We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabondo

Vagabondo
Rue Dr Frederico Ramos Menzes, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
282 458 726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate here 4 times within the two weeks we were in Alvor and we all had very good meals.
The service was always good and would recommend it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    82
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely middle terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a few evenings here and enjoyed them all, starters, garlic bread, mushrooms, Algarve sausage, prawns then for main Chicken Piri piri, Chicken mushroom sauce, Beef stroganoff, Mixed Grill, and more dishes all fab and nice staff

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been holidaying regularly in alvor for 7 years and have always visited vagabondos. So therefore it was a must again for us this year. However we found the quality had gone down, the menu has not changed in 7 years and this was disappointing. The food was nice, mozzarella sticks are nice but are made by the fig relish which is delicious however at 5 euros its expensive as you only get 4 little ones ! Not filling ! The ribs are fantastic and the main reason that we visit. Always been a massive fan of vagabondos but with new restaurants popping up all the time with more reasonable prices they really need to up their game! Unfortunately I feel they are trading on past reputation ! Probably won't visit again and that's a shame as it used to be a favourite of ours !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Piri Piri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best Piri Piri chicken we had in Alvor! Bit pricey but lovely terrace and good menu. Would definitely go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good venue, friendly service and average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sat on the terrace which was very atmospheric. The waitress was very attentive all evening. The food was average (perfectly ok to eat but nothing to get excited about). Starter arrived quickly but we had quite a wait for our main course. We paid E81 for our meal, which included a shared starter, five main meals (2 children's), various drinks and a bottle of wine. Generally good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabondo also viewed

 

Been to Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.