We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is more than enough” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Rio A Vista

Restaurant Rio A Vista
Rus Fredrico Mendez, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
282048562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Swords
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Once is more than enough”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Welcoming staff but the food was very low in standards. Priced the same as other top notch restaurants, expected lower prices for the standard of food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I simply love this place! We return year after year. Sit upstairs on the terrace and watch the world go by! Family run and very child friendly with play area upstairs. Good food and very welcoming!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We sat upstairs on the terrace overlooking the street. The waiter was dedicated just to those of us sitting upstairs, so he was very attentive and polite. Our food was quite good - my husband had steak on a stone and I had grilled salmon, which was excellent! It was served with a variety of vegetables and wonderful little boiled potatoes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not enough staff slow service and undercooked kebabs - shame as lovely setting and very cosy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Better places to eat........we must have gone on a bad night as the food wasn't cooked as the two waiters were rushed off thier feet tryingto serve all the tables.
Marafados just up the road a much better choice!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Visited restaurant on Saturday the 11th February. Excellent restaurant. Went with a group of 16 friends as was out playing golf in the area, part of the group went the night before us and recommended the place so we gave it a try. We had the steak on a stone with the bread and cheese and sauces to start was excellent throughout and were drinking the house red which was excellent for about 7e a bottle. Steak perfect and then you cook it to your own perfection, come with fries etc. The meal was very reasonable at around 25e a head for the food a drink per person. Nice people that own the restaurant which made the experience more enjoyable. When in alvor give this place a try. Will defiantly visit the restaurant next time in the area, totally recommend it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rio A Vista also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Restaurant Rio A Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Rio A Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.