We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento to your Saves list
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back from 10 nights here. First impressions are of the hotel design, very modern and impressive. The rooms are spacious and very well designed and the maid service was very impressive. Food was great and the fresh fish was fantastic. We went in trepidation of the noise in the restaurants after reading reviews. It is noisy as you would expect when a lot of people are in a large space with just hard furnishing and floor etc, but the staff were doing their best to keep plate clattering to a minimum and it was not as bad as we feared, though the rooms may benefit from sound absorbing pictures or something on walls ?
The sun beds were my bug bear - if you were not in position by 8am at the latest, then you would struggle to secure beds and parasols - everyone reserves so you have to do the same. It means that lay-ins are not advisable which is a shame on holiday ! The only solution is for the hotel to invest in maximum capacity beds so no one goes without...there is plenty of grass for them to go on.
Sun beds aside, the pool area is amazing and the pool great for the kids being one depth and 07:30 is a great time to do your exercise lengths to burn off all the lovely food and drink and you secure your beds as a bonus !
The land train to the beach was fun, the last train back is very busy so be prepared to walk, but it only takes about 10-15 minutes albeit uphill ! We were lucky to get one passenger on the train with bags and beach towels which made the walk easier.
We had a great holiday and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to families but couples may get annoyed with having to get up to get sun beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

Your compliments and very acurate comments about our accommodations and services were extremely apreciated. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the lack of enough sunbeds. We hope this is not the case on your next visit.

We hope to see you back with us again here at Hotel Alvor Baia in the very near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    371
    159
    50
    20
See reviews for
401
289
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good hotel, couple of the comments below are true, I.e music and sun beds. Ultimately didn't spoil our holiday. Most staff are lovely and friendly. Although they seemed to have new staff every day in different areas. Food was good but not too varied. Rooms are plenty big enough. Mostly clean, but working in the trade I do prefer the bedding to be changed more often than was done. Had a great 10 days.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Alvor Baia.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our hospitality and services.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied bedding rotation. We will access this issue with the housekeeping department. Please accept our apologies for this.

We would be very pleased to have the privilege of welcoming you again at the Alvor Baia.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel . Our party consisted of husband , wife , daughter , two sons and grandson so the age was quite varied . All six of us had a great time , the rooms are superb , very roomy and clean . The pool area was huge and there were a few issues with sunbeds and parasols but it is basically impossible to satisfy over 1500 guests in this area. The food was varied and mostly enjoyable . The evening entertainment was poor " Mr &Mrs " , " Bingo " , " Organist ", generally of very poor standard for a 4 star hotel. Cocktail lovers will be dissapointed as all inclusive guests are only entitled to whatever is the cocktail of the day. Staff generally friendly , daytime entertainment team really good with the kids. I would recommend this hotel to families of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our team was excellent and exceeded all your expectations.

Our guests’ feedback is of great value to us, and we will take your suggestion into consideration when adjusting our Cocktail menus rotation.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenient caused by our animation team as it has not exceeded your expectations.

We will be waiting for your next visit for you to confirm that we have improved our services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just back yesterday after 11 day break. Prior to going had read a few worrying reviews of the restaurants in this hotel. I'd like to say that having travelled widely in Europe and the USA and having stayed anywhere from basic to 5 star accommodation, I feel qualified to comment. The room we had was super, have only had better once before; the food was of a very good standard, I am a fish lover, my husband isn't and both of us enjoyed a great lunch and dinner every day. Sunbeds were never an issue and there was also ample seating with tables outside. Yes the evening entertainment was somewhat repetitive but it was preferable to some others I've experienced; it was in the background, relaxing and suitable for the style of the hotel. We found all staff friendly and efficient including the manager who stopped to chat, smiling as he did so. Previous comments refer to the restaurants as being canteen like: they are large, so is the hotel. They are controlled by an excellent team and we were never once hurried or felt as though we were anything other than valued customers. The busyness was well managed and never once was anything unavailable. I have stayed in a 5 star hotel where the atmosphere was so hushed that it bordered on the funereal- I know which I preferred!
The second half of our stay was busier with children than the first part of our stay and they were well supervised by their parents. Some guests were moaning about the number of children but this hotel isn't a couples only hotel so it's a chance you take.
This hotel was the setting for a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday and I'd like to take this opportunity to thank the staff for the excellent service they provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 4 star hotel an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Indeed, while reading carefully your review, i came to the conclusion that you are more than qualified to write about us. You had the ability to pin point the most relevant issues to us and to our clients.

It was excellent to read that we are on your top choice for family holidays, while having traveled around the world. Our commitment is the excellency on the services, and in reality we are helped by this wonderful and very modern hotel structure.

We wish you to come back soon to visit us and continue your experience in our presence,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Alvor Baia. We travelled with our 6month old son and had a great time.

Hotel.
The hotel is beautiful, it looks exactly the same as it does in pictures, the rooms are so modern and clean, and really really spacious! The balcony's are huge!! Two flat screen tv's which do have a few English channels. The bathrooms is lovely, and has a bath which was great for bathing our baby. The rooms are equipped with a kitchen, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and a few plates and glasses. I imagine you would need to ask in reception for saucepans (if you wanted to cook) as our room didn't have any -but we were on all inclusive so didn't need them. Air con was also included. We emailed and requested a pool view a few days before we got to the hotel, as we would need to go back to the room for our son to nap, we wanted a pool view as after reading some of the reviews they get the sun all day. We had a pool view and it was great. Stayed in room 337. :)

The reception area/bars/spa/games room etc are spotless, there's always someone cleaning which is nice to see.

Food.
We thought the food was good, after reading some of the reviews about the 'canteen' we didn't really know what to expect but I really don't understand why people complain. We thought the restaurant was fine, it's quite modern looking as is the rest of the hotel, you help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks, tea/coffee and there's plenty of clean plates and cutlery. There are two restaurants, Blue - adults only (however we did see some older children dinning in there) Green which is for family's. we though this was a great idea. There is a little section for children with there own buffet section which is really cute. People who don't want to listen to children's screaming (as they all do it!) then go and eat in the Blue restaurant. The food was lovely, a really large and fresh salad selection every lunch/dinner time and lots of fresh fish &meat being cooked in front of you which I personally like, the food doesn't look like its been sat around like I've seen before at other all inclusives hotels we've stayed at. The staff working in the restaurants are so lovely, they loved our son and couldn't do enough for us.deserts were good too, Portuguese tarts were our favourite! Got to be the best breakfast sections we've seen too, the full English (of you want that on holiday) is superb, and the waffles are delicious!!

Location
The beach is fab!!! beautiful!! we took water and bots with us tho as there are only a few little cafes, and they charge beach prices, €3.80 for two cans of coke, The hotel is about a ten minute trip on the free shuttle train the hotel supplies to the beach, it's quite a nice little ride our baby son enjoyed it. We did walk one day there are only pavements half way so its not ideal with young children so I would say to catch the train to and from the hotel. It gets quite full so get there 10tens early! Esp the 5pm return from the beach. You can walk into alvor town &harbour from the hotel it's just downhill -the harbour is really nice if you fancy a nice meal one night I'd recommend to go down there. There's a spar just next to the hotel, to pick up water and bits for your room.

The pool.
The pool is huge, really good for children, had a separate children's pools and the main pool area is inclined so was great for the baby. It is cold but the sea is too, the temp as it was a quick dip was just what we need. Although there are signs saying not to reserve sun eds, everyone does, we always found a sunbed and parosol, but some people did sit on the grass, which is fine. THe hotel provides towels but you do have to of a deposit of €20 a towel which we didn't know. They change the, as many times as you like tho so it's great.

We enjoyed the hotel, holiday so much we are booking again for next year, :)

Room Tip: Definately worth a visit if you like modern, spam outs And clean hotels,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 4 star hotel an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

what a fabulous review you have given us. It was a pleasure to read it as much as it was a pleasure to receive you. Also with such a complete review, it will now be easier for our future guests to know what to expect before arriving.

Once again we are very glad about all your comments and are counting the days into welcoming you back int Alvor Baia for your holidays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

What a gem of a hotel, we travelled with two young kids and we couldn't have found a better place. The swimming pool is ideal for toddlers and the smaller pool is ankle deep. There is room for everyone in this hotel, the food is fabulous with lots of choice, yes it can be like a canteen at times but they are catering for a huge amount of people and I would personally pick quality of food over ambiance any day.
Evening entertainment wasn't my cup of tea but we ventured down to alvor most nights and tried to support the local businesses too.
We hope to go back next year and it's not often I say that!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Alvor Baia aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 4 star hotel an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Your compliments and comments about our accommodations, the pool and the excellency of the food choice are extremely appreciated!

We hope to see you and your family back with us again here at Hotel Alvor Baia in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Didn't enjoy having to get up at 8am to get a sunbed, food was good and varied, entertainment was atrocious , guy on a organ playing the same tunes every night , friendly staff apart from the manager who never smiled, and the hotel entertainment team played gangster rap music at the poolside with a lot of swearing, and this only 20 mtrs from the kids pool, when we complained to the thomson rep she said she hadn't heard it, but it happened every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonçalo S, General Manager at Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Alvor Baia. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.

We would like to excuse ourselves due to the fact that we could not exceed your expectations regarding the sunbeds and the Animation.

Also in my personal name, because i was not able to smile as i am always asking my staff to do. I try to be courteous and friendly to all our clients, but from time to time it might be difficult to address them all. My sincere apologies.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.