurants create echoing and noise to pitch to such a level it was difficult to hold a conversation. Lacked the ambience expected from a Platinum level hotel. If you are expecting entertainment throughout the day and in the evening prepare to be very disappointed. The pool is large and wraps around front of hotel. Unfortunately this is overlooked by a petrol station. Sun loungers and parasols in very short supply. Long queues at the bars of which there are just two. No waiter service. We struggled to find anywhere to sit in the evenings.

Room Tip: Avoid room which overlooks hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review. I regret that your stay was not up to your expectations.

Regarding some of your comments, since the end of August we are having excess of Sun loungers and Parasols. Also, regarding the queues at the bars, they take no more than 2 minutes for the clients to be served.

I assure you that all your observations have been taken in consideration and for sure that we will try improve on all of them.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was of a good standard, the rooms were just what we expected after reading trip adviser,our room was on the second floor No 239 and when the door closed any noise was non existent to us, the balcony was very generous with sun, it also over looked the pool area which I might add is huge sun beds were plentiful while we were there.
The staff were very helpful and polite, we took this trip as a 25th wedding anniversary,
the food was of a good quality although some repeats over the 7 days we were there.
I would like to add that on first arrival we saw the queue at the bar mentioned in other reviews, this was a turn off at first glance, but after using this system we thought it a great idea as you did get served quickly, and what's more there was non of that looking across the bar thinking I was here before you! it brought some order to what is usually a scrum at some hotels.
I would like to take this opportunity to say special thanks to Sergio who was very polite and welcoming to to my wife & I.
Last but by no means least a great big THANK YOU to Tanya in the Spa who was very genuine hard working and pleasant, and delight to meet :) we hope to visit your Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It is very nice to understand that you were touched personally by some of our staff. This is the Portuguese way, and what we are known for - excellent welcoming. Now, after reading your review we will be expecting your return very soon to check on our colleagues again and all the rest of the staff members. We will all be here to welcome you again.

Your personal compliments will be given to our colleagues.

We hope to see you back with us again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 (a 4 and 2.5 year old) 29 August for a week with First Choice.
Arrived after a short flight and 45 minute transfer. Problem with room as on my passport I have a different name to my husband but sorted out by polite and friendly staff. Asked to change to a quieter room - no problem.

Room lovely, clean, modern and a perfect size with large balcony overlooking garden. Spotless bathroom and efficient air-con. Rooms cleaned every day. Felt the cooker was a bit of a waste of space in an all-inc hotel but microwave and fridge great if you have children.

Magnificent pool, towels reserving sunbeds are removed around 9.30am after a warning letter left. Not a problem for us as we are up early but an easily resolved problem for the hotel: buy more sunbeds!!! Kids loved the pool and playground. 4 year old loved the kids club and especially the young woman in charge- age deserves special mention for being so lovely!

Food good, fab selection but the downside of restaurants are the noise - like a university refectory. We ate out on the last night so someone could bring my food to me <lazy>. Drinks selection good and bar service polite with effective queue system.

I do feel if you have paid all inc you should get your drinks until you leave especially as we checked in at 9pm on day one and out at 12pm on day 7 but did not leave until 5. Lunch is provided though.

Alvor is worth the coach or taxi ride, awesome beach.

All in all, pleased we picked this hotel for our last minute getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

The way your review was written and the attention to detail (some) make us congratulate you also. It is very important for us to have this type of review to know also what we are doing right, form our clients perspective.

We hope to see you back with us again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.