We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Delfim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Delfim Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Delfim Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited the Pestana Delfim Hotel last year in May only getting around to writing a review now. Ok, this isn’t a 5 star hotel, but what it is, is a comfortable clean 3 star. It is all inclusive, the food was a good mix, honestly if you are very very fussy, please don’t go all inclusive. There was beef, chicken, pork, fish, rabbit, lots of choice, and yes if you do stay for 2 weeks there will be repetition. The hotel is clean with 2 bars, both fine but when busy service was a bit slow, drinks were ok, tried beer vodka and port all fine. The evening entertainment in the down stairs bar, was… hmmm not good, but it kept us entertained for all the wrong reasons :) . In the afternoon there were snacks served at the inside bar near the pool, toasties, hot dogs, burgers and all were very nice. Staff were fine, but wouldn’t exactly say friendly. Pool area good but loungers a little hard. Path at back of pool leads to beautiful beach, gate closes at 9pm if you are going to eat at one of the beach side restaurants. Try O Luís nice spot near path from hotel and on the beach, perfect for lunch or dinner with very friendly staff. Alvor itself is a nice town tried a couple of restaurants and bars there.

All in all a great break, good weather, hotel was perfect for what we wanted, only issue was some people who seem to just look for things to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! On the other hand we are sorry that the entertainment offered at our Hotel did not meet your expectations and we promise we will do our best to focus on that!
Kind regards
Ricardo Teixeira, Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    249
    142
    55
    26
See reviews for
222
212
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early April 2013. Having read some reviews we were somewhat apprehensive before we arrived,however we were more than pleased with the quality of food and service. The staff were all friendly and helpful. As this is an all inclusive hotel, the meals were a buffet but even though there were not many guest at the hotel there was always plenty of choice at each meal. The room was comfortable and spacious and spotlessly clean.
We had a room with a sea view which had a fantastic view of the whole bay. If you want a lively, hectic holiday this hotel at this time of the year is probably not for you but for us it was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Up grade to a sea room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Ricardo Teixeira , Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

me and my husband stayed here in september the weather was really nice and the staff were friendly the food was really nice with buffet style coffee machines around hotel so you could take when ever you liked the bar served all drinks including cocktails not a lot hotels do cocktais with the all inclusive the bar served til 12 althought we were aske to be quiet one night when drinking after 12 !the hotel rooms were cleaned daily and we requested sea view and was giving with no extra charge the entertainment wasnt the best and could be improved greatly overall it was great relaxing hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Delfim Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Alvor/ Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ricardo Teixeira, Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Myself and my wife has stayed here a number of times starting back some 14 years ago. We've gone elsewhere in more recent yeears in Alvor. The decor, beds, furnishings etc are exactly the same since that time and are badly in need of replacement. The bathrooms did get an upgrade about 8 or 9 years ago.The recent change to ALL INCLUSIVE only I think is also a mistake as the food will get very "samey" if you're there over a good few days. Its a pity this hotel isn't more modern and clean in its rooms and perhaps a change back to choices as to the level of board offered i.e. offer a choice of all inclusive, half, B&B and even room only. The location of the hotel otherwise is 2nd to none. Bit sad that a place we formerly loved has slipped down the order so much.

Room Tip: Stay away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We returned to the resort after an amazing holiday in 2011. This year we went a few weeks earlier and found it even better, the pool bar was open the food selection was better (even though we had no complaints last time.) a truly relaxing time with a great town near by full of great restaurants & bars should you feel the need to have a change of scenery. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velvary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent 12 great days in Pestana Delfim. Upon our arrival, our TA informed us that the hotel was overbooked (we bought the trip last-minute) and that they´ll accomodate us in the other Pestana in the town (Pestana Dom Jao II - better hotel but out of our price range too...), the other hotel was amazing! Pestana Delfim is equiped with older furniture, nevertheless, the rooms are nice, tidy, include a minifridge and a huge wardrome, the bathroom was great, new and clean. Our room was on 11th floor with a view on the pool and part of the beach, really stunning.
We loved the restaurant and the bars. Food was plentiful, good range of different kinds of meat, tasty fish, pasta, veggies, desserts and beverages. I liked the self-service especially considering drinks including sangria, beer, white and red wine (champagne for breakfast - seriously? but tasted good :D), soft drinks. Staff was quick and kept the place clean with a smile on their faces. Bars were great too, the bar on the ground floor was probably the best, they served slushies (good when sunbathing at the poolside) and icecream all day and it wasnt as crowded at night as the upper bar. The pool bar was poor though, we rather walked to the inner bar for our beverages. Snacks after the lunch were good too, hamburgers, sandwiches, hotdogs, basic fruit, youghurts, salami, cheese and vegetables. Still plenty of all food.
The pool was ok, not many people used it, the water was salt but that wasnt a problem for me. Maybe the sides and ropes would use a little cleaning, but the water was clean.
The staff in the hotel were very pleasant, I didnt have any problem with anyone.
Wifi was paid but you could get free access for half an hour at the reception. The signal was good only in the bar area on the first floor though. But its your holiday, dont waste it browsing internet :)
The beach is in about 5minute walking distance, its down the hill but its not so steep so the way up is ok. The beach is amazing, one of the best beaches I´ve visited, there are some facilities like restaurants etc. but we didnt go there as we had a good service in the hotel so I cannot comment on that.
The town centre is further away, about 15-minute walk on the abandoned road so it was not such a nice stroll. But if you can, you can take a local bus, it isnt expensive and goes every now and then. It stops just in the centre full of pubs, restaurants and shops.
All in all, I would go back to Pestana Delfim as I had a great holiday there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having spent a lovely holiday at this hotel 4 years ago we were confident in making a return visit Big mistake On arrival the receptionist was rude and did not look at us as he stated our room was not ready That was not a problem as we were quite happy to have lunch and relax until it was The room was adequate but a little tired looking The food was terrible I admit to being a fussy eater but my husband who rarely complains also found it to be below expectations It was cold and very little variety
The entertainment was very poor and the staff overall were very apathetic
Ithink that being all inclusive has had a bad effect on this hotel and standards have fallen
I still love Alvor but would not stay at this hotel again as it has not lived up to my expectations

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#6 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#19 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501 904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Delfim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.