We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Alvor?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazza

La Piazza
Rossio Grande Lote C R/c A, Alvor, Portimao 8500-531, Portugal
+351 282 458 946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 116 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Creperie, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Leeds, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Alvor?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We always come to the La Piazza on our first night and drink a bottle of Alvor Red and taste some fantastic home cooking. It sums the atmosphere and culture of Alvor, for us.
The pasts is freshly made. The sauces are fantastic and everything is very well prepared, and the pizzas are special. This is our favourite restaurant in Alvor: it may be plastic chairs outside, but if you like great food at a very reasonable price then you'll be hard pushed to find better in Alvor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    13
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This restaurant is one of our favourite places in Alvor, the food is lovely and the service is great. Being located at the 'bottom' of Alvor it is quiet and relaxed, a great place to enjoy a lovely evening away from the hustle and bustle at the top of Alvor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Half way through the holiday my wife and I got a bit fed up with big restaurant meals and decided a Pizza would be nice for a change; luckily we stopped at La Piazza. After a warm welcome from the waitress we ordered a bottle of house white which was very acceptable. We then ordered a pizza between us along with a side order of Garlic bread and spicy sausage. The main course was wonderful and was just what we wanted. We were offered a dessert menu and ordered an ice cream with chocolate carmel and nuts with 2 spoons. A short time later a mountainous glass bowl of ice cream appeared, it was delicious but definitly a sharing dish. A complimentary glass of port finished the meal which cost 28.00 euro before tip. We revisited agin 3 nights later and were joined by a group of 16-20 young Portuguese people aged 14-18 who were amazingly well behaved and repeated the dose same result, 2 very satisfied customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This restaurant is located on the way out of town towards Portimao. We have frequented this restaurant for the past few years. The pizzas are very very good, so fresh and an extensive menu.

I've not eaten much pasta here as I'm ALWAYS tempted by the pizzas, but the starters and salads are also very tasty. We usually pop in here on our first night of arrival or for a take away on the way out of town back home, both eat in and take away are of the same quality - I make sure we get a taxi home instead of walking so the pizza doesn't cool down too much!!

Well worth a trip for a couple or a big party, service never falters either way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and a lovely warm homely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I live near Alvor and often visit this restaurant either to sit in and be spoiled by the wonderful service and atmosphere (the little curtains and checked tabalecloths make you instantly feel at home) or sometimes we do a takeaway if we are in a rush. The pizza are always excellent and freshly made to order with plenty of toppings which you can adapt to your preference.

When friends or family come from the UK we always take them to this great little place on one of the nights of their stay and I have yet to hear anything remotely like a complaint from anyone, they all love the food, the service and the restaurant in general.

Well worth a visit. We truly love it. Below they ask me to list when I visited, I visit often living here so just randomly selected a month.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.