We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull food warm and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Reds Steakhouse

Big Reds Steakhouse
Estrada de Alvor Mariachique | Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500 783, Portugal
351 936 930 066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 118 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“wonderfull food warm and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

fourth time here,food was good as always and always a warm welcome..this is a small restaurant and can sometimes be a bit manic

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    58
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worst meal in area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Although there was only one other family eating when we arrived, we waited over an hour for a garlic bread starter which was rough. Another 45 mins later our meal arrived and was so disappointing. The ribs were average, the lamb shanks were tasteless. Anyway by then we'd drank one bottle of wine and lost our appetite. The waiter asked our opinion and my husband said 'we'd had better' and he walked off in a huff!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

we visited Big Reds for dinner twice during our 5 day stay in Portugal, the food was fantastic, steaks, ribs, fish, all served and presented to a very high standard, it's not cheap but like they say "you get what you pay for" I would highly recommend a visit to Big Reds, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Superb quality food, had tasty chilli prawns to start, amazing Steak on 'Hot Stone'. The most unbelievable Chocolate Vodka Cheesecake! Yummy Etom Mess! Staff are very friendly and attentive, they even had a Birthday Cake arranged for my boyfriend which was served by the lovely George (son of owner) while singing Happy Birthday! A hidden gem of a place. Will return on our next trip to Alvor. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering Steaks in a relaxed friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Visited Big Red's on Monday after a reccomendation from a friend. We had a lovely meal, everything was presented beautifully, tasted awesome and the staff were really nice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Reds Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Big Reds Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Reds Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.