We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golfing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Delfim Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Delfim Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“golfing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Delfim between 1st- 8th July. We were quite worried about the previous reviews that we had read, but when we arrived the lady on reception was very friendly and helpful, there was nine of us in our party, they had made sure one of the rooms was ready so we could all put our luggage in there until the other rooms were available. We were pleasantly surprised by how big they were, ok if you look closely maybe a little dated, but they were very clean, and towels were changed every day. The food was very good for all inclusive, and the bar staff were very friendly, no problem getting drinks. There was always plenty of beds around the pool area, and when the golfers of our party got back each day about 14:45 they had no problem going into the dining room still plenty of food available and they were asked if they wanted more before the dishes were cleared away.It was close to Alvor centre a 25min stroll.or short taxi ride of which there were always plenty. The staff were all very friendly , our party ranged in age from 10 to 68, and when we left everyone in the the group has asked if we can book the same hotel next year for the golf trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    213
    128
    56
    28
See reviews for
166
209
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

just back from hotel delfim had agreat holiday.Rooms cleaned every day fresh towels both for bathroom and pool and beach. Great selection of food something for everyone. Staff very helpful. We were with our 14month granddaughter and she was well catered for. Beach beautiful would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

...the pool was modernized because is outdated and especially not adequate for children's. The only pool they have for children's is a joke....but in the positive aspects the shadows are GREAT, good to do a nap :-)
Despite the hotel & rooms are quite old, doesn't, in my opinion, compromises after all we are there to enjoy the outside and the fabulous sun of Algarve.
Food, in general, is great, the only note I do is towards the juices...too much artificial.

Entertainment at night is fair good. Every day they have something, although doesn't last for more than a hour it is ok, since we were all tired.
Beach is great with plenty of space and in walking distance - easy to go there with kids.

As a summary, I would recommend, but don't expect, as said before, a "real" 4 star hotel in many ways. If you go to enjoy outside, then is great. If you care to much about interiors (decor) also and rooms, etc... you will not enjoy so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pestana Delfim Hotek. All your comments benefited my best attention and I apologize for all the inconveniences.
We hope to have the plessure of your future visit,
Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at The Perstana Delfim between 1st – 8th July. We were originally booked into the Pestana Dom Joao ll but were contacted 48 hours before we were due to travel by “On The Beach” to say that due to issues beyond their control our accommodation at the Pestana Dom Joao II had been cancelled. We were offered the Pestana Delfim. As you can imagine we were not happy but felt we had no other option due to time constraints. We were pleased to find we had been upgraded to all inclusive on arrival which was a bonus as we had only booked B & B at The Dom Joao II.

The hotel is quite dated and the outside needs a bit of a face lift, however the interior has fared a little better. We booked two rooms which were both spacious and had connecting doors. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the linen and towels were changed daily. Each room had a small fridge and safety deposit box which you could hire at a cost of 2 euros per day.

The hotel has 3 pools, a large circular salt water pool (very cold), a small outside children’s pool and a small inside children’s pool. Once again the pools reflect the age of the hotel and they could do with a bit of updating. There were plenty of sunbed’s no matter what time of day you visited the pool you were guaranteed to get one. The hotel supplies beach towel which was a bonus, however we found the pool staff to be quite surly.

There is free wifi in public areas but the access it you needed a new code each day which was a bit of a pain.

There is also a children’s club, from what we witnessed they didn’t seem to do a lot, however our children did not attend so I may be doing them an injustice.

The hotel’s restaurant is self-service, there was always plenty of food but after a few days it became quite repetitive. They serve snacks by the pool bar from 4 O’clock but once again these are very basic and not very nice if I’m honest. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid for all inclusive considering this hotel is a four star the quality of the food was quite poor. However as we only ever intended to have B & B we ate out in the evening at one of the many restaurants in Alvor.

I feel I have been quite critical of this hotel; however Its location to the beach and the small village of Alvor makes it a good place to stay. We had a really relaxing holiday. Would I stay at this hotel again? Maybe not but I would definitely stop in the same area of the Algarve, its only 45 minutes by car from Faro airport and a short drive to some of the prettiest towns and villages the Algarve has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First time we have used Jet 2 Holidays and after reading the previous reviews on this hotel was a little apprehensive but need not have worried. We booked this holiday with a couple of friends for a relaxing break in the sun and this hotel and its location and grounds delivered just what we were looking for.

The hotel location is great just a short walk to the beach which was very clean and child friendly lots of sun beds cafes and facilities. It is a short walk of 30 mins to Alvor along the beach which we did on several occasions.

The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent and lots of choice. The hotel has a large garden area with lots of trees and flowers. Our room was very spacious and clean we had a view of the garden and the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a resort that is very child friendly and unspoilt I would really recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a sea view but are much quieter than those overlooking the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back !
Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely holiday with no major issues, but we didn't get off to the best start before we even left - the holiday company rang us to advise that our original hotel booking at Pestana Dom Joao ll had to be cancelled due to overbooking..... I've since read that other customers received a similar call so I guess there's a bit of a negative reputation being built up by the guys at Pestana Dom Joao ll.

Anyway, on a positive note, we were offered a free upgrade at their sister hotel 'Pestana Delfim' which was all inclusive. Our original booking had been half-board. Nevertheless, we will never find out if our original hotel was nicer!

So, after a small delay at Faro airport for our transfers, we arrived 1hour 35 mins later. The reception staff are friendly and helpful upon arrival. The check-in was seamless.

Some observations around how things could be improved in and around the hotel:

We feel that the food was quite 'samey' and repetitive. You had your basic salad section, and a meat section which included one type of fish and another type of meat and some chips. The soft juice selection was generous, however, they were not fresh and really sugary. Snacks are offered late afternoon, but again, quite cheap/tacky food.


One of the main disappointments was the swimming pool. As nice as it looked, it was salt water. I found that the inside edges of the pool was full of scum all the way around. You do get fresh towels daily which is good.

Unlimited supply of bottled mineral water is also generous.

The night entertainment needs big improvement. The hotel boasted 'live music' most nights but we quickly discovered it would be just one or two blokes on a small stage playing the keyboard to some backing tracks.

Wifi is free, however, it's a bit of a pain accessing it around most of the hotel and you have to request new login details daily at reception. The wifi should be available in the hotel rooms and around the pool - for this day and age anyway. It's not essential but most people have handheld devices such as ipads/smart phones etc.

Air con is available in the rooms, but our opinion, the air con vents could have been better placed in the room as the air didn't circulate effectively enough. The bar located near reception could do with some air con - absolutely boiling of an evening. Not even a cold drink helps!

The staff are quick and efficient - especially in the restaurant.

There's a couple of tennis courts/basket ball courts for those who want to be more active. The beach is about a 5 minute walk. Beware of the life guards down there - firstly, they appear to have no personality and secondly, don't appear to like you swimming in the sea! There were 'red flags' up on a few of the days we were there due to some of the waves and so-called strong currents.

If you wish to hire a sun lounger on the beach - it will set you back 8-12 euros per day.

The nearby town of Alvor is fair to say - crap. One or two places to have a drink but there's no shops. Lots of main roads and just doesn't feel relaxing in general.

Despite the negatives listed above, we still had a nice time and got a lovely tan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Regarding our F&B facilities,I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. If the others can do, I’m sure we will also be able to meet our guests expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Family holiday from 24th June til 4th July

myself and my family (9 in total) stayed at this hotel, it was brilliant, the staff are very friendly and work very long hours, the food was lovely but unfortunately do not cater for children at meals times but there was a snack bar at 4 pm which was better for our 4 and 7 year old.
The hotel is in a brilliant location and the gardens and surroundings were wonderful. Plenty of Sunbeds. it has a salt water pool which is freezing but ok once you get in!
The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily and fresh towels every day too.
we went to Zoomarine which was absolutly fab and worth every penny.
This was the best holiday we had and it was also our first time in Portugal.
look forward to going again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Any of our hotels
Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Delfim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.