We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rack of lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Por do sol

Por do sol
Estrada de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-521, Portugal
282459505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
co. donegal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great rack of lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Oh my god rack of lamb to die for only fault is need to tell them you want your food hot otherwise it can be lukewarm, Roy is a gem and very genuine more than I can say for some of the others.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    31
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Restaurant with food to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had an enjoyable meal at Por do sol, straight forward menu, very tasty fresh food unlike some of the other restaurants in Alvor which are very hit and miss. Many customers had lamb on the night which looked good, we had fish which went down a treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“100% RELIABLE FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great atmosphere to eat expertly cooked and served food.
Always a warm reception from Candido,Roy and the staff

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a Memorable Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful for a relaxed and stylish dinner. Excellent service judged just right - not OTT. First rate short balanced menu (long lists suggest much freezer activity) and good wines. Highly recommended, especially the rack of lamb and the incredibly huge prawns.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“why the popularity?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at this restaurant after a tiring day of driving through Portugal. Probably we didn't look polished enough for their taste, because although the place was half empty, they kept us waiting for a table, then kept us waiting for a simple drink, then kept us waiting for the menu, as well. Finally it arrived and it was a mediocre list of dishes. Nothing special and all obviously overpriced. We ordered swordfish. It was OK, but had much better swordfish at more reasonable price before. Then asked for the bill which contained items we didn't even consume and had to ask for a correction.

What really annoyed us is that they created a ridiculous show around serving a simple steak and steamed vegetables to other guests probably in order to justify the prices. Luckily we didn't get this special attention (thanks to the fish), but I feel seriously sorry for the people who fall for this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Por do sol also viewed

 

Been to Por do sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Por do sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.