We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Restaurant

Phoenix Restaurant
Rua d.Joao II, Alvor, Portimao 8500-012, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 116 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great English Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

2nd visit this year to Alvor and attended this restaurant 4 or 5 times, either for breakfast and/or evening meal. As usual the food was excellent, piping hot, good sized portions - more than you can eat, excellent reception & service from Val, John and Lucy.
This restaurant is spotlessy clean, as our the toilets.
One night I had to queue to wait for a table, as it was so busy, but it was worth the wait.
This will always be a favourite place to eat for me as it is consistantly good all round.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    5
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely place to eat, great english breakfast sets you up for the day. Called in a few times in the evening and you get plenty of food at a good price. The staff all really friendly , Val , John and Lucy. Hope to go back to Alvor next year so will defoe have a few visits here again . Thanks everyone at the phoenix love Vicky and Jay.xxx

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Small, but friendly restaurant slightly off the main strip. We visited several times and were never disappointed. The food is freshly cooked, tasty and the portions are large. The menu choice isn't huge but offers lovely home cooking like sunday roasts, steak pie or fish and chips.The puddings are definitely worth a try when you fancy a taste of home - delicious jam sponge or apple crumble and custard! The only thing we would change is the retro music that they play!! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“prawns not even fresh, waiter was kinda rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

as i love prawns on our first nite i went for the scampi, big mistake, the minute plate was put in front of me i knew they were not fresh, disgusted to be honest.. waiter was kinda rude when i queried the house wine. will not be returning....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pheonix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We always go to the pheonix as the first port of call. Staff are great & food is always nice.They also do a packed lunch for you homeward bound journey which is great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.