We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking Abroad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Restaurant

Phoenix Restaurant
Rua d.Joao II, Alvor, Portimao 8500-012, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 115 restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home Cooking Abroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant is located in a side street just off the island where the taxis queue for fares.
English owned and run we ate here once in midweek and once for sunday lunch.
Good food well cooked,and good sized portions at reasonable prices,the staff were
friendly and efficient.
I would recommend this cosy restaurant to anyone with a taste for home cooking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    55
    18
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stumbled across this little gem one rain-soaked Sunday morning and in need of shelter and a warm breakfast. I chose the 'Phoenix'. I wasn't disappointed. Piping hot food, friendly staff and a homely ambience. I was so impressed, I returned there that very same evening and, subsequent evenings, working my way through the menu! Great food at reasonable prices. What more could you ask for. I thoroughly recommend anyone holidaying in the Alvor area, to give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great English Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

2nd visit this year to Alvor and attended this restaurant 4 or 5 times, either for breakfast and/or evening meal. As usual the food was excellent, piping hot, good sized portions - more than you can eat, excellent reception & service from Val, John and Lucy.
This restaurant is spotlessy clean, as our the toilets.
One night I had to queue to wait for a table, as it was so busy, but it was worth the wait.
This will always be a favourite place to eat for me as it is consistantly good all round.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely place to eat, great english breakfast sets you up for the day. Called in a few times in the evening and you get plenty of food at a good price. The staff all really friendly , Val , John and Lucy. Hope to go back to Alvor next year so will defoe have a few visits here again . Thanks everyone at the phoenix love Vicky and Jay.xxx

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Small, but friendly restaurant slightly off the main strip. We visited several times and were never disappointed. The food is freshly cooked, tasty and the portions are large. The menu choice isn't huge but offers lovely home cooking like sunday roasts, steak pie or fish and chips.The puddings are definitely worth a try when you fancy a taste of home - delicious jam sponge or apple crumble and custard! The only thing we would change is the retro music that they play!! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Restaurant also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Phoenix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.