We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much agree with everything so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Alvor Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Alvor Bay to your Saves list
Luna Alvor Bay
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Urb. Torralta, Torre J, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty much agree with everything so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived home on Saturday and overall we thought the place offerred really good value for money with a great location.

We got this with a deal from Travelzoo, which meant that we paid £315 each inc. transfers which we thought was a good price for what we got.

Pretty much everything has been said before. The rooms are extremely well appointed in terms of self catering facilities and everything has been newly refurbed, so is still looking fresh and modern.
Large single beds, i reckon 3ft 6 each pushed together. My hubby found them a bit hard but I thought they were just about ok.

The beach takes only a few minutes to walk to and is wide and long, really lovely. Only problem for me is that the waves were too big for me to get into it -I am a renowned wimp though!

The pool itself was fine. Only problem being that there just weren't enough sunbeds. They only have about 20 for I think about 140 appts, so you'd have thought they'd've done their maths abit better there!
Having said that, if you go to the Dunas something complex you can use their pool for 5 euros each. Wished we'd known that from day one.

The service we found to be abit hit and miss depending on who was on the front desk. Some people were great but others were less than forthcoming. (E.g when we had to change rooms due to a very noisy water heater!)

We found Alvor itself a lovely place for couples and enjoyed finding somwhere different to eat every night. Having said that we did go back to Ruccula as it wa by far the best meal we had during our stay.

Also went on a boat trip to Silves which was extremely relaxing with good food and great service. This was with Alvor boat trips.

Hope this is useful. Any Q's please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Rm 603 has a very noisy water heater which will make screaming noise every 5-10 mins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    155
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
258
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 2nights and were pleasantly surprised, the decor was all very new and modern , our apt was a studio, the kitchen was extremely well fitted, everything you would hope to find even a dishwasher, the only thing missing was a dishcloth and tea towel, the bed was really comfy with a beautiful modern bathroom adequately supplied with all the essential toiletries. Our balcony was small but had a lovely sea-view. .
The only downside to these apts was the surrounding area as it seems to be quite run down but it is only a short walk to Alvor and a few mins walk to the lovely beach.
The price is definitely a winning factor as many a 4star hotel would not be of this standard and would cost a lot more. I would recommend these apts to any family looking location and value.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a lovely sea-view that the lower ones won't have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

A great hotel with helpful staff and brilliant, modern rooms.
Great views from balconies and a short walk from the beach which more than makes up for a very small swimming pool would be more than happy to return and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Great views from front facing rooms and also from rooms above swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My friend and I went to this hotel because it was part of a cheap deal but we found it was in a superb location and that the hotel staff were very helpful. Beach 5 mins from door and town 5 mins from door. Swimming pool a bit small but head to the beach instead which was beautiful, clean and with little commercialization.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Lot`s of positives to this hotel as stated in previous reviews . The negative for us was the lack of sunbeds available, 20 for 149 apartments ! All had gone by 8.30. am ,lot`s of people sittting waiting or lying on the grass . I did ask for a customer satisfaction form on the last day none available. We enjoyed Alvor and our stay in Luna Alvor Bay but do think they need to address the situation for next season .

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor with a sea-view , fab views
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Alvor Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Bay

Address: Urb. Torralta, Torre J, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Alvor Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Alvor Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alvor Bay Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Alvor Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.