We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments

Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alvor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments
Save Saved
You added Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Alvor, Portimao, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We got 2 rooms here from Gary & Trina great location great pool. It is a spacious villa with a dishwasher and washing machine which is great if there is lots of children with you. The beach is a 2 minute walk down the road. The Harbour and restaurants our 5 minutes away which is helpful. It's not that busy so no need to reserve sunbeds too early. The pool is big enough but some bits could be shallower as this was a problem for the younger children, I'm not saying all of it has to be toddler friendly as there is a child pool but they might want to have their shoulders under the water. The one thing that was annoying one night when we where going to our rooms we saw a family of 7/8 people with 5/6 kids jumping in the swimming pool at 11pm when the pool opens at 9pm. So we ignored them and went back to our rooms. About 15 mins laterr we heard them dancing in the sprinklers and drinking the water! My mum went out and told them to be quiet as we had 4 and 6 year olds trying to sleep. They went but came back 5 mins later so I turned the lights off and just went to sleep somehow. I'm not downgrading the resort because of this but that was the 1 night I didn't enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a high balcony as if a situation happens then you won't get that much noise but there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Returned last week from a two week holiday in this beautiful complex. The one bedroom apartment which is owned by Garry and Trina is on the first floor and was very spacious and had every bit of equipment that you would ever require. Pools and surrounding areas very clean and well cared for. Apartment is in a wonderful location 10 minutes walk from beautiful beaches and 5 minutes from the lovely fishing village of Alvor. Would highly recommend this apartment to anyone and considering booking again for next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at these apartments from 11 to 21 July and loved every minute of it. The apartments are extremely clean and spacious. The pool area and surrounding grounds are the same. There is an entry system into the apartments, therefore not allowing any random people being able to enter the apartments. We were on the first floor with our balcony looking over the pool area and surrounding grounds.

We dealt with Debbie Burton in the arrangement of our stay at the apartment and have to say that she was lovely, extremely helpful and very efficient. We arrived at the apartment to find a welcome pack provided by Debbie of bread, butter, cheese, ham, wine (red and white), beer and water - this was very welcome given that we arrived at the apartments at around 9.30pm - with a three year old toddler in tow.

The facilities in the apartment are excellent - washing machine, fridge freezer and dishwasher - in fact all my holiday washing was done before coming home - which made a difference.

Cannot recommend these apartments or Debbie Burton highly enough.

We are very keen to return next year with our toddler and new baby in tow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home from a 10 day visit to these apartments. This was the best holiday yet. Have been to Alvor before but this was the first time self catering. We rented a one bedroom, ground floor apartment overlooking the pool. This was just magnificent, loved it! The complex was very secure and the pool area was very spacious. We have two children, aged 6 and 2 and this was great for them. We could easily see the kids in each pool as it was never overcrowded. The apartment itself was very well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher. There was a cupboard full of kids pool toys and a float belt, which my 6 year old wore in the pool every day! The location is central, ideal for families and on the flat. The other people who own/rent in this complex were lovely and keep returning year after year! Says a lot! I will definatly try to book again!! The kids were happy, which made our holiday even better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from a nine day holiday at this beautiful complex. What can I say except that it surpassed all of our expectations. On arrival, Gary (one of the owners) was there to meet us and show us around. The apartment was immaculate and really well laid out. The furnishings are modern and very comfortable. There are four of us including two young teens so the extra bathroom in this two-bedroomed apartment was very welcome. It was almost dark when we arrived and our delight in the interior of the apartment was only outdone by the lovely outdoor area and the complex in general. The pool area is great and there are ample sunbeds for all - no towels on beds! We didn't self-cater on this occasion but the kitchen was extremely well kitted out should we have chosen to do so. The location of the complex is, as other guests have stated, a leisurely walk to the town and ten or so minutes to the beach. We had absolutely no complaints while we stayed here and high praise is indeed due to Gary and Tina Bergin for a job very well done. We certainly hope to return. Great apartment, Great complex, excellent hosts. Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: Apartment 62816
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington Spa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from 10 fantastic days in Alvor. This is the first time we have stayed in this resort, and was not disappointed,lovely harbour and town,days were spent on the magnificent beach or traveling around and most nights visiting Cactus 11 bar,a gem of a place ,thanks Mark and staff from Mr & Mrs ROYAL Leamington Spa!! The apartment we booked was from holiday rentals.com (1016648) it was on the second floor overlooking the sea and the balcony had the sun all day. the flat had everything you needed (apart from a kettle!) and was very clean and well furnished. the complex is very quiet and secure, the most we saw around the pool was 6 people! just a very short walk from Vila da Praia you will find Dunas complex where they have bars and resurants and a supermarket. will definitely visit again and can highly recommend this apartment and complex and resort.

Room Tip: If you like your British food visit Iceland near Albuifeira
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our first family holiday abroad with 2 children (aged 5 and 2) so we were initially nervous about booking a rental accommodation (instead of the usual package deals). We need not have worried...from the initial communication with Gary it instilled us with confidence that things would go smoothly.
Gary met us at the complex when we arrived and showed us round the apartment. We we were very impressed with what was going to be our home for next 11 nights. The kids were especially pleased with the large box of beach/pool toys that we could use for the duration. The apartment was spacious, clean and there was nothing that we could have wanted for. The TV had Sky (all important for the CBeebies channel). The location of the complex is ideal, just a short walk from both the beach and the centre of Alvor. Can also recommend (as other reviews have mentioned) the 2 bars at the nearby Dunas Complex are very well priced. Couple of minutes walk further and there is a good supermarket that stocks all the essentials. The complex itself is securely gated and there is no noise in the evenings to disturb a good nights sleep.
We made good use of the kitchen, the dishwasher and washing machine were particularly useful.
In summary, an excellent apartment, ideally located in lovely Alvor. We had never been to Portugal before but we will definitely be returning and Trina and Gary's apartment will be at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Apartment 41477, 2 bedroom ground floor apartment is ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments

Address: Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Also Known As:
Vila Da Praia Holiday Apartments Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila da Praia Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.