We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel highly recommended if you have no children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Delfim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Delfim Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Delfim Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel highly recommended if you have no children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were upgraded to all inclusive after our hotel the Pestena Viking was double booked.I read the previous reviews and was a little worried.
But let me put your fears to rest,this is a great hotel if your looking for great food and drink , clean spacious rooms and very helpful staff.
I never write reviews but feel this hotel is getting some poor reviews for no reason.
Golfers will love this hotel, they offer four pick up times so you will need to arrange your pick up times when you arrive.you may have to wait a hour two before getting picked up but a few beers at the golf club is very reasonable about 3.50 euros.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have children, no entertainment in the evenings and very little to do at the pool area.
Honestly you won,t be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    239
    141
    60
    30
See reviews for
184
238
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for a week at the Prestana Delfin Hotel,, with two good friends .... Excellent value for money ,,, great location .. Food is also fantastic .. If you can't find something you like to eat here then what can I say . Rooms very clean and comfortable , maybe a little dated but I would highly recommend this hotel to all.... Give it a try

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A mid-range all inclusive holiday hotel - as long as you don't lose sight of this, you won't be disappointed.
Rooms are spacious (decor a little tired), beds comfortable (firm); decent wardrobe space & more than enough drawer capacity. Small fridge to hold your own supplies. Good sized balcony with small table & 2 chairs - however, the excessive roar from a large unsilenced air conditioning unit at ground level made sitting out an unpleasant experience - we were on the 10th floor!!!! .
Bathroom well equipped - over bath shower, twin wash basins, bidet plus, obviously, toilet. Good quality toiletries replenished daily.
Plenty of hot water - fantastic water pressure for the shower.
Good daily made service.
Public areas clean & tidy but as with the hotel overall, in need of a makeover.
All meals buffet style - breakfast generally a good hot & cold section; lunch & dinner OK but sometimes varying in quality. However, we always found something to our liking - particularly the fish dishes.
Sunset Bar very nice for a quiet drink if you don't want to be in the main bar area where the entertainment is provided - bars overall very good.
Salt water pool - good size but a bit on the cold side. Plenty of sunbeds. Nice grassed area with tree shading. Pool bar with swim up section - however, closed after 2 days & did not re-open. Disappointing since the weather was very hot & sunny!!!
Short walk to a fantastic beach with several very good beach bar/restaurants and a boardwalk along the full length of the beach to Alvor - well worth the walk!
Would visit again but would request a room facing the pool area i.e. away from the offending aircon unit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from holiday at the Delfim. We booked back in November 2012 for the Dom Joao but had an e-mail 1 week before we were due to fly informing us of the change to the Delfim (at least we knew in advance we were going to be put there) although on arrival Thompson still seemed to have us booked in to the Dom Joao as the bus driver stopped there on the way and also on the return journey! Anyway, back to the Delfim, as everyone seems to say the place is slightly dated and the exterior in need of a good paint job. The rooms also need a good overhaul although they were clean and the maid came every day to make up the beds and supply clean towels if needed etc. All inclusive is okay if you want that kind of thing we didn't and although we enjoyed a few free drinks (at least you can help yourself to as much water as you needed) and the snacks the food wa pretty basic and as other people have mentioned, luke warm at the best of times. We only ate in the evening once and then the rest of the time in Alvor where the food and ambiance were far better. Don't know why people have said the pool area is bad it's okay a nice big pool loads of sun beds and free towels and with the beach only a short distance away it was fine. We would have liked to have stayed at the Dom Joao as this is what we thought we had booked but apparently (on talking to a staff member) Pestana only guarantee you a room so yoyu may not get what you think you have booked we even spoke to a young couple who had been moved from the 5 star Alvor Beach for 3 nights of their 8 night holiday because of overbooking so it seems to be a regular thing which Thompson need to address. Anyway, overall we enjoyed the holiday the weather being the main thing and made use as I say of the free drinks. Would I go there again? not if I had the choice, but it was okay and the staff were always helpful and friendly and also our rep Claire who did her very best to look after us and was always jolly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from at week at this all-inclusive hotel. As other people have mentioned, it does look tired and in need of a bit of TLC , particularly from the exterior . We were given sea view rooms which had lovely views across the bay and the roome were very spacious and comfortable, if a little dated. However, rooms are generally very quiet and comfortable with linen changed on a daily basis. The outside pool is very cold and the indoor pool is somewaht exposed to the bar area and was totally taken over by families with young children.
As the previous reviewer states, the evening meals are a bit hit and miss whilst breakfast and lunch are perfectly adequate. There are snacks at teatime, it's unfortunate that, whilst tongs are provided, guests seem to treat these as superfluous to their needs !!
The choice and availability of drinks is fine. One drawback on this was that the pool bar closed after a couple of days of being there and no warning of this was given.
We found staff to be helpful and pleasant, it's a shame this can't be said of some of the holidaymakers!!!
Entertainment is very limited apart from a folkdance show , which was well worth seeing.
Alvor itself is lovely with plenty of restaurants and we only regretted that we did not try more of these.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room. If you're not keen on heights , floor 4 is about right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceredigion wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently returned as a golfing group from the Delfim on an all-inclusive basis having been transferred from the Dom Joao.Overall it was perfectly adequate.Food available all day virtually although evening meals were a bit of hit and miss-one exceptional night followed by a woeful menu.Good selection of drinks.Staff were superb throughout hotel although treated very rudely and impolitely by many Brits who have no manners whatsoever.Hotel is dated but great location on a fantastic beach.Rooms fine and cleaned daily.Ideal for golfing groups and short taxi journey to Alvor.Good for bars and restaurants.Hotel is perfectly adequate unless you are very fussy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a week 10/09/13 reception staff friendly asked for a double bed and a sea view on arrival and was given room 1401 a livery large double beded room with a spectacular view, bed linen and towels changed daily. English tv on in room. Staff friendly and polite when spoken to. Now the down side, meals quite poor and of poor quality, and never hot always slightly warm, tea and coffee out of machines and always Luke warm. Entertainment poor and nothing on at all during the day. Did I have a good holiday yes would I return to this hotel NOOO WAY.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Delfim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.