We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First port of call” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capacho

Capacho
Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Typico Portuguese Restaurant with exceptional Staff and superb Food
Ramsgate
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First port of call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dashed in here on our rainy first night in Alvor and received a really friendly welcome. Clams cataplana was my first taste of Portuguese food and I was hooked! Nice atmosphere and attentive but unobtrusive service. A little out of the way but well worth finding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    23
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Black pork shank melted in the mouth. Monkfish kebab cooked to perfection. Desserts lovely. Will eat here again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Portuguese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Typical Portuguese food, with a friendly atmosphere, and good value for money. Just a bit further up from the bus stop and taxi rank on the left hand side.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Portuguese meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On our holiday in Alvor we visited one of the first days this resturent.
It is Protugisk cuisine at its best, service is great and provides you with advice on selecting menu and wine. Absolutely one of the best restaurants in Alvor and with reasonable prices.
We got" pork and clams" and it was prepared so amazing that we had to come back again on the holiday last day.
We will definitely return

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food! Great venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you want a great venue, excellent traditional cuisine and great service, this is the place to go!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capacho also viewed

 

Been to Capacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capacho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.